PUSEY GIVES MAN 30 DAYS FOR STEALING FOUR MANGOES

JULIE

A bag-juice vendor who stole four St Julian mangoes from off a tree was shown no mercy Tuesday and was slapped with a 30-day jail sentence.

“Unuh must stop it! A tired a it,” Senior Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey told 43-year-old Rohan Smith of Nelson Road in Kingston after sentencing him in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate’s Court.

Smith, who had pleaded guilty to praedial larceny, tried to worm his way out of the sentence after the magistrate told him that she was going to send him to prison for his actions.

“I didn’t go ova him yard,” Smith said, explaining that he had picked the mangoes from outside the premises.

“It nuh mek nuh difference. Yuh still thief di mangoes. Yuh think that is a defence?” Pusey asked.

Added Pusey, ” A man has to pay taxes for his property and should be able to enjoy what is planted on his premises.”

Nelson was arrested on February 16 after the complainant saw him picking the mangoes at premises on Donhead Road, Kingston 6, and alerted a security guard who in turn notified a police officer.

Nelson, who ran from the premises after stealing the mangoes, was found hiding in a culvert on the roadway.

The complainant said Smith had threatened to kill him when he shouted at him at the time the mangoes were being picked.

The four mangoes were valued at $800.

0 thoughts on “PUSEY GIVES MAN 30 DAYS FOR STEALING FOUR MANGOES

1. By right!

If they are in direct reach over a wall/gate I wouldn’t complain because I should have the limbs cut back, but once you have to reach beyond the perimeter me have a problem. If someone ring or knock before picking I’m one to let that person get more than what they wanted because I feel good that they asked.

2. He stole the mangoes. No argument there. But 30 days? And she gives people who try kill people warnings and send home? Her sentencings have always baffled me.

1. Btw met yu nuh see seh the judge ina kartel case a tell the jury fi dash him weh?? Yu pree wah him say today to the jurors?

1. Met, batty man busta de a courthouse a gi support to. .com de judge simply giving the jury instructions on how not to bias their decisions which later give strength to an appeal.

2. YES YOU DID…and got a few doubters when you did…lol Not me *wink*

You may have also cemented de buddy battings too; once and for all

:hammer …

2. But Metty, yuh know seh yuh have some ppl weh despise thief more than murderer though???!!! My father was one a dem, him always seh if smaddy F wid yuh an yuh kill dem a will come visit yuh and get the best lawyer fi get yuh off that case, but if yuh thiefffffffffff, a pay the prosecution fee and tell the judge fi lock yuh up and dsh weh the key….. My ole man teach mi some really good life lessons sah!!!

1. Da judge yah very unjust fi true, she could an gi him a lighter sentence, or a fine cause some sinting some ppl do and walk or only get a slap on the wrist (warning) questionable fi true. $800 fi 4 Julie mangoes???? A so Julie get dear??? dah price deh sound over stated fi true. So a so much money the man weh beg mi 2 mango and pick all a crocus bag full a get when him raid mi mango tree, a mek then? and not even gi mi a dollar, no sah dats why him get so regular and all tap ask to and just come pick like him got shares inna it, a gwine share dah story yah wid him. A high time now dem stop interefere wid ppl things wid dem sticky finger man.

3. NOW IMAGINE, MAN A RAPE AND MURDER AN A GET WHEY SCOTT FREE. 30 DAYS FI MANGO, SHE TOO BITTA. MEK HIM PAY A FINE, MAYBE HIM DID HUNGRY.

4. Mi cann believe it sey ppl ah guh jail fi mango inna Jamaica all mi can sey is thank you father god for the best days in Jamaica!

5. Judge sending the wrong message. People get caught with guns and get off. Slap the man with a fine and jail him if he cannot pay. There has to be more to it than just 4 mangoes. If it was in a more depressed area I wonder if they would find a police to come and arrest a man dat fast? A person with security on his/her premises really have the time to have a man lock up over 4 mangoes hanging over a fence into the street. Jamaica as we knew it is history.

6. Police cyaan find man dat kill people in broad day light but dem can come fast fi catch a man weh teef 4 mango. Ah bwoy.

7. 30 days fi four mango smh Judith Pusey fi gweh from ya so cuz a nuff time man rape woman and pickney and man kill man and she let dem go. Why she neva fine di man or warn him

8. Onu miss de death threat when de man call to him? Him lucky. Dem fi learn fi respect people property. Sometimes dem climb wall/gate and a pick like a fi dem yaad, all climb de trees from gate come inna de yaad yu think a bud inna de trees.

1. I’m sure he threatened to kill him (sarcasm). That is just what the complainant said. Him taking the mangoes was proven. Death threat, I don’t think so. Now when this man come out him might have a serious problem wid ppl. Lol & SMH at the same time.