YOUNG MAN WITH SPECIAL NEEDS GETS LIFE IN PRISON FOR QUEENS MURDER

A New York judge has sentenced a 22 year-old Jamaican-American man to life imprisonment without parole after he was found guilty of sexually assaulting and murdering a woman in Queens three years ago.

Chanel Lewis, whose parents are immigrants from Jamaica, was accused of sexually assaulting and murdering Karina Vetrano near her home in the Howard Beach section of Queens in 2016.

Prosecutors said the 30 year-old woman was attacked while jogging at a park near her home.

Lewis’ first trial ended in a hung jury.

Before sentencing, Lewis, who graduated from a high school for students with learning disabilities, told the court that he did not commit the crimes.

His mother, Veta Lewis, said she believes her son is innocent.

The New York Legal Aid Society, which defended Lewis, said it will appeal the sentence.

9 thoughts on “YOUNG MAN WITH SPECIAL NEEDS GETS LIFE IN PRISON FOR QUEENS MURDER

1. Money is a hell of a thing when u na have it hung jury with free lawyer if he had a paid one him free trust me

2. lies lies lies… That girl was very promiscuous according to people she associated with…she use to go on dating site and look for sugardaddys and hook up with men in bars. her family running from the truth and nypd feeling pressured just have this poor kid bait.. She’s kickboxer.she wouldve definitely take him down had him being her attacker. he did not had one scratch or defensive mark on him or her. He was so confused when he got arrested. Father forgive me but I don’t believe this young man capable of doing such thing to this girl… it doesnt add up.. Hope is mom never give up hope.. ONLY thing is they have is DNA inside her and that was smoking gun..

3. From the moment they arrested this young man my spirit said innocent, I could be wrong but I feel that killer is still out there.

4. the daddy dweet he has big big connects with NYPD and he was the only one who found her body..he always go jogging with her..but that day he decided not to…they foud an easy target for their massive cover up

5. He didn’t do it the father is the one who does dem
    Search for the body and the minute the father start help search him know where to find her Bcz him kno weh Him kill her and left her. Wish they did even a go fund me to get a good lawyer these public defenders be having too much cases to sometimes really dig deep smh I talk everyday been poor is a fucking crime

6. WHEN U BLK IN MERICA U BLACK, WORD ON THE STREET IS HER FATHER ..PLUS A HIM GO FIND HER BODY, ADDI DI PUPPA, A BLIND MAN COULD SEE THIS POOR IS I N N O C E N T… FCK OUTA HER MAN..