A READER WRITES ABOUT HER BATTLE WITH DEPRESSION

45 thoughts on “A READER WRITES ABOUT HER BATTLE WITH DEPRESSION

1. I know ur feeling down but please remember that if u kill yourself ur child is going to end up just the way u are right now n Maybe end up killing herself too bcuz she would never understand why u did it.. what I think u should do it take a long vacation in another country with ur child.. sit her down n explain what u went through in ur childhood she will understand and be the support u need.. please please don’t kill yourself it will send ur child in shock and she may end up with permanent mental illness..

2. Reader you are depress because you have too much good things going on for you, I bet if I took you and drop you off in Ethiopia or Afghanistan where you could feel some real sufferation your depression would disappear because you would now have some real problems.

1. After reading that the person got molested, you really commented like that? Damn….if you no have ntn to say just no say ntn at all.

2. You are IGNORANT! Depression doesn’t discriminate so mine it nuh ketch yuh bumbo. It doesn’t care if you’re dirt poor or if you live in Beverly Hills. The only difference is that developed countries have the resources to treat sufferers of depression and still yet there are challenges in finding the appropriate treatment. In some countries it’s free to see a psychiatrist (prescription writers) but seeing a psychologist (head doctor) will run you $100+/per hour. You lack empathy and education so don’t speak on what you don’t know. It’s attitudes like yours that actually propel depressed people to commit suicide you idiot or drive them further into depression. Depression is either spiritual or a chemical imbalance (my conclusion as a sufferer). Sender ignore this comment from this fly by night mental health specialist. I really have to wonder if certain people do not have access to Google. Look good Pon yuh phone miss/sir and look fi sumn weh name Google. Click Pon it then type in depression in the search field. It can be life changing.

1. Thank you so much! Not everyone understands that depression doesn’t partial. I pray that person never faces what I’ve been through.

3. Anonymous 9:32 I sincerely hope the sender does not see your reply and if seen it is skipped over because of the reckless attempt on your part to sober someone up from battle scars psychological in nature that based on your callous attitude can cause more harm than good. I hope no children are in your care.

You actually sound just as hardened as the sender’s mother and if it was in my power I would delete your comment. This is someone suffering from Post traumatic stress disorder and you sitting up here on your high horse… I hope one day you get knocked down on your ass real hard so you can understand how detrimental your statement is, but carry on with your condescending, no heart having self. Lacking of empathy and a soul. Yes I said it………

1. Marie …
          Mi just affi shake mi head, take a deep breath and count to 10 before mi ansa. Mi ah tell yuh bout some people! Dat really neva call fah! Especially considering the nature of the post…

3. I too suffer from depression . I was also molested by my cousin, and I have yet to tell my parents . My father would kill him dead . I was in a very abusive relationship with a manipulative cheater, and suffered 11 years of more abusive. I have the same symptoms you described, and I’m a RN.

You are not alone . You are very brave to admit that you have a problem, and talking/seeking help is the first step in getting better. I try to remember my grandmother and my female ancestor who suffered before me. How did they stay alive when being raped and abused, cheated on and disrespected?
    Don’t forget God. Create your own relationship with him . Not what church, or pastors, or religion say . Talk to him YOURSELF. On your OWN terms. Feel him for yourself…. And give your self time . If one therapist doesn’t work , look a next. If you feel like crying , cry . If you wanna break glass or punch walls, do that . You are allowed to express your pain and your feelings any way you want too. Without judgement . If you even have to take a break from talking to your daughter to give yourself time to get better, do that .Allow yourself to express all those years or repressed pain. You have all right to do so. Just don’t give up
    Just remember you are a beautiful, wise woman. You have suffered the worse and still accomplished the best . And your best is yet to come for you.

1. Your pain is now my pain. Neither of us deserved what we went through. You will be in my prayers. Thanks for your kind words.

4. hi, i’m sorry you had to go through that. only you can heal yourself.

