SHE WANTS HER CHILDREN BACK

I want back my kids – Woman struggles to get custody of her children

Kehrata Simpson lived in this old, abandoned building with her three children. The children were taken away by the state a year ago but Simpson, who has since received a Food For The Poor house, wants them back.

Kehrata Simpson wants to be reunited with her three children who were taken from her by the Child Development Agency (CDA).

Simpson, 28, argued that her homelessness at the time was the reason she lost her kids, a five-year old boy and 20-month-old twins, nearly a year ago.

Simpson, who has been treated for mental illness, said she has since been the beneficiary of a Food For The Poor house and is now in a position to take care of her children.

“I lost all three kids to CDA, however after going to court two to three times, the judge only hold my living conditions against me,” Simpson claimed.

Simpson said she obtained a house from Food For The Poor in Carby district in Munro, St. Elizabeth and was of the impression after a visit by the probation officer, she would be given back her children.

NO SCHOOL

“I need my kids and can’t get my kids, and the big boy has not been to school in over a year. The 28th of this month will be one year since I lost the kids. In the space of one year my big son has not gone to school. I have a letter from the school principal to say that my child has always been attending school,” Simpson said.

The twins were eight month old when they were taken away from her.

“To me as for the twins dem, this minute dem loose weight the next minute dem get it back and same thing with the big one, this minute him mawga down. The big one tells me him don’t like it there and him want to come and live with me. Every time I go there him bawl on me,” she claimed.

Simpson also told THE WEEKEND STAR that she has sought audience with the regional director at the CDA however to no avail.

“The probation officer is standing between me and my kids. Dem ago try tell me say me unfit to take care of my kids them and in the space of one year my child has not gone back to school.”

Simpson told our news team that she was a patient at the mental health clinic and that could also be a factor why the children are being bared from living with her.

“Since then I have been trying to get my kids and the probation officer is going to tell me that she is afraid because I reach back to mental health clinic for stress and them diagnose me with bipolar. She ago mek me know say me nah get back my kids because me unfit. She fraid fi give me dem back because she fraid me hurt them. That is totally nonsense cause me woulda hurt them long time, knowing I had no family member, no friends, a me alone and God.”

Rochelle Dixon, public relations officer at the CDA, told THE WEEKEND STAR that the agency is awaiting medical report on Simpson.

Simpson plight with housing and inability to maintain her children was first highlighted in THE STAR publication on April 18, 2016 titled “Begging with children’s feeding tin”.

Simpson told THE WEEKEND STAR that the FFTP house, which she applied for, was expedited with the help of the Member of Parliament Franklin Witter and the Kiwanis Club because of the court order with the children.

15 thoughts on “SHE WANTS HER CHILDREN BACK

1. I think if the children were taken because she was deemed unfit and she is now taking steps to sort out both her homelessness and her mental issues, The CDA should give her back the children and support her in whatever way they can to look after them. How can they not be sending the five yo to school? I am proud of her for the steps she has taken by seeking help for her mental problems and her homelessness, with the right support she can do well by her kids. Praying for you young lady.

2. Nope. Still no ready. Look at the condition of that wall and all those thinhs hanging…fire hazzard.

Thr child in state custody is in school. Who breed a mad oman 3xs though?

1. Sista PP it’s pretty evident by the repetitive nature of her verbal delivery, she nuh ready yet fi true!!

We await the report from the professionals assessing her and due process reach it’s logical conclusion. Let me ask those who may advocate for her getting back the kids…God forbid but in the event she hurt her kids upon return, wouldn’t missing school /mawga down pale in comparison !!??What unno would say then!?

1. All if a before pickney no fi live in a filth wid mad people.

12:02, She should get supervised visitation, but she should not not get those babies back. Next time she will kill them if she know dem coming fi them…that’s reality.

YardieT…Bro, me would a mad like har fi advocate fi her getting those babies back. All wards are sent to school within the compound; a argument she a look :D. Again, who breefs a mad oman and leave har with the offspring. Shame on these nasty men!

3. This one is tough, Bipolar is serious. I’m just wondering were is her family and the children father.
    I know one thing, I will not spend the night at anyone house diagnosed with bipolar, that would be a sleepless night.

4. Why go breed up if you cant manage to take care of them. I don’t know why these woman love breed up so much. If mi ah struggle and him ah struggle why bring a child in the world without help? Woman, you have to know no matter what you’ll be stuck with the child. So, you have to take heed to get breed up.

5. Give back di ooman har kids dem especially if she a get treatment. Mek she try and just give a eye, but ppl fi get chance afta she nuh dead….. give har six months to a a year and see how she du…. A dem a mek har bipolar get worse har kids a prably di only ting wah a keep har from di low give her back her kids Mann.

1. Reading some of your comment, I can only conclude that you are bipolar yourself, hence the reason you advocate for this woman getting back her kids. Are you a mental health expert? Do you have the data to support such a decision? You should seek help for your mental illness, since 99% of your comments makes absolutely no sense. You consistently comments on every single thread just for the sake of making a comment.

6. Some of these comments about mental illness sound ignorant, do you know how many doctors, lawyers,politician etc live with a mental illness and still manage to live a normal life with good support

7. Some of these comments about mental illness sound ignorant, do you know how many doctors, lawyers,politician etc live with a mental illness and still manage to live a normal life with good support

8. @Berry until they snap. Most are aware of their illness and have a medical team and family support. This woman is being taking care of my the government, I’m sure she’s getting minimal treatment. Most woman charged with killing their children have being diagnosed with bipolar, schizophrenia or other mental related illness.