WTF AFRICA- WIFE SEH HUSBAND FIGHT HAR FI FOOD

He leaves no money but fights me ’cos of food; forced me to pay house rent, woman tells court

A woman, Toyin Fapohunda has told Ile Tuntun Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State, she is no more interested in her 15-year-old marriage to her husband, Ojo Fapohunda.

Toyin has sought for divorce on the accounts of irresponsibility and constant maltreatment by her husband.

The plaintiff further appealed to the court if her prayer was answered to grant her custody of the three children in their marriage in order that she might give them adequate care.

Ojo refused to show up in court after being served a court summon and court hearing.

“My husband aside from being negligent of his responsibilities at home is shameless. My lord, he doesn’t feel concerned about my survival and that of our children. I work round the clock to ensure there’s food on the table and that our children go to school, but rather than show gratitude for all my efforts, he fights me.

ALSO READ: 2019: Political parties in last-minute rush to meet INEC deadline

“Hell is let loose any time he comes home and finds nothing to eat. He will shout on me and abuse me. He has a caustic tongue and will always spite me with his words.

“Whenever he makes a financial demand of me and I fail to meet his needs, he will rain curses on me. Also, when he’s hungry, he gets mad and threatens to snuff life out of me.

“My lord, I’m the one paying the rent of the one-room apartment we reside in. He told me to take up the responsibility since I’m working. He likewise added that since I’m earning an income I shouldn’t bother him with my needs.

“He knows nothing about our children’s education. He deliberately refused to show interest in their education in order not to be involved in the payment of their school fees.

“I want to add that he’s in the habit of coming to harass and fight me in my shop which I find embarrassing.

“I, again appeal to the court to order him to desist from this practice, “she concluded.

Ruling after listening to the plaintiff, the court president, Chief Olasunkanmi Agbaje stated that the plaintiff had proved beyond doubt that she was fed up with her wedlock.

According to Agbaje, the refusal of the defendant to come to court after having been served two summon showed he was not interested in saving his marriage.

Ruling, he dissolved their marriage and granted custody of their children to the plaintiff.

The defendant was mandated to pay the sum of N12, 000 through the court every month for their children’s upkeep. He was also asked to take up the responsibility of their children’s education and health care.

One thought on “WTF AFRICA- WIFE SEH HUSBAND FIGHT HAR FI FOOD