When you change the way you look at things, The things you look at

change.

You’re a great person! You’re still that little girl looking for love

when

its with in you! Your mind is very powerful. the same way you think

yourself in a depression, is the same way you can think yourself out.

First have a mental funeral for your mother, father, family friend and everyone that

ever hurt you. Then get in the mirror and say this to yourself i’m the

greatest! i love you. do that every chance you get. say to yourself i

forgive you. you’re beautiful! I love you! Stop thinking

about the past and start living QUEEN! YOU NEED TO TRAVEL THE WORLD AND

TELL OTHERS LIKE YOU TO LIVE. THE FACT THAT YOU WROTE THIS, MEANS YOU WANT

TO LIVE! EVERYONE THAT HURT YOU IS LIVING THEIR LIVES QUEEN, YOU SHOULD

TOO. START LIVING QUEEN!

1. This made me cry. It’s amazing how we probably don’t know each other and I can hear a voice talking to me. It’s weird.
      Thank you so much :angel

2. I hope the sender sees this….met cut and paste the comments to the sender’s email. I truly believe these words of encouragement can help

5. You deserve to live a triumphant life. If you take your life then all your abusers have won, they would have accomplished what they set out to do and that is to kill your spirit. If you need to check into a facility then check into it. It does not seem like you have any friends and you are likely still under the age of 40 or just about, so you still have many more years of life to go. Are you involved in any charitable work? You could work at a house for abused women and children, this would give you a purpose and something positive to look forward to. You could also start sharing your story as a means of helping others. The secrets are eating you from within and that is what is keeping you in a state of prolonged depression. You are an adult now, an accomplished woman, you can use your voice, you have a voice. Remember that Oprah suffered through as much as you and she used her voice as a means of healing, use your voice! Take up a hobby as well, work with something alive, like plants or animals, so gardening or volunteering at an animal shelter would be good because both plants and animals remove negative energy, get a pet. Eat living foods, even if you have no appetite invest in a juicer and make some natural juices, drink lots of natural coconut water. Go to saunas, do cryotherapy as well. Develop a spiritual practice, chanting would be good for you. Use Crystals to help you. Get a spiritual bath from a good light worker, use your sense of smell to guide you, a person who is practicing evil will have an off smell, and I am not talking about smelling like smoke or herbs, more like a rancid, greasy ewww odour.

You will triumph and live to a good old age. Just as you set your mind to get an education even multiple degrees, so too can you set your mind to overcome your past and free yourself from the shackles of depression. Do not leave your daughter alone in this world, don’t leave her with the legacy of a mother who chose to kill herself. This is too great a burden for a young woman to take on in a vicious world. Do the work you need to so you can live to see your grandchildren’s children. So they can elevate your name for centuries to come knowing you are a warrior and defeated the enemy. War is bloody, dirty and mentally draining, but the joy of victory is far greater than the pain of the battle.

6. Think about your daughter and don’t take your life, continue to pray and read your bible. There is power in the name of Jesus, rebuke the devil in the mighty name of Jesus. Also find a church to attend even if it’s just to go and listen to the word, reach out to family and friends dnt isolate your self. I’ll pray for the blood of Jesus to cover you, God bless you sister he loves you even when your mother and father forsakes you. Peace be unto you in Jesus name.

7. How about you find other therapist, maybe the ones you were using weren’t a good fit for you. And continue to read and pray, prayer heals all things. And know you are loved by your child who needs you around, good luck sister.

8. You need some serious help. you know you need some serious help.

do not self medicate and refuse the help given. . you went for professional help, yet you reject it and come to a message board.

if you want help.. then d the right steps. Depressions is a mental illness that needs professional help to get thru. you have been thru some stuff that has not been resolved and you have internalized and carried it with you for years.

You hope that material things and achievement will solve them, but it will not.

One step that you will have to come to peace with is acceptance of your reality and how to live and make the best of it.

you are living/dying for everyone but yourself.. love yourself .. you are broken but still alive.. and once there is life there is hope.

