WTF AFRICA- WIFE SEH SHE SHE RUN WID HAR PANTS

I escaped with only my pants on as my husband brandished cutlass at me —Wife

A woman, Tayo Aluko has told Ile Tuntun Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State, she’s fed up with her 20-year-old marriage to her husband, Soji Aluko, and therefore seeks for divorce.

Tayo, in her divorce suit, told the court that it was better being a widow than having a husband who had never been up to his responsibilities in the home. According to her, while she worked round the clock to feed the home and cover his inadequacies, what she got in return were severe beatings from him while he sometimes harmed her with dangerous objects.

The plaintiff, in addition to her prayer of divorce, sought for the custody of their three children in order that she might give them adequate care.

The defendant, while giving his evidence, did not admit to claim.

“My lord, I have been paying our house rent since we got married 20 years ago while I also shoulder the responsibility of seeing to my family’s welfare by feeding and clothing both my husband and our children. My father has been supportive financially and has always encouraged me not to give up on my husband.

“I also took up the challenge of training our children in school since he showed no interest in their education, “she stated.

“He once kept the sum of N20 which he meant to use for his elder sister’s burial with me, but I used it in paying our children’s school fees.

“He beat me blue-black when I couldn’t produce the money despite explaining to him what I used the money for. Not satisfied, he ran into the room and brought out a fetish object with which he threatened to hit me and paralyse me. I ran to my sister’s place where I took refuge for weeks. The issue was later resolved by my family members and I returned home after a few months.

She went on: “One morning, as I was setting out of the house to hawk my goods, he instructed me to go back in. I refused because there was no food at home and he had refused to give me and the children feeding allowance. My plan was to use the proceeds from my goods to buy foodstuff with which I would feed the home.

ALSO READ: My wife is a debtor and a whore, man tells court

“On returning in the evening, I prepared a meal and he ate the largest share of it. Few moments later, he started accusing me of leaving the home to go and commit adultery. He told me that people who saw me messing around earlier in the day informed him.

“He brandished a cutlass at me and threatened to cut off my hand if I didn’t say the truth. I escaped through the window with only my pants on me.

“My lord, he’s in the habit of harming me with dangerous objects especially when he’s drunk. I reported him to his parents and they gave me the go-ahead to take the necessary steps against him, “she said.

“My lord, I don’t admit to divorce, Soji stated before the court.

“My wife is a liar. Ours has been a peaceful marriage; there was no time we fought. She told me she was going to my hometown to see my parents and I gave her a go-ahead. But on her return, I was served a court summon.

“My lord, I don’t agree to divorce because of our children’s future.

Having listened to both parties, the court president, Chief Olasunkanmi Agbaje stated that the court would need added evidence before giving its judgment.

Ruling, he adjourned the case till June 22, and ordered the couple to come to court with their children and parents.