PORTIA ISSUES STATEMENT ON HANOVER MASSACRE

Hanover2-SLD-Optimized

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller this afternoon condemned, “in the strongest manner”, the killing of six family members in Hanover Thursday night.

Gunmen allegedly pounced on a family of 10 in Logwood, Hanover before setting the nine-bedroom board house ablaze. Four family members managed to escape and have been hospitalised.

See statement in full:

I condemn in the strongest manner the latest act of senseless violence perpetrated upon a family. This evil act has taken from us six Jamaicans, including two innocent teenagers and their mother.

Life is too precious a gift for it to be so wilfully, maliciously, and brutally snuffed out.

Too many among us are inflicting pain, hurt and even death as a means of resolving differences. Such acts defy comprehension and especially when carried out against a family and our young, innocent children, robbing them of the opportunity to contribute to the development of their community and country.

I appeal to anyone who knows anything to come forward and assist the police so those responsible can be swiftly brought to justice.

I offer my deepest sympathies to the family members left to grieve and the quiet community of Logwood whose tranquil way of life has been shattered by this criminal act. I wish for those injured in this vicious act of criminality, a full and speedy recovery.

0 thoughts on “PORTIA ISSUES STATEMENT ON HANOVER MASSACRE

1. How thoughtful Portia (sarcasm)…expect more massacres as long as ppl continue to live in poverty with no hope except a life of crime…RIP to the innocent. In just one week my bff cousin (baby mother of Nick) went missing. Then one day later my friend 70+ year old uncle was shot execution style in St Bess…murder for hire..young thug responsible…marrow everywhere…eye balls drop out…2 shots in the head…successful business man about 2 enjoy the fruits of his labour…dont get me wrong crime is everywhere…but Kingston is consistently ranked in the top 10 murder capitals in the world bc of poverty related crimes so whatever Portia

2. Good day Met/Metters
    OMG, Portia come out. Well about damn time. What di hell a gwaan a Jamaica? Mi seh a bare tears mi a cry reading the JA paper this week. Mi feelit suh ’til fi di two sisters in Manchester and now 6 family members wipe out? Something gotta give, this can’t continue