IT IS A SPIRITUAL WAR FOR REAL!

Ryan-Mark-1-Optimized

GOSPEL artiste and minister of religion Ryan Mark believes the recent upsurge in violence is more of a spiritual warfare than a physical one.

“The upsurge of crime is more than the natural eye can see. There are people that are possessed by the devil and there are some who have control over these demonic forces,” Ryan told the Jamaica Observer yesterday.

Since January more than 600 persons have been murdered, a 22 per cent hike over the previous year’s figures.

The parish of St James features prominently with 120 deaths recorded. In a major push to curtail St James’s crime wave, the police high command ordered the deployment of 200 additional police personnel earlier this week.

“We are living in a world that is unforgiving and one that is always proving. There are times that I have gotten angry and thoughts have crossed my mind that are not so godly, but it all comes down to self-control,” he said.

Mark, who is minister of the Pure in Heart Ministry in Kingston, said both household and biblical values have broken down and parents need to reintroduce the Almighty back into their homes.

He said with the increase of technology, the youth are more exposed to violence via the Internet and other mediums.

“Nowadays, if you want to kill a man, you can just Google how to do it,” he said.

He said while there are some that are playing their part, the Church could do more.

“The Church is the head, so we have to take a stand against crimes and start there. The government body also needs to take a look into themselves. We need more God-fearing leaders in Parliament. Our nation has placed the almighty on a back bench and we are feeling the consequences,” he said.

Ryan Mark, whose given name is Mark Reynolds, is one of Jamaica’s most recognised gospel artistes. His albums include Ryan Mark — The Chosen Prodigy (2005), Tabernacle (2008) and Israel (2011). He is also known for hits such as Nah Give Up and Already Done.

— Simone Morgan

0 thoughts on “IT IS A SPIRITUAL WAR FOR REAL!

1. It look suh caz weh deh gwan a yaard and abroad nuh normal..truly believe that it is the breakdown in the belief of God and his principles…errybody all of a sudden wants to undermine, wipeout question and God’s word and work…

2. Mi agree wid him. Di people dem embrace all kinda slackness and nah respect di Word of God. Dem sell dem soul fi material tings and don’t revere God Almighty. Das why Father turn dem ova tuh dem reprobate minds….:travel