Start living a little more each day and stop looking for validation in others

9. Dear lady please do not give in to the demons that’s in those who molested and hurt you. Believe me when I say there is help and hope for you. Please find a real apostolic church and speak to the pastor. If you are in NY I know a good one. I can give you real God’s anointed pastors numbers to call who can help you.I have seen God changing things, turning them around all the time. Don’t give up. Pray and call on Jesus.

10. I wish I could reach out and hug you right now. I have been through similar situation where I was molested by family members and treated differently. My current situation is that my 12 yr old daughter is also battling depression and i’m afraid one day I’ll find her dead because sometimes she cuts her arms and write suicidal letters. I am very protective of her because of my past and I don’t believe hers is due to molestation. My only option left is spiritual help. I am trying to get some money to fly to Bahamas to see if I can get help from Mattie Nattage. Sender please consider your daughter and the pain you would leave her in. Go on youtube and watch Mattie Nattage videos and see if you can take the trip to get deliverance. Please don’t hurt yourself I guarantee that trip to get deliverance will help.

1. Im sorry you went through that ordeal and I’m so sorry you’re seeing your child going through depression. Please have a very serious talk with her. Find out what’s bothering her, take her to a counselor. For me when I was her age, I was depressed but my outlet was playing school with my grandmother’s orange tree. I would release my anger on that orange tree everyday by beating the branches and trunk. I was afraid to attempt suicide, because I knew if I didn’t die, my mother would beat the skin off me. I used to question my daughter when she had bad days and I still do.

I pray your daughter tells you what is bothering her so you can help her. Wow this one is deep. I pray for healing for you both. God please if you must, delay my help and please do so by helping this young girl. My heart goes out to you my dear.

11. You are stronger than you think. You wrote this let, so you can get through this. You are not alone, your daughter needs you, if you take your life you’d be selfish. She has nobody bit you. Don’t beat yourself up it was not your fault what happened to you, fast and pray daily, get off those anti depressants they will make you more depressed. Join a support group, go for walks. Change your mind set. Write your mom and dad a letter, explaining what they did to you and mail it. Pray hard, just know god is not through with you. Wishing you well.

12. Lady ur story bring tears to my eyes I have been something similar to you Depression is no joke.If you don’t start to intermingle and socialize,it may get to a point of no return Please join a gym and get involve in some volunteer group.You see if you continue witdraw from society like that and depression and stress get the better of you.The chemicals in your brain will start malfunctioning and that where you will loose control of reality and suicide become easy , because you have no control of your reality.Have you hear people say.How could he or she does that leaving behind so much.They have no control of reality. Walking will help you peace of mind and keep your chemicals balance.All the best going forward.

1. Thank you I had to screenshot your comment. I have gym membership through my job and I’ll be going to gym tomorrow. My change begins tomorrow. It took a community to let me realize there are people other than my fam who caresr. My child is my biggest purpose and that alone should have made me do right. But as old as I am, it still takes a village. Thank you so much this is heartfelt.

13. Big sigh, I understand your pain but remember there is power in the name of JESUS. Sister if u are too weak to say a prayer call out the name of Jesus and keep doing it. Please reach out for help you may need some medication to balance the way you are feeling. Depression is a sickness and many people suffer from it so don’t be ashamed. Sister your childhood was awful but good blessed you with a good job and a daughter to share your life with. You are stuck right now and I get that but remember you can still have a beautiful life in Jesus name. What happened to you was not fair to you but please help that little girl that is inside of you. She was helpless but you can get help. Lord please comfort her and touch her soul so she will know that you are there

14. I’m not against going to church m all that but that won’t help her at this point.. her problem is she want to share it with her daughter and don’t know how.. lady share ur story with her and she will cry with u and help u ease ur pain.. someone said do some charity work with other women that will help also.. you need a few friends to gossip with about any n everything.. please take the time away to a new environment Maybe somewhere they don’t even speak English that way it like no one can understand u but ur daughter.. you will feel a 100% better by the end of 1 day..

