DOCTORS DECLARE AIDS STATE OF EMERGENCY IN SASKATCHEWAN CANADA

Doctors in Saskatchewan are calling on the province to declare a medical state of emergency over high rates of new AIDS and HIV cases.
A group of doctors, patients and indigenous leaders gathered Monday at a health centre in Saskatoon to highlight what they are calling an epidemic in Saskatchewan.
With the province leading the country in new case rates, the group is trying to raise awareness and spur change.

Groups urge B.C. to follow Ontario, Quebec by banning pay-for-plasma clinics
HIV treatment in First Nations communities in the global spotlight

Sterile needles are seen here at Saskatoon Tribal Council Health Centre on Monday, Sept. 19, 2016.
According to the Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network, more than 17 in 100,000 people in Saskatchewan were diagnosed with HIV or AIDS in 2012. The overall average rate in Canada is less than six in 100,000 people.
“Real change is possible in Saskatchewan with respect to HIV if it is recognized and managed as the emergency that we believe it is,” Dr. Stephen Sanche, an infectious disease specialist said in a speech at the gathering.
Sanche said that when he speaks with his colleagues in other provinces, he realizes they are “not experiencing what we’re experiencing with our patients.
“So this is clearly a serious situation for Saskatchewan.”
A large number of those living with AIDS in the province are from aboriginal communities. They say the resources for their care are scarce in the community.
“My people do not have that support we live with the stigma and the discrimination every day,” Danita Wahpoosewyan, who lives with HIV, told the gathering.
In 2010, a four-year HIV strategy was implemented in the province. “We continue to implement that plan with the funding that the HIV strategy enabled to get, that funding continues,” said Dr. Denise Werker, Saskatchewan’s deputy medical health officer.
The province says declaring a state of emergency is not a part of the public health act. However, government officials told CTV Saskatoon that they do recognize that HIV and AIDS has been an epidemic for many years. The province said that more cases are being reported as people become better connected to health resources and medical testing services.

8 thoughts on “DOCTORS DECLARE AIDS STATE OF EMERGENCY IN SASKATCHEWAN CANADA

1. WHAT A CHUPID THING TO SAY, U WANT GO STUDY AND WORK IN CANADA OR U A COME KETCH MAN/WOMAN,? COME LEARN FI KIP U RASS FOOT CLOSE NOT LIKE CLOTHES PIN, OR KIP U COCK TO USELF, MISS AIDA DEH EVERYWEH, RIGHT UNDA U NOSE HOW MUCH FUNERALS IF FAMILY MEMBERS WANT TALK DIE OF AIDS, SINCE YOU THINK ITV EASY TRY IT NUH FU…. IDIOTT LOTS OF PEOPLE SORRY THEY LEFT CANADA AND GO MERICA, THROUGH ME RASS MENTAL MI HAFFI SURVIVE ANYWHERE THE CANADIAN PASSPORT CAN TAKE U TO 174 COUNTRIES,

2. They always advertising work, study and live in Canada and is dere dem want people to live bout it underpopulated. Never see smoke…..

3. Hi Met & All

People from unuh see Aboriginal & First Nations, please learn that those are what is termed as ‘reserves’ where the white man did push all the original people of Canada fi go chakka chakka up demself hundreds of years ago. All other races are nowhere near these places, sadly, and that is why they have such huge problems among themselves; alcohol and suicide being 2 more monsters. Please show some sympathy Anonymous…

4. This is not the hole province it is on that indian reserve,so do your research before you come on here and talk shit…Canada take care of them people, this little town have a lot of drug users,people like to talk but do not like to read and look into a story more..Canada is one of the best countries right now with health care…These people on this reserve is fighting with the government so this town is facing a lot of issues