SUCH A SHAME, JAMAICAN FROM ABROAD TRIES TO SHOW HIS GRANDSON PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION IN JAMAICA AND MAN TRIED TO GRAB HIS CHAIN

A man who grabbed a car dealer’s gold chain from his neck in downtown Kingston claimed he did it to help his sick sister, who has a hole in her heart.

Kemar Reynolds was arrested and charged with larceny after he pounced upon the complainant in a bus at the intersection of Heywood and Orange streets, where he grabbed the chain valued at US$1200 and ran.

Reynolds was, however, chased by the complainant and was caught with the chain by police officers who were on patrol in the area and who assisted the complainant.

The complainant had reportedly travelled to downtown Kingston with his grandson in an effort to allow him to experience what it was like to travel on public transportation.

Last Thursday when Reynolds appeared in court he pleaded guilty but told Parish Judge Chester Crooks that he had a valid reason for robbing the man of his chain.
“Mi did deh in a wants because mi sista sick, she have hole inna har heart and mi did want fi help har buy some pills so mi did a try something to help her,” Reynolds told the court.

But Reynolds, when asked if he had any previous convictions, told the judge that he was convicted for the same offence in 2013.

Judge Crooks then ordered a social enquiry report after scheduling Reynold’s sentencing for July 4.

Reynolds was then remanded.

8 thoughts on “SUCH A SHAME, JAMAICAN FROM ABROAD TRIES TO SHOW HIS GRANDSON PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION IN JAMAICA AND MAN TRIED TO GRAB HIS CHAIN

1. Just a warning tuh di Jamaicans dem that live abroad. Please DO NOT wear your gold on public transportation especially downtown any parish. Times still hard dung deh…and di pickpocket and chain snatcher dem still deh bout. It really nuh worth it…

2. Good morning all,on the real though,this is like a 1off.Chain hardly get grab again esp downtown Kingston.The view is held that it is now just too petty.

Sure they will rob ur cell n chain,but u hardly hear of anyone grabbing n running.

1. A friend of mine who was travelling from England was robbed of her silver jewellery in Downtown Kingston last year.

3. Is just fake jewelry mi wear on vacation. If dem teef it, then it shall surely go green on dem shortly. Ain’t nobody got time to dress in dem real deal on vacation. Glad him got his chain back, and his grandson got a side lesson on how not to be a target on vacay.

4. Your sister being ill doesn’t warrant you the go ahead to steal. Is the judge suppose to be lenient because you have a problem? Everybody has their own damn problem, am I suppose to start robbing banks bcaz I can’t pay my student loan? You should be locked up, effing crook!!

5. only an idiot would wearan exposed chain on public transportation especially downtown

6. Lies my mother got her chain snatched last year in the market and it also happened to my cousin it’s a regular thing.