1. :angel :peluk Max thank you thank you so much. Please give me time to tell my child. Her life is going great right now and I don dint it anything to affect her. She’s over protective of me so I know this will hurt her to the core. We are going on vacation in January so I’ll see how things are at that time. Thank so much again.

15. Hello Beautiful,I will pray for you keep strong,you’re not the only one. I don’t know if you’re in Jamaica, But if you’re,I don’t know if you ever heard about Rev Mark Stewart, let me assist you the best way I can Rev Mark Stewart is a great pastor,him have three churches one in Portmore oneone in Mandeville & one in clarendon. Rev travel Alot most of the time he his in the us. Bronx,Queens, Brooklyn, New York. Sometimes he his, in the UK.i am going to assist you in the best way that I can. You can follow Rev mark Stewart on His Facebook page. Facebook: Bishop Mark Stewart, Instagram:Prophet_mark_stewart. Rev. Prophet mark Stewart. I am going to inbox met, the numbers that you can contact him privately. Or if you’re in Jamaica, now you can go to Portmore At 18 west Trade way street town centre Portmore. Him have “War” Room Ever Thursday night. Tonight is war room night start 6:30 pm finish at 10:30 Pm. Sometimes 11:30 pm. You don’t have to worry how you’re going to reach back home. When rev mark Stewart his not at the church in Portmore others pastors, are there, you don’t have to worry. If you’re not in Jamaica you can inbox him a picture of you on his facebook:Bishop mark Stewart. Rev prophet mark Stewart. Or you will see the information how you can get in touch with him, I was into a similar situation like you and I heard about him and the first thing I did at the time was message him a picture on his facebook because I didndidn’t have his number at the time.when I saw my picture he pray for me, & something come to me and tell me to move out of that situation. Remember ” God Take To People In many different ways. You’re not the only one trouble with depression. I know people personally, that come to Rev mark Stewart church with all types of diseases, problems married problems, i was at church one day saw this gentleman, when up to the church altar, mark Stewart looked at him,and the gentleman said to Rev, the doctors said I have stage 4 cancer and I am going to die, and the doctors tould me that the medications can’t do anything more for me, Then the pastor Said to him What? Then Rev mark Stewart said to one of his church secretary. Bring mea bottle of consecrated olive oil, one same “War” room Thursday night,and the gentleman, came back to church the sunday him and his wife, and go back to the church altar, with half bottle a blood, and rev ask the man what’s this sir? And the gentleman answer him and said it’s blood I vomited out, after that the pastor took it from him and turn to him, and said I am going to keep it sir. And the gentleman said yes, and on that same sunday the gentleman with the stage 4 cancer got baptized the same sunday and no more cancer, other people came with other illness, such as Hiv/Aids Respiratory cancer, Diabetes others problems such as criminal activities, court cases,Gun man school problem Jobs problems married problems money problems, visa problems all types of problems and them got Healing, Deliverance, blessing and breakthrough. So don’t give up keep the faith, don’t give up don’t kill yourself pray and do what I tell you to do. Rev mark Stewart come on the radio every Sunday morning from 5:30 am to 10:00 am every Sunday morning, when he his not in Jamaica Pastor Box is in charge. You can listen Bess 100 Fm radio nation wide radio 100.5 Bess 100 fm radio. You can put your water on top of your radio your documents, or you can write a prayer Request. Don’t take no medication they’re not good. Do what I tell you to do God Is the man for all our problems. Don’t let no one distract you and tell you no foolishness, I am going to message met, the informations for you. Remember your information are private. GOD BLESS! :kiss

1. Thank you and I’ll act on it once Met forward the info to me. I’m here in USA. Thanks again :peluk

16. Sending you love, hugs and encouragement. I will keep you in my prayers. I wear a bracelet with following inscription from Christopher Robin “You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” … and loved more than you know. You have helped others by being so brave to post your story here today. Better days are ahead, make a wish list and do the things you have always dreamed of doing. Travel to distant places with plenty of sunshine, seek out new adventures and forge new friendships. Take a few St John’s worth Capsules with Moringa seeds during these dark Winter months. Read the book Soul Rape by Heyward Bruce Ewart. Keep us posted on your progress we are here for you.

