TWO BROTHERS SHOT DEAD IN ST JAMES

Two brothers were ambushed while on their way to work and gunned down in their St James community early yesterday​ morning.The dead men have been identified as 34-year-old Odane Smith and 33-year-old Omar Smith, both of Anchovy here in St James.

Police reported that about 6:00 am, the two brothers, who lived in the top section of Anchovy, were using a dirt track to get to the main road when several gunshots were heard.

Residents, who rushed to the area after an alarm was sounded, discovered the bodies of the brothers riddled with gunshots.

The Anchovy police, who arrived on the scene early, took the two injured men to the Cornwall Regional Hospital where they were pronounced dead.

Up to late yesterday afternoon the police were yet to establish a motive for the killing of the siblings.

Meanwhile, two hours before the Anchovy shooting, a St James tractor operator was shot and killed by gunmen who invaded his home.

He has been identified as 40-year-old Balwin Haughton of Farm Heights.

Police said about 4:00 am Haughton, his common-law wife and daughter were at home when gunmen entered through a window and shot him dead.

His spouse and daughter were not hurt.

The killing of the two siblings and tractor operator pushed the murder tally in the parish to 94, which is 20 more than the 74 recorded for the corresponding period last year.

The murders also pushed the overall national murder figure since the start of the year to 448, which is 61 more than the 387 reported over the same period last

9 thoughts on “TWO BROTHERS SHOT DEAD IN ST JAMES

1. Mi naah talk wid wata inna my mouth ennu, but mi nuh waan eva live back a Jamaica. Two brothers on their way to work at 6 a.m. and di nastiness dem kill di yute dem. The tractor driver daughter must be so traumatised. Mi done wid Jamaica.

2. Jan know, when mi read dem ting ya and see what JA come too. .. This is a real tribulation Jamaicans killing Jamaicans it mess up bad, it getting worse instead of better… Hope these are the last days and the creator just come fi him world cause we are just not worthy..

3. They were so young. Obviously the person who did this knew their routine. At dat hour most ppl nuh even wash dem face yet suh dem on di road mostly by demself. It sad that two gainfully employed and seemingly progressive young men lives were destroyed like this. They never lived to see how far they could have gone in life. Now parents are left to bury them both and grow old without their children by their side. Tragic!!

With the state of things ppl may want to consider changing up their routines wherever possible. If you can change up your work schedule, routes you use for traveling, and even sleeping in different locations sometimes it may help. You don’t even know why you will be targeted. I tell my parents not even share their opinions with ppl cause some ppl get bent out of shape if you don’t agree with them. We have to be conscious to the times and do best we can to survive this diabolical period.

4. For every action there’sa reaction dem iinna something plp nuh just dead soh!!? Yard nuh different from other places them area deh ah bad area Jamaica nice when you nuh mix up inn tings just like the rest of the world!!!

5. Dis sounds like a hit to me dem boy deh inna tings. Mi country mash up yes but dis sounds fishy.

6. Mi nah go pretend to be a hypocrite but the events that are going on have been occurring for decades. Mi grandmother always tell mi seh it when the first election between Sega and Marley when ja truly change and become a hostile place. My father even told me about a story bout black heart man weh use to walk and kidnap basic school children and women, these incidents took place during the 1980s and 1990s. Incidents of men taking the lives of their wives and girlfriends has been going on a long time. When I was a child I knew three women who’s partners took their lives but, it was never board cast on the news. Because of technology now if the news station don’t talk about it people will board cast it themselves. If my grandparents and father a tell me seh dem thing yah been going on long before me born how uno a act like uno shock? People use acid a lot back in the 80s and 90s and rob people fi dem gold and not even spare di people life. The way trump a gwan uno better have a plan B location for where you would like to live, because best believe the UK and Canada will follow right behind.