STATEMENT FROM THE SUV FAMILY ON THE BIKER INCIDENT

2861221_G

Arrests in SUV driver attack by bikers

NEW YORK (MYFOXNY) –
The family of Alexian Lien, the driver of an SUV that was involved in an accident with a pack of motorcyclists on Manhattan’s West Side that ended in a chase and beating has released a statement.

The statement starts by saying: “Our plan last Sunday was to celebrate our wedding anniversary by having a nice family day out with our two-year-old daughter. Unfortunately, instead, we were placed in grave danger by a mob of reckless and violent motorcyclists.”

EXCLUSIVE: BIKERS TELL FOX 5 THEY’RE THE VICTIMS

The statement was released Thursday morning be the law firm of Massimo & Panetta on behalf of the family.

It goes on to say: “Our sympathies go out to the injured motorcyclist and his family. However, we were faced with a life-threatening situation, and my husband was forced under the circumstances to take the actions that he did in order to protect the lives of our entire family. Our fear for our lives was confirmed when the incident ended with the ruthless and brutal attack on my husband, me, and, most importantly, our two-year-old child. We know in our hearts that we could not have done anything differently, and we believe that anyone faced with this sort of grave danger would have taken the same course of action in order to protect their family.”

The statement continues: “We would like to thank the brave citizens who risked their own safety to intervene on our behalf. They truly helped save our lives and prevented my husband from suffering further injury. We also appreciate and are moved by the outpouring of love and support so many have expressed here in New York and around the country.”

The family said that any further inquries in regard to the incident should be directed to their lawyers.

The statement ends with: “We would ask that the public and the media to respect our privacy at this difficult time and allow my husband to recover from his injuries.”

Police have arrested two of the bikers involved in the initial incident that lead to the vicious attack. But some of the bikers and their supporters say the driver is not the victim because one of the bikers he ran over is in a coma and could be paralyzed.

Video posted to YouTube from the helmet camera worn by a motorcyclist shows a pack of bikers attacking the driver of an SUV following a fender bender on the West Side Highway on Sunday afternoon.

The driver of the black Range Rover — Alexian Lien, 33 — was with his wife and young child inside when he struck a motorcycle that was in front of his car, police said. In the video, Lien is seen stopping the SUV and then speeding away and striking three motorcycles when the group began to damage his SUV.

A pack of 20 to 30 bikers chased Lien for more than 50 blocks.

Once the driver got off the highway at West 178th St. in Washington Heights the bikers attacked.

One person is seen taking off his helmet and striking the vehicle while another biker tries to punch through a window in the backseat where the child was seated.

The biker breaks through the window and Lien is dragged out of the car and assaulted, said NYPD Commissioner Ray Kelly. Lien suffered cuts to the face.

0 thoughts on “STATEMENT FROM THE SUV FAMILY ON THE BIKER INCIDENT

1. Bwoy me feel sorry fi both sides but him outta order fi lick the people though, him couldn’t take no other way or just pull over and stop till them move sometimes people fi look pon the safer side look how one man ago cripple now and look how much bloodclaaat lick him get me cahh wrong the bikers either cause me would and probably do the same thing but I don’t think there is no victim in this situation cause the driver could have avoid it too

1. Zervah……worst if a mi an mi pickney in deh. Mi jus tink a panic cause from wha mi see pan di video…dem surround him first an him stop….Why dem ride up to di man ina di furst place…Road mek fi every baddie but usually bikers hold one lane an mek odda motorists get di next one but dem spread out ina di road like tar……Dem was looking fi trouble. The whole thing is sad indeed.

2. Yeah Bre Bre…..mi agree say sum time we haffi take di safer road…..but I woulda hit gas too. If mi sidung ina mi car (parked) an sum one walk pass mi door too close….it scare mi. An if mi in deh an yuh a walk towards mi car an looking directly at me an yuh face nuh have a smile pan it….mi lock mi door dem quickly an set up miself fi tek off….jus in case. He is surrounded by this mob of intimidating bikers who are obviously looking for trouble…..wha yuh tink did a go tru him mind. Yes….sympathy for the wounded biker but di man goodly see him an him family life flash in front a him. An if dem wasn’t looking fi trouble…..when him stop initially….why dem never gwaan den. Are there victims…..Yes….But winners….No. My prayers are with them all.

3. You see this DUTTY media????? Is a HELLUVA TING! Dem ah gwaan like the biker dem just run down dis man & attack him fi NO REASON! For every action dere is a reaction! Him lick di biker first & bruck him leg, don’t stop, don’t try to find out what happened to the biker, so THEN all of the biker dem run him down!