1. I would like to purchase one of those bracelets so I’ll google how to. Thanks for your kind words :angel :peluk

17. It is not your fault! It is not anything you did as a innocent child! Please push through and live! Do not take away your child’s mother. Do not harm yourself my sister. You have triumphed and strength is in you. I am weeping for us both…also smiling because the enemies cannot destroy us. I have walked in your shoes mama. You have to stop blaming yourself. They were the dysfunctional crazy bastards that wronged and harmed you. Write out your anger and hate, mail to them or trash it. You got to get it out of your system. Write and forgive them but you will never forget. It helps to discuss it so I am so glad you shared on this platform.It’s anonymous and that helps. Write in here again everyday if you must all the feelings the abuse makes you feel. I promise if you put it into the universe you will feel lighter. Unburden yourself lighten this load it is not yours to bear. I wrote a letter to my dead father lol I had to release it because hate and resent towards him was a blazing fire set to destroy me. Death is not an option life is a priority.

18. Hello everyone, I wrote the email to Met.
    I am overwhelmed with gratitude omg I’m crying. You all are wonderful to me, this depressed stranger. Let me say thanks to everyone for their kind words of encouragement, your support and prayers. Met thank you for responding to my email late last night and so quickly, thanks for your kind words and this post.

This journey has been very difficult, one that I’ve been fighting for far too long. I’ve had ongoing conversations with God, I kneel to him, I scream his name to take away my pain and memories, but I think I’m too impatient. My bible is the only book I read, but not enough. Professional help is what it is, professional help. I decided on this platform because I’ve seen where you (Met) and all your readers have given some of the best advice, so I thought my turn. I’ve also read here where other victims of sexual abuse have discussed their ordeal and I wish them well and healing.

I was reluctant in reaching out to Met because through my email address, she would identify my full name. I decided to put that aside, because we may not be related by blood but we are family. We are from Jamaica and share the same heritage and culture. I’m glad I made this decision, because today I feel better. My community of people stepped up and and I’m forever grateful.
    I am a very private person, so airing out my problem like this, is very rare me. ***tears***
    I am taking each and every advice and I’m going to summarize all your recommendations and do what I need to do. ****more tears****

For everyone who knows me, knows my child is my entire world, I’m mama bear, I’m over protective and my selfish thoughts of leaving her behind, breaks my heart. However, I figured the only way to rid the pain I’m feeling, is by dying. Sometimes I want to rip my flesh off my bones to the point I literally lock myself in my bathroom for hours. My depression escalated after my child left home. I’ve never lived alone before, so I’m always home alone and that makes thing my situation worse. I have a few friends and great family omg dem nice. But I don’t know how to tell them. I fake happiness around them while I’m literally crying inside. I can tell them but I don’t want them feeling my pain, they are the best family I could ask for. They are use to me shutting down, so me not taking calls is normal.
    @Max you are right I need to tell my daughter, but I don’t know how to even begin. She is the sweetest most respectful young lady. She’s very protective of me, so I know when I tell her, she’s going to be beyond upset and heartbroken.

Abuse of any kind is wrong, but sexual abuse is the worse, especially by a parent, because they are supposed to be our protector. I don’t remember not being molested. My innocence was taken from me and because of that, I’m very shy with and around men.
    My father is a very proud boasy man. He walks with his head up in the air. I was afraid of him until I was in my late 20s. I would never look at him when he spoke to me. I always held my head down and I was always very uncomfortable to be alone with him, even though I knew he wouldn’t dear touch me. He refers to my child as “your daughter” rather than ask for her by name because of his resentment of her being here.

