31 YO WITH 8 CHILDREN ASKS FOR HELP

Families of up to nine people are forced to survive on less than $300 a day in some inner-city communities, a Jamaica Observer probe has shown.

These families are usually led by a lone adult woman — in most cases the mother.

Information unearthed by the Observer found that in most cases the single mothers, who are left to struggle to make ends meet, receive little or no help from the fathers of these children.

Mothers who were interviewed claimed that when the sperm donors are approached to assist the children their response is that they have to be offered sex before they make any monetary contribution.

Sponsored Links
This 21-month 0% APR won’t last forever
NextAdvisor
Solar Powers Family Home, And Saves You Tax Money
Sunzy Solar Quotes

The revelation comes several months after a recent United Nations report, showed that although Jamaica has made notable progress in poverty reduction, the island still struggles with a significant poverty problem, especially concentrated in rural areas.
Last week, the series of investigations conducted by the Observer in sections of Kingston and St Andrew showed some of the grim challenges being faced by those stricken by elements of poverty.

In one community close to Three Miles in South West St Andrew, one mother told a story of how, at age 31, she has eight children and was forced to beg or do odd jobs on a daily basis to make ends meet.
174615_-Optimized
“Sir, to tell you the truth, things rough so ‘till sometimes me feel like me want to give up,” the woman said. She made the comment as she sat on the sidewalk in the tough inner-city community, with her one-year-old baby in her hand.

Hungry, tired and frustrated, the lactating mother said that she could not remember the last time she had a cooked meal.

The state of the woman was so severe that she could hardly provide proper nutrition for the child in her hand who, after crying for hours, had fallen asleep.

But trying to find food for herself, the child in her hand, and her unborn baby were just part of the woman’s worry as she made the startling revelation that she had left six other children at home in her one-room house made of wood.

Unemployed and left alone to fend for herself and her children, the woman said that it has been years since she last saw any of the six fathers of the children.

After making the revelation she paused to beg a passer-by $100.

“Buy me a drink nuh, please, Sir,” the woman called out to a man who walked past her while she sat on a stone on the sidewalk.

She quickly accepted the funds as the man handed her the crushed up paper note.

As the man walked away she explained to the Observer how the drink she will purchase will be used to feed all of her children who were waiting for her in the structure that she said was infested by rats as big as adult cats. The rats, she joked, sometimes behaved like security officers, standing guard outside the house.
174614_-Optimized
“Sir, me not going tell you no lie, this is my situation … when me buy the drinks all a me children get a taste, that’s the best I can do at times,” she stated.

Close to where that woman told her story, her friend, who is 30 years old, shared similar sentiments.

“Well, she have eight and me have seven and is true she talking… this really rough,” said the other mother.

The second mother told her story of how as a diabetic, her situation was so bad that it has been months since she managed to purchase medication for herself.

“Things so bad every time me raise a money me have to buy something for my children,” said the woman who asked not be named because she was too embarrassed.

Scorned and criticised by family and friends alike, the woman said she has faced it all.

“Yes, people will cuss and say why we make wi self reach in this situation but when yuh reach a stage where you have to struggle to make ends meet, things happen,” she said as she stared at the ground while struggling to hold back tears.

“Is years me a look work and get turn down so many times. Sometimes me get so desperate a sell me have to sell me body,” she revealed.

“When you reach a stage where when you contact the fathers of your children for maintenance money and they tell you that you have to have sex with them it’s hard,” said the woman.

The two women said that some days all they could raise was less than $300 and that was what they would use to cater to their children.

In another nearby Kingston community, another mother who asked that her identity be withheld, gave a tale of how, at 27 years old, she was also struggling to take care of her five children.

“We just asking for some help. We know we make mistake but what we going do? It happen already, at least me never throw way me belly,” she said.

“People will cuss and people will talk but I am already in the situation and I am looking a way out,” added the mother who said she feared giving her name as it could result in authorities taking away her children.

“You see in Jamaica, the authorities just react instead of trying to help you. If yuh tell yuh story all dat will happen is people come attack you,” she said.

The affected mothers are hoping that the new year will bring new beginnings.

38 thoughts on “31 YO WITH 8 CHILDREN ASKS FOR HELP

1. if you struggled with the first 1-2 why have more after that without making sure that no more will go through what the 1-2 or going through,this one bag of kids on a budget you didn’t have from mawnin?!?!?

2. So it was hard with one, harder with two, tough with three and them ol nastiness still kept having children?? At what point to you stop and think that a condom is way cheaper than mouths to feed and take responsibility for your own actions? people like this mi can never feel sorry for only the poor children who have to grow up with such a careless and wutless mumma. From the first two baby fathet run gone that would be it, shop lock if the sex is unprotected. Women have to learn to take control of their own bodies you cannot blame men for being stupid and reckless when you freely give them your bodies to use as they choose.

1. Totally agree!!! Too much damn pity party, it needs to stop because I can bet none of those pregnancies came from rape.