I am SOOOOO SICK of di media portraying Black people, ESPECIALLY BLACK MEN, like dem ah ALL animal & hooligan & like everybody supposed to fraid ah Black man & Black people! Dis Chiney man fi get CHARGED TOO!! Him Chiney wife can gwaan chat! She know weh her husband do! Her husband start di chain ah reaction whe cause what happened!

1. I believe the above reads…..he struck first the Biker in front of him, STOPPED AND THEN SPED OFF STRIKING 3 MORE BIKERS. The biker that is in a Coma is 1 of the 3 latter struck Bikers. He must of been fearful for certain especially after seeing he was out numbered with just his Wife and 2 year old. Fear makes one react differently. Pray for all involved.

1. @Quena I am referring to the news whe ah show clips of the video & nah show di clip of the video where him lick di biker first. Dem will show di part whe di biker dem surround di car constantly! Di media DONE spin di story fi mek sympathy automatically go to di driver side instead of showing the whole story & mek di viewer come to dem own conclusion!

Granted mi understand seh him did fraid, who wouldn’t be in dem circumstances but don’t mek it seem like di biker dem just confront you FOR NO GOOD REASON!!! Ah DAT mi ah talk bout!

1. In the video before anything happened, you could see some of the bikers riding alongside the vehicle and like dem a intimidate him and then the biker boy go infront him and deliberately brake up and the man didn’t have time to stop the SUV and him bump the bike. After that him stop and dem run up on him and start slash him tyres and damage him vehicle and that’s when him speed off and run them over. Him never bump the biker and just drive off, he stopped. The video itself shows all of this. It’s not the media making anything up. All a this a from the same video weh the bikers put up. Dem do this shit all the time weh dem go out inna dem numbers and intimidate other people on the road. Dem did a search fi something and dem find it. I don’t wrong the SUV driver.

2. mi she Brooklyn ….di SUV lawyer nearly run ova mi yesside..in ya ….because true a dem one can read and mi did hear di first report weh dem she a di man hit the biker first and then dem start video tape……di person tek mi on very strong ……a OBSERVA haffi tell di person it nuh right every body have dem own opinion…dem believe everything weh dem si inna di media

4. The biker he hit was trying to slow him down so they all could pass him, the SUV driver slowed down, almost stopped then he hit the first bike, they were just trying to talk to him the. He ran over the other 3 bikers….. It’s a sad situation but the SUV driver was clearly in the wrong. He almost killed somebody because of his ignorance. Also from y experience these Asian people are rude and feel entitled that’s why he felt he could hit the bikes and nothing happen to him. Someone who was actually there said his wife even threw a bottle of water at the bikers and were cursing at them..

5. Exactly what I said @ Brooklyn pie , it took the media 2 days before dem show the bikers being hit ! By then the story already spin in favor of the SUV driver .. I saw the beginning of the video with moly own 2 eyes from Sunday night and I knew the SUV driver is wrong

6. there is three side to the story.the news media and one time mek it look like the bikers dem a hooligans.the suv clip one a di biker dem far before the fliming start,di driver never stop or even attempt to stop even after dem a signal him fi stop.thats when dem try to get him fi pull over and him ran over couple a dem.i want unno asks unno self these two question1.if unno a drive and see a crew a bikers and dem a try get u attension fi stop and u kno u no do noting wrong.would u pull over fi find out what a gwan or dem a try tell u say something wrong with ur vechile,or pull over fi dem pass fi ur safety and fi dem.2Suppose these was Chinese bikers and one of those guy ran over one of them.unno think them woulda lock up him rass long time.a biker is just like any motorist they can use any lane dem feel safe ina.di driver fi get lock up .

7. I believe nuff of you all are full of shit. You need to open your eyes. The bikers were all wrong. The way I see it they were trying to intimidate this man and they got what they deserve. Now you want me to feel sorry for them because they could be paralyzed. They should have low de man and keep driving. They surrounded him and stopped in front of him knowing full well they would have been bumped. We as a people need to wake up and accept responsibility for our bad behaviour.

8. all it come down to is he suv driver did not want to wait. if you notice he is the only car out there. when i come across bike/bikers i slow down and let them go, they don’t have the protection we have being in a car, if he was so afraid like he said he would have waited in the first place. That biker was clearly trying to slow him down and he hit him stop then took off running over the others. nuff time mi wah run over ppl when mi a drive but guess what I cant, but you see how they already let that biker go they only looking for the one that broke the glass now, but watch how the tables going to turn because they are going to have to charge the driver.