DAY-CARE PROVIDER KILLS 2YO N THREATENS HIS COUSIN

athena-cross-Optimized
A state-licensed day-care provider apparently walked to the grocery store after she allegedly killed a 20-month-old boy by “wrestling” with him and tossing him in scalding water.
A 12-year-old neighbor said he saw the lifeless body of Cardell Williamson when he helped Athena Skeeter carry grocery bags into her Bronx apartment Friday afternoon.
Isliel Hayward-Barnes told the Daily News Monday that little Cardell was naked, wet, stiff, cold to the touch and propped up on Skeeter’s living room couch. He said the child appeared to have tape on his mouth and scrapes on his face and head.
“I’ve never seen anybody dead. I didn’t realize he was dead,” Isliel, breaking into tears, said after his mother, Shirley Hayward-Barnes, 54, gave The News permission to speak to him.
Isliel Hayward-Barnes, 12, told The News how he helped Athena Skeeter take groceries into her Bronx home on Friday and discovered the body of 20-month-old Cardell Williamson, who had died earlier. Richard Harbus for New York Daily News Isliel Hayward-Barnes, 12, told The News how he helped Athena Skeeter take groceries into her Bronx home on Friday and discovered the body of 20-month-old Cardell Williamson, who had died earlier.
Isliel lives about a block from Skeeter in the same building where Cardell resided with his father, Carlyle Williamson, 56. While they’re not related, Isliel called Cardell his “cousin.”
The boy said he ran into Skeeter about 2 p.m. Friday, when she returned to her College Ave. building with bags of groceries. He said Skeeter’s mother, Cora Cross, 65, was sitting in a rocking chair in the kitchen.
“I saw my little cousin on the couch,” he said. “I went over to him. He wasn’t moving. He was butt naked and he was wet. He had masking tape on his mouth.”
He said Skeeter, 40, yelled at him for snooping. “She told me if I ever told anyone she’d kill me,” Isliel said.
20-month-old Cardell Williamson died while in the care of a Bronx woman running a home day care. 20-month-old Cardell Williamson died while in the care of a Bronx woman running a home day care.
Previous Next
BABY- 08/25/2014- BRONX, NY
NYC PAPERS OUT. Social media use restricted to low res file max 184 x 128 pixels and 72 dpi
Enlarge
Richard Harbus for New York Daily News
He said he immediately told his mother, who called 911.
Skeeter, a state-licensed day-care provider since 2005, is charged with manslaughter and endangering the welfare of a child. She’s being held without bail.
She told detectives Cardell fell unconscious after she threw him on the hardwood floor while “wrestling,” stepped on him and tossed her 3-year-old son on him.
Skeeter said she put the baby in the bathtub and when she came back, he was submerged in a tub of steaming water.
Athena Cross, also known as Athena Skeeter, was arrested for the death of a baby at her child care center at 1374 College Avenue, Bronx on Friday, Ausgust 23, 2014. Athena Skeeter, 40, has been charged with killing a 20-month-old baby boy under her care Fr Athena Skeeter faces charges for manslaughter and endangering the welfare of a child in relation to the death of 20-month-old Cardell Williamson.
Previous Next
Athena Cross, also known as Athena Skeeter, was arrested for the death of a baby at her child care center at 1374 College Avenue, Bronx on Friday, Ausgust 23, 2014. Athena Skeeter, 40, has been charged with killing a 20-month-old baby boy under her care Fr
NYC PAPERS OUT. Social media use restricted to low res file max 184 x 128 pixels and 72 dpi
Enlarge
Facebook
Police arrived at Skeeter’s apartment later Friday and rushed Cardell to Bronx Lebanon Hospital. The NYPD would only say the case remains under investigation.
The manager of Compare Foods on 170th St., around the corner from Skeeter’s home, told The News he saw her buying groceries in the store Friday afternoon.
Cardell’s father said city officials referred him to Skeeter as part of a back-to-work program run by the Human Resources Administration of the Department of Social Services.
Williamson, a recovering drug addict, said the program offered free day-care service from a provider licensed by the state or city.
NYC PAPERS OUT. Social media use restricted to low res file max 184 x 128 pixels and 72 dpi Richard Harbus for New York Daily News Enlarge
Family, friends and relatives at a makeshift memorial outside Athena Skeeter’s home, where Cardell Williamson, 20 months, died.
“I blame the city,” Williamson said Monday.
Mayor de Blasio called Cardell’s death “a real tragedy” and vowed the city would conduct a full investigation.
The state Office of Children and Family Services revoked Skeeter’s day-care providers license on Monday and opened an investigation. Records show that Skeeter has been cited for minor violations in nine inspections of her facility since 2008 by the state office and the city Health Department.

0 thoughts on “DAY-CARE PROVIDER KILLS 2YO N THREATENS HIS COUSIN

1. den if from 2008 she voiletd nd fail all dem inspections how de phuck a just mondeh dem revoke har day care license phuck u NYC unno stay pay dis bitch nd may more to date who nuh qualify fi a watch ppl kids a wish a bitch try mines cuz jail wuda too phuck’n gud fi she worse me…wicked phucka

2. What ah evil ooman…bout she ah run daycare. Not even dawg shi fi tek care ah!!! What ah let dung fi di poor father weh ah try get him life together..:sorry

3. this is so heartbreaking
    “Isliel Hayward-Barnes told the Daily News Monday that little Cardell was naked, wet, stiff, cold to the touch and propped up on Skeeter’s living room couch. He said the child appeared to have tape on his mouth and scrapes on his face and head.
    “I’ve never seen anybody dead. I didn’t realize he was dead,” Isliel, breaking into tears, said after his mother, Shirley Hayward-Barnes, 54, gave The News permission to speak to him.

4. Dem dutty f**c wey get pay fi kill yuh pickney dem i am so angry reading this story.Baby REST IN PARADISE and that wicked woman….HELL IS REAL

5. This is so sad! I’d loose my mind if that were me. This is y I preferred my mom watching my child when I returned to work from Maternity Leave. It’s soooo SCARY. There r a lot of CRAZIES out there.
    I’m not bashing the city but sometimes things fall through the cracks. I’ve heard of kids being taken from good homes and placed in a far worse situations as well as kids being left in terrible homes instead of being taken out of the unsafe situations. If she was violated… WHY was this not investigated and her license revoked??? I just can’t imagine what the parents r going through

6. That’s y I’ll pay the 190/w to send my son to a daycare center that has cameras that I can periodically watch him on my phone. This is sad my heart goes out to the parents

7. This and cases like these are exactly the reason why my husband and I made the decision for me to stay at home with our son. My son’s safety and overall well being overshadows any and all financial lost we incurred based on our decision. Our son comes first and I don’t trust strangers with my kid.

1. Good for you and your husband in making a wise decision for your family. Not every family has the financial means to survive with ease off one income. Many women would love to do the same as you, but must work to keep the family financially stable.

8. I am so tired of hearing the awful news about the violence children are meeting at the hands of adults. Is like everywhere, every country this setting upon children is happening. Real sad times on the land.