WTF AFRICA- WIFE SEH HUSBAND LEF HAR FI 9 MONTHS

My Husband Deserted Me, Our Children For Nine Months, Woman Tells Court

Oja Oba/Mapo Court C Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State has struck out a divorce suit brought before it on the basis of reconciliation of both parties.

Sakirat Azeez who dragged her husband, Gafaru Azeez to court alleged that he was in the habit of deserting the home for months and returning without any explanation and apology.

According to her, the last time he left, he was away for nine months not caring about her feeling and general welfare. This she stated spurred her decision to seek for divorce and custody of their children.

ALSO READ
‘My husband doesn’t leave a dime for food but complains the…

My wife fed her lover with our children’s feeding allowance,…

He disflowered me at 22, rather than dot on me, he went out…

“My lord, I tried my best to tolerate my husband’s excesses and decided to leave him when he almost frustrated me.

“My husband was in the habit of abandoning me and our children and would return when it pleased him. Initially he would leave for weeks without a clue as per his whereabouts. I always had sleepless nights as a result of this, fearing he could be missing or that something worse had happened to him. But when he eventually surfaced, he behaved as if nothing had happened, giving no explanation or rendering no apology.

“From weeks, he started deserting the home for months. He was once away for three months without getting in touch with me but by then I had become less apprehensive because I was getting used to his antics.

“My lord, the last time he left home, he was away for nine months. He neglected me and would get in touch with our children through our neighbour. He would call our neighbour on his phone and request to speak with our children. He was also sending their needs through this neighbour.

“After waiting endlessly for him, I concluded he didn’t need me again and was no more interested in our marriage. I, therefore, sued for divorce and moved out of his house with our children to my parents’ house.

“My parents obviously showed displeasure at my decision and were not in support of my action.

“My husband, on receiving the court summon, came with his family members to see my parents. Both families mediated in our issue and helped resolved our differences. My husband also apologised to me and promised to be of good behaviour hence forth, thus my decision to withdraw the divorce suit, “Sakirat told the court.

When the claim was read to him he refused to accept to claim.

“I don’t agree to claim, “Gafaru told the court.

Explaining why he was always leaving home, he told the court that:”My lord, I didn’t leave home because I was an uncaring husband or father, but because I wanted peace to reign.

Troops kill 35 suspected bandits, arrest 18, rescue 40, recover arms in Zamfara

“My lord, I decided it was best to leave home for a while any time we had a clash. I get angry when we quarrel and she wanted to bring down the roof. It has never been in my habit to beat women not to mention my wife. I, therefore, thought it wise to leave the house to avoid crisis, “he said.

Shedding more light on his act, Gafaru stated further that, “I always move to my brother’s house when we quarrel and there’s where I stay till I return home again.

“I informed my parents of my wife’s decision when I was served the court summon and we all went to see her and her parents. There, our differences were ironed out.

“My lord, I’ve promised my wife I will never desert her again, “he concluded.

Having listened to both parties and seeing their willingness to make their marriage work, the court president, Chief Ademola Odunade expressed delight at their decision.

Ruling, Odunade struck out the case.