OBSERVER RERUN

kartel

DAMNING texts painting a picture of events leading up to the disappearance of Clive ‘Lizard’ Williams on August 16, 2011 were read in court yesterday during the murder trial of entertainer Vybz Kartel and his four co-accused.

In a flurry of texts, believed to have been exchanged between Williams and his girlfriend Onieka Jackson, Williams said Vybz Kartel was going to kill him and repeatedly begged her to call the police and a person he referred to as Nadine. “U have to save me,” he said in one message.

Williams said he was running scared and that he was in a car heading to Havendale and begged desperately for Jackson to “hurry”.

Kartel and his co-accused sat in the prisoners’ dock straight-faced as the texts were displayed and read by Corporal Sean Brown of the Organised Crime Investigation Division to an attentive jury in the Home Circuit Court.

Brown attributed the name Kartel to one of the numbers in his display. To another he attributed the name Shawn for accused Shawn ‘Shawn Storm’ Campbell.

Justice Lennox Campbell had ruled earlier that any number that sent texts to Campbell without the sender being identified must not be shown to jurors.

Before the display was entered into evidence and the texts read, defence attorneys objected, saying that the information could not be verified because the disc JS1 is missing.

Digicel official Joseph Simmonds testified yesterday under cross-examination that the disappearance of the disc has “robbed us of the opportunity” to cross-verify the information that was being presented.

Vybz Kartel (real name Adidja Palmer), Campbell, Shane Williams, Andre St John, and Kahira Jones are being tried for Williams’ murder. The prosecution is contending that Williams was beaten to death at a home in Havendale, St Andrew over the disappearance of an illegal gun.

The texts read in court yesterday were sent between August 8 and August 16, 2011, the day Williams was killed. On August 14, Williams sent a text to the number attributed to Vybz Kartel: “Daddy a little thing gwaaan mi an we really want talk to you daddy.”

The next message read is believed to be a text Campbell sent to Vybz Kartel on August 16, saying: “Mi boss wi affi get bak dem ting deh me boss.”

There were a number of pre-dawn texts between the two which ran for a minute, according to the data presented. Then at 1:11 pm on August 16 Campbell sent a text to a 844-5320 number.

“Sum ting a gwaan pon di ends,” the text read. Then: “A dats why mi neva link yuh.” He then texted the same number: “And a serious ting cus ppl ago ded.

Dont tell mammy nuttin.” In another text sent a minute later, Campbell wrote: “And delete dem txt yah wen mi done txt yuh”. At 1:20 pm Campbell again texted the 844-5320 number: “And a who tief it ago ded.”

A minute later Campbell sent another text, “Soon mek you know waaah go gwaaaan,” which was followed some 20 minutes later by another, “How much fi deal wid everything fi lizzy.” At 6:53 that day, Williams sent a message to his girlfriend, Jackson.

“Baby teacha send call.” “Wha u goin to do bbz,” she responded. Based on the text that followed, Williams apparently tried calling Jackson but the phone went unanswered.

Minutes later, at 6:58 pm, Williams told Jackson in a text: “I am really SCARDE baby please call the police u have to save me please.” “Jus u alone,” Jackson said. “Please tell NADINE to call the police for me please you have to do it now please,” Williams replied. Then at 7:08 pm Williams told Jackson, “Tell them VYBZ Katel ago kill we please baby.”

A minute later he wrote: “Please u have to hurry up.” At 7:11 pm Williams texted: “SHAWN cant save we please we in a need fa car a drive go up there.” “Baby r u sure wats the address bbz,” Jackson responded at 7:13 pm. “Tell NADINE fe call police please an ridge please please fast fast,” Williams texted.

In response to Jackson’s text about the address, Williams said, “Baby please all mi know a havendale please please tell them look fi need fa car.” At 7:18 Williams sent another text: “Mi de a red hill road a go up please please.”

Jackson responded, “OK baby I am praying for u … tht nothing doesnt happens but I will call.” At 7:20 pm Williams texted: “Tell NADINE don’t stop please call every min.” More texts are expected to be read when the trial continues today.

0 thoughts on “OBSERVER RERUN

1. Wow, this is seriously sad. The man practically begged for his life! Kartel and company fi go jail fi life!! Was it worth it? Over guns?? I can never rationalize how people kill over the smallest things. What’s even more disappointing is that crimes similar to this one happens everyday…. kill someone because the loose your gun!!!

SMH I’ve lost hope in humanity!

1. IMAGINE a so called intelligent man sending information through cell phone services……………………………………….Kartel should get the dounce cap ……what happens in life when no one tells u the truth

1. Bu where are the responses from Kartel? Di message dem make mi feel a way fi Lizard…and I’m curious but did Lizard work for Kartel? What kind of work did he do for Kartel? If him a tief gun wah him a tief dem fi go do?

2. This is very disappointing dj as a avid fan of yours the only thing that is sad is that they don’t have the other disc to compare under cross examination. But unnu a no bad man because as a boss the dude dem that did the killing should take the fall. Kartel dem shoulda contact the lawyers from the crime happen to come up with a good story and the big man wouldn’t be charged. Jamaican so call bad man need to learn the rules to the game the man that put the food on your tables should be saved. Foolish idiots.

Met I am not condoning their behavior is just the real rules of the game.

3. Kartel you want me on your defense team kid. First of all saying I am in a cab don’t mean nothing you need satellite location to tell where he is going and what direction the cab is driving. Why are these text written in perfect English when lizard was not educated. How authentic are these text when the disc to compare when missing. If and when did the girlfriend report this to the police. Their was no mention of him and anyone else in the cabcab and if you can’t cross examination why are we using these text in court. We will see in the closing arguments!!!!! It’s just how the law works you have to prove without the shadow of doubt. And if this is real shown your life will never be the same.

1. What text are you reading that you say they were written in perfect english??? You are speaking as if this man was using big words that only someone with a college education would use. Since when are the words “babes” “police” “scared” “please” “tell Nadine” considered perfect english. Just because he was not educated means he shouldn’t know how spell?

You have a point…. Yuh fi go defend Kartel fi tru.. send him ah jail even quicker! SMH

4. BBC WORLD NEWS….. words and context are put together too perfect to sell this when you start using technology you have to prove it satellite location trackingwhere is the next disc to confirm. I am sorry that this dude is missing but too much holes so I wouldn’t convict.

5. Lizard is not missing he has been killed, and I think it is fair to conclude that those final texts prove he knew he was going to his death and who was going to be responsible. If it was any member of our own family we would feel strongly that this would be ‘proof’ enough