OVER ONE MILLION PEOPLE IN RUSSIA WITH AIDS

AIDS

The number of HIV-positive patients registered in Russia has reached one million, the Interfax news agency reported Wednesday, citing Vadim Pokrovsky, head of the Moscow-based Federal Center for Fighting AIDS.

However, according to experts’ estimates, the number of HIV-positive people in Russia may be closer to 1.5 million, as the entire population has not been examined, Pokrovsky noted, according to Interfax.

It is expected that a total of 93,000 new HIV cases will have been registered in 2015, which is a historically high level, Pokrovsky said.

In an attempt to halt the HIV epidemic, Russia has doubled the amount of funding allocated to fight the disease.

Starting from this year, the amount of money allocated to fight HIV will exceed $600 million, the TASS news agency reported in October, citing Health Minister Veronika Skvortsova.

A total of 205,538 of HIV-infected people have died in Russia since 1987, when the first case of the HIV infection was registered, Pokrovsky told Interfax in November 2015.

8 thoughts on “OVER ONE MILLION PEOPLE IN RUSSIA WITH AIDS

1. Oh my gosh and i love Russian men they are so sexy and masculine. They are like black men. I know this because i dated one once. I hope this issue gets resolved really quick. Coz i want me a Russian and some vodka lol

1. I am the total opposite to you. I lived mongst dem fi years and most were heavy drinkers, smokers and beat dem women like crazy. All one old brute did all go as far as ask the security in the building fi participate in 3-sum wid him, and nuh stop harrass mi every time him see mi in di elevator, bout wi live pon di same floor suh why wi nuh just get togedda mi nuh need outside boyfriend. If dem was the last man pon earth mi dig hole jump eena and bury miself.