I will continue praying because God doesn’t give us more than we can bear. Tomorrow will be a different day and a fresh start for me. I will wake up knowing I have a community other than my family and friends rooting for me. I’m not promising that I’m not going to still have bad days, but I’m going to be a work in progress.

Thanks Met for your platform and thanks to everyone who read, prayed and commented. I’m humbled and forever grateful. Thank you thank you all! :kiss :kiss :peluk

1. Amen!

Cyber hugs plus prayers. It will be well! The fact that you reached out showed strength and bravery. To pour your heart out is already half the battle! My heart smiled just by reading how upbeat you already sound. It’s a long uphill battle, you can do it!

19. Met, I love your site because of stories like this. So many of our people are suffering in silence and we don’t know about it or know that others are going through similar situations they are facing. I hope the sender take the advice from the bloggers. I like the idea a blogger spoke of about traveling and talking to your child about your trauma. Love you sender and will keep you in my thoughts.

20. I hope you get well my dear and I will be praying for you. From my experience, i couldn’t afford professional help but i exposed the monster in the closet. It took some time for me to get true happiness because of alot of backlash. But my dear, i have never experienced true happiness in my life until i told my family and exposed the monster. Now i don’t care what anyone thinks. It’s your life and your happiness, TAKE CONTROL hun!!!! Don’t let those monsters make you suffer while they live happily ever after. Expose them!! Let your daughter and family members know. Exposing was my method of lifting that big burden off my head. It took a while but i did find true happiness. I no longer had a “secret ” . I was transparent as day and it made me happy. Also you will have to learn not to care what people think about you. Please find someone to talk to. I’m sure that will help 100%. Always having that one person in your corner supporting you. Tell your family and friends, you would be surprised at the support you will receive. I’m not saying it will all be positive but I’m sure your daughter will have your back . Let her know who that monster is. And we will all be here for you. Exposing was my method of release the big burden, it may not be yours. All I’m asking you to do is to go with your heart on how you feel, just don’t harm yourself. Sometimes our heart knows how we can make a situation better but we are afraid to take the risk. Do not harm yourself. Think about how much you will hurt daughter if you hurt yourself and she doesn’t know why. She will think you’re selfish. Also, stop ignoring your friends. I did that and it didn’t help. Having a social life really helped me hun. Sometimes you just have to open up and risk telling people your story and you will find out who you can confide in. Life is all about risk. Its unfair sometimes but God doesn’t sleep. Remember that. God bless you hun. If you still feel the same, reach out on this platform again please. I hate to see innocent people suffer because of monsters like those.

21. I have battled depression as a child and an as adult. Trust mi its a up-hill battle. Staying busy is the only thing that keeps me sane. In August, i had suicidal deations, and still fighting to gain control. ANXIETY AND DEPRESSION KILLS SOULS & DREAMS.. stay the course sis..one day we will overcome this sickness. If i can find the courage to tell you fight back, you can do it. Sending #love and #strength

22. Your mother knew b4 you told her. I’m so sorry all that happened to you.. But hey! look at all the things you accomplished and sounds like you are doing very well for urself… You also are very stronger than you’re thinking. Don’t give up now when ur so close to complete fulfillment. What you went thru is a part of who you were meant to be and it’s only a matter of time b4 you will feel whole. 🙂 and cheer up because a man is on…..

23. Sender, I pray that you will be healed from your depression so that you may be able to live a full, enjoyable life. You deserve to enjoy all that you have worked so hard for. I believe that you will overcome this.Your strength will help in your healing.

Thank you for sharing your story. By doing so, I’m sure that you have helped a lot of other readers. My own battle with depression is similar to yours and I just want to tell you that you can and will defeat this.

I encourage you to keep trying to find a psychologist that you are comfortable with. Please do not continue to have alcohol with antidepressants. Remember that you are loved