WTF AFRICA-WIFE TELL COURT FI MEK HER GET HER BABY FROM THE HUSBAND BECAUSE HIM LOOK MALNOURISHED

My husband beats me and my mother mercilessly after smoking Indian hemp’

The six-year-old wedlock between Nafisat Wasiu and Afeez Wasiu has been dissolved by Oja Oba/Mapo Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State. Nafisat, in her divorce suit, had accused Afeez of irresponsibility and battery. She added that he was a drunk and habitual Indian hemp smoker.

The defendant failed to come to court after being served a court summon and at another time, a court hearing.

The court president, Chief Ademola Odunade, having listened to the plaintiff’s evidence and considering the refusal of the defendant to come to court, stated that it was obvious that the defendant was not ready or willing to save his marriage.

Ruling, he dissolved their union and granted custody of their two children to the plaintiff. The defendant was asked to pay N10, 000 every month through the court for their children’s upkeep. He was also asked to be in charge of their children’s education and health care.

“My lord, he turned me into the drum he beats on a daily basis for the six years we were married, “Nafisat told the court.

ALSO READ: Force-feeding babies leads to untimely death of infants ― Paediatrician

“All he spent his income on were alcohol and Indian hemp. When he was either drunk or high after smoking, his eyes would turn red and he would start shouting and turning the whole house upside down. He would pick fault in whatever I was doing, beat me to a pulp and destroy my property.

“He hated to be asked money for food, while asking him for our children’s school fees was a taboo. He abandoned all his responsibility at home and made me bore all.

“My lord, on one of the occasions my mum mediated in our differences, he beat her mercilessly and she was admitted in the hospital. I paid through my nose to get her medical attention.

“Rather than being repentant, he threw my property out of my house.

“My lord, I pray the court if my prayer of divorce was answered, to please award me custody of our first child who is presently with him. He’s looking malnourished and I need to give him adequate care, “she concluded.