3. No judgement but the last time I checked, birth control was free at all local clinics. If they really love their children they would avoid having so many. It only takes one or two pregnancies and births to determine that it cannot happen again. Pregnancy is one of those things in this world that can be avoided as only one day in any given month can a woman get pregnant. Educate yourselves at least about your body and take control of it. Now these innocent children have to be subjected to their parents, especially their mothers´ poor decisions. How will the cycle be broken? It is about time everyone take responsibility for themselves. The one in the first pic can sell that phone she has.

4. I struggle to find any real sympathy for these Mothers, and that’s the truth! Isn’t it a person’s responsibility to protect themself from children they can’t afford? Isn’t birth control still around? 31 yrs old with 8 kids? 6 Babyfaddas? Have no money, but nice phone beside you? Surviving on $300 a day, but look plummy? Begging is a new job – a way of life? That’s why mi nuh feel sorry for these able – bodied women when they made their life choices, and put themselves in these predicaments? If anything, it’s the children I feel sorry for, because they are the ones who have to suffer and endure the cycle of poverty.

5. DEM NOT GETTING A DIME TOO WUTLESS AND DEM SAME ONE AH GO USE THE MONEY GO DANCE. YUH NUH SEE SHE HAVE HAIR SET READY FI THE NIGHT LIFE OH PLEASE DATS HOW DEM GARRISON GIRL STAY. I FEEL SORRY FOR THE BABIES AND THAT IS ALL BUT SORRY MI DEAR YUH NAH GET MY MONEY GO AH DANCE OR BUY BLEACHING CREAM

6. Haven’t commented a long time but please give info how to help , it pains my heart to think about the children been hungry also what diabetic medication she needs

7. Would u all give consideration to the fact that selling ur body is part of the dynamics of how some Ghetto girls SURVIVE.It is way too easy to say why don’t they use condoms because ppl don’t know that having sex without condom is part n parcel of the deal they make to get a smalls.Otherwise the men won’t give them a dime or shortchange dem n tell dem stories how dem can’t come Inna condom.I’m merely stating an observation most ppl wouldn’t know in making a statement that they should just use a condom.Believe me that using a condom is just a small part of a wider SYSTEMATIC problems in Ghetto.When young girls are socialize to use thier bodies to survive n get what they want outta life n that mentality becomes the dominant culture,it is easy to see why they take the risk n not use a condom.

8. was looking at the brazillian and flexi rods enuh. Why she using the $100 to buy a juice? buy a pound of rice and a tin mackerel and give your kids a filling meal. SOme of them are so worthless and ignorant. They pack up their children with all sorts of garbage to eat when a meal cost the same or even less! food like callaloo and pak choi are so cheap right now, less than a $100 for the bundle yet she gonna give them a ‘taste’ of the juice and send them to their beds hungry. Some ppl really shouldnt procreate.

1. The govt should take the kids and send the mothers to heart fi dem get some skills and a steady job then return the children…I looked at the hair too but mi done know seh some a dem will go hungry n mek di kids dem hungry jus fi buy what dem want…is not like dem really have it…dem priorities jus ina di wrong place

1. Yes, this is what needs to be done! They need to learn how to fish for life. They should also get counseling and some offer to tie dem tubes. 31 and 8 kids with no husband by your side is enough for one lifetime.

The fact that the kids living in a rat invested hovel is enough reason for the govt to move in and remove them from the environment. Rats carry germs like hell and mi sure dem kids getting bites at night.

9. So many people work so damn hard and cannot afford to have one child yet alone 8!!

This is absolutely ridiculous and these women ALLOW themselves to be caught up in these situations!!

It is a one bedroom rat invested she live inna, Weh she find time and space fi tek man???

All them dutty man yah sick stomach!!!

10. But Met don’t u see is a chicken vs egg situation.they have to market themselves so they need to be presentable n fcukable to attract the next benefactor!By in large no man nah cover no girl head wid scandal bag n ride thru,u haffi a wear hair or clothes fi carry u off!!spend the money pon demselves fi ketch men fi mek a money fi provide fi dem kids..it is a vicious cycle but u are right that a skill or education can break.Honestly is ppl like these Lady Marion ministries fi help cuz dem need help n Jesus too oo!

11. The only help me ago help is to donate to a School for them to get a skill and go secure a Job. Dem hotter than me weh live a farrin. Wehn me go dung me try fi dress as comfortable as possible and cause me go fi rest. Dem a di same one weh tell me seh me come from farrin mudd up.lol Dem have di latest Phone, hair and clothes and No steady monthly bill (Rent, Water, Light and Gas)every minute dem a call up yah bout pickni hungry chuu dem know ppl no like hear dat and will send money. My cousin have 6 pickni and 6 different daddy. Every week she call bout School fee, food, Doctor $$. And she make har rounds pan di family.. She have di latest Samsung Phone and all now me cah buy it. Me never hear she seh none a di kids dem fadd a help, mi sick a har till me juss avoid and block har all together. is SCam dem a scam di ppl dem a farrin. Goverment gi dem help just like ppl a farrin we just no know.

12. I will never understand the mindset of a woman who cannot afford a single child and yet still, such a woman, end up having as many as these women have. On a human level, I feel sorry for all who are in need. Even when said individuals are the reason why they are in their respective predicament.

