14 YO DECISION TO DIE

A 14-year-old Wisconsin girl who suffers from spinal muscular atrophy has made the tough decision to go off of her ventilator.

But not before celebrating her life with one last dance.

There’s a sense of acceptance with 14 year old Jerika Bolen.

She has come to understand that she’s no longer able to move on.

“I need to do what’s best for me. It was a really hard decision to make,” said Bolen.

Jerika has been a wheelchair, as long as she can remember.

SAD
She’s been unable to move most of her body with the exception of her hands, and parts of her face.

Her mother, Jen says, the decision to die was something that’s been discussed for several years, since most people don’t survive the incurable disease as long as she has.

“I knew it was coming, but I also realized that she fought much longer than she would have if it weren’t for her trying to protect me,” said Jen Bolen.

Jerika plans to celebrate her life by putting on a prom dress this Friday night, for an event at Appleton’s Grand Meridian.

She wanted a prom because she loves music.

“I don’t have many friends, I’m not like, because I couldn’t get out really and do many things because I was in so much pain, and this prom is, well we call it my last dance,” said Bolen.

Sometime in late August, Jerika will stop using a ventilator, she uses right now to breathe as she begins hospice care.

18 thoughts on “14 YO DECISION TO DIE

1. This is suicide right?Yet ppl always say ppl who commit suicide are cowards!How is she brave?

1. Because her circumstance will never be fixed, because she’s running from a life where she’s literally trapped in her own body, one where she can never ever live a normal life…..etc. She’s in pain, she’s had a lifetime of suffering……I could go on. She’s very very brave. In essence she see and breathe but she’s not really living, so no she could never be called a coward. That sentiment about those who take their own lives being cowards is subjective, not absolute etc…..

2. Hiya sweet Yawdy,not in Wisconsin,only in washington,oregon,california n vermont.It is also legal in Canada.i agree it is very very sad but help me with the bravery part plz.

1. Mawnin bredda YLT, mii seh brave because at her young and tender age she already determine that her life will not improve, and she will forever be dependent on ventilator. She has come tuh terms wid fi har reality and it nuh sound like is depression she ah deal wid….unlike di people dem weh contemplate/commit suicide.

3. It is very brace knowing u are about to end your own life giving the circumstances that you’re in. You think it’s easy coming to that decision saying you rather die than living a mere existence life. Insure it was a very very tough and well thought out decision both for her and her mom . so yes this young lady is very brace Mi wouldn’t wanna live like that either.

4. Thanks ladies I see your prespective however I can’t help but thinking…surely it can’t be in GOD’s Divine purpose n will for any of us to commit suicide.Hence the reason it is a major sin.

Who was it n What kept her living way beyond the time the Doctors gave her to live?She Doesn’t have any frenz like really that’s a reason to check out early?i’m teaching my child to never give up,cowards take the easy way out so fight with all ur might till u can’t fight no more n the fight has left ur body.

1. Make no mistake,while I understand her position, I am in no way in agreement with it. As a minor, she and her mother/parents will have tuh deal wid di Messiah pon dat.

5. Met she is a brave girl and I totally feel it for her parents. She knows that they are only prolonging her pain and she has a machine that is basically keeping her alive. She cannot do nothing for herself. As a parent whose child was dependent on a machine also I totally feel that if my daughter had the option to stop everything she would too. Some days the pain in her eyes were evident and that is one of the reasons I believe she went on her own terms. Sometimes we think we are doing things for them but in all actuality we are basically keeping them alive for us. To spare us the pain and anguish of losing them. My daughter fought hard in her very short life. Endured more than any person her age should. Please keep her parents in prayer because they will need it for the weeks leading up to it and the weeks, months and years that follows after she leaves this earth.

1. Thanks for your testimony anon.I admire your strength n will say a prayer for you n the ppl in the story.I stand corrected since it is so true that he who feels it truly knows it.

I can only imagine the courage it took to face such pain n to move on in the uncertainty of the future n the afterlife.Indeed I see the bravery in what she is doing having fought the good fight n suffered so long.

6. That is not suicide. A machine is keeping her alive. She is not taking her own life. She is just leaving her body to exist naturally as God made it to be. It’s like taking someone off life support. The family and loved ones who do it are not committing homicide. Same thing. At least the family know this is what she wants. Brave young lady.

7. This must be such a very difficult decision to make & it it evident that she is @ peace with this decision, having suffered & been through so much & witnessing how difficult it is for her parents to see her endure so much she has embrace death, which so much of us fear. I consider it to be a salfless act & her to be a brave soul with a heart of gold. My prayers goes out to her & those she will leave behind to mourn her.

8. Such a beautiful soul,you can see she had spunk and personality based on her choice in hair color and her lipstick. I can’t imagine the hardship her life must have been, the pain, feeling trapped in your own body etc. I hope your last dance in earth is the beginning of a lifetime of dances in heaven,where you are free of pain and your wheelchair.