I am not surprised to hear that woman saying that she’s had to resort to selling her body in the past and I have a feeling that she might not even have any moral issues doing so. If you are having children with men whom you haven’t seen in ages. chances are, these women don’t know enough about these men. These women are pathetic for having this many children—given their circumstances.

I would implore them to solicit for child support—by means of the court system—however, it is plausible that they don’t even know the names for some of those derelict fathers. Imagine what the children have to contend with and what they will be asked to do, just so that they can survive. The government should take away their children—after all, conditions could never get worst elsewhere.

13. The article did not mention diseases or anything of the sorts and I did not see any mentions of these women being raped/forced to have sex. Hence, I contend that reality for these women and children are a lot more worst than the article depicts.

14. ppl stop raise chicken and plant food a Jamaica? Stop with the panhandling and literally go sow some seeds.

15. May God have mercie on the kids becaz is not there fault. I am angered by the women and the situation dem put demselves in, but as she seh it happen already and the kids are the ones really suffering suh mi try look past the faults of the mothers. Di men dem need fi tek responsibility too, she open har legs but them guh deh widout boots…mi nuh understand it though wi all the disease and crop weh di guh round..smh..as mi seh sorry fi di kids

1. Those are some really worthless, filthy and heartless men. How could a man not attend to the needs of his child[ren] or family? I just can’t fathom it. My children are tethered to me as if they are more essential to me than my very organs.

16. I totally agree Tinan, those are some really worthless, filthy and heartless men. How could a man not attend to the needs of his child, children or family? I just can’t fathom it. My children are tethered to me as if they are more essential to me than my very organs.

17. Why keep having children and cannot afford to take care of them this is not American where you can get Well-Fare. Poor children

18. begging for money but weave on fleek though! I don’t understand condom is so cheap and free and where is the fathers. Nobody not minding these kids but you keep breeding for them. This is crazy

19. Callaloo so cheap and even easier to grow even the tomato and skellion fi put inna it easy fi grow inna pot, and alot of yard space is not required, even if that’s all they have to eat with ground provisions for a couple days till the next meal the children would not starve.I remember growing up in Rockfort a lady would have her kids catch the wild chicken a run up an dung bout the place she would wash people clothes and sell bag juice etc, she had four kids no father and they were always clean and went to school and were not starving, the older son move to England after a relative sent for him and now everybody lives there. Too often we show compassion to people who are comfortable playing the role of victim and never take constructive steps to better themselves because a handout is just around the corner.
    Gone are the days when they knew how to be resourceful. You can tell by her comment on buying the juice that she has no clue how to raise children, wah them need juice fah buy them some provisions if a even just some flour and cook that wid the callaloo fling in some pepper and if it season good you cannot tell say saltfish missing and them wash it dung wid wata. Nobody no want them things deh fi eat or fi go do hard work because somebody muss sorry fi dem an sen money.

1. But is suh mi like my calaloo without any saltfish in deh, if my mother makes it she has to prepare dem separately. You darn right she is clueless, one thing she not clueless about is how to spread her legs, I bet you she knows how to do that better than most of us. Bout bag juice, before she go buy half pound a sugar and couple lime/lemons/sour oranges and meck a big jug a juice put dung. Personally fi me is cabbage bring me through the hungry days and as long as I live I will call dat vegetable blessed. Cabbage not expensive and it can be prepared in so many different ways, two big head a cabbage can last she and the kids a few days. as for breakfast she can get her cornmeal or oats and meck hot cereals chu di week. Dem waan pawty everyday and caan get up fi care for the children properly so dem want easy tings like bag juice, bread and sardine.

Not one of them has mentioned tying dem tubes. The govt will perform the sterilization free of charge. If dem fraid fi tie tubes, dem go on the IUD, dat is birth control fi five years. I do not think any of them serious about getting out of poverty. Any handouts dem get just going to go like butter gense sun, they need to learn how to fish.

20. Having seven and eight without a steady income is not making the situation better, how about unuh sew up unuh underneath, females like these mi nuh feel sorry for, having babies don’t keep a man, but obviously they didn’t learn from the first 6/7 baby daddy. Careless gal dem dat, I feel sorry for the kids but the mumma dem need a wakeup call.

21. I don’t really want to judge.My feel bad for these children who didn’t ask to be born ,is a pity we can’t chose our parents.This woman if she telling the truth where is her brain.She sell herself for money but iam sure she knows what happens when you have unprotected sex.It don’t take education for her to learn that..she already learned it from the other children that,she can’t afford to take care of..
    Its not right but if she sell her body for money she might as well sleep with her babies father for money to feed them,may,be him will use a condom now that they see what no condom does…kmt.
    Why put your self ina position to breed again when you can’t feed the ones you have..The healthy one can do better.She can go look some days work,wash some clothes clean house sweep up somebody yard.Anything that don’t involve sex.She just love to f

22. I don’t want to judge but y so many kids knowing ur situation. Y not tie off after 3, 4 or 5 kids. Beg n save that money. Those poor kids. I feel for them. Not the mothet who continues to reproduce knowing she can not provide. I hope she and the other mothers can some how turn themselves and their situation around. But i dont see thst possible. Good luck. May god keep watch over those kids.