REMEMBERING MALVO’S MOTHER’S WORDS

Una James, mother of Malvo, falls on hard times
by
Akino
May 15, 2017

Almost 14 years after Lee Boyd Malvo was convicted of the sniper attack, which left 10 people dead in the United States, his mother – Una James – believes the curse of his deeds has been following her

James was fired from her job last week, and she told The STAR that has had to sleep on the streets in Kingston on Mother’s Day weekend.

James, who is from Brinkley, St Elizabeth, told THE STAR that her contract with the recycling company she has been working with was revoked after negotiations broke down about travelling allowance.

“I live in St Elizabeth and when I have to travel from St Elizabeth to Brown’s Town and back to Moneague’s dump, the little money that I get is not enough,” James explained.

Sleeping on the street

She said that she had travelled to Kingston to discuss the matter of the travelling allowance with her boss but he dismissed her because she raised her voice in his office.

James said that she has been sleeping on the street since last Tuesday as she hasn’t been able to secure bus fare to make her way back home.

“A Mother’s Day and mi nuh eat from morning,” James said yesterday. “I have food in my fridge in St Elizabeth but I don’t have fare to go back home.”

Malvo, who was 17 when he was arrested for his role in the deadly attacks, along with John Allen Muhammad embarked on a murder spree in the Washington Metropolitan Area over a three-week period in October 2002.

She said that she has been verbally attacked by her neighbours. “All them call me is the murderer’s mother. Yes, that is what my neighbours look at me and call me more than once “the murderer muma a you sell out the pickney for so and so .,” James recalled. “They told me to leave the community.”

She added: “I didn’t tell Malvo to do anything. All I wanted for him was a better life.”

In 2010 James told The Gleaner, that she was planning to write a book to set the records straight on what happened with her son.

“Seven years ago I said that I was going to write a book but my situation here in Jamaica is not one of the best because I have problem at work so it Is not easy for me to just sit down and write the book because I have to earn a living to take care of myself,” James said.

Malvo is serving a life sentence for murder.

4 thoughts on “REMEMBERING MALVO’S MOTHER’S WORDS

1. Life is something else. She was running up and down all over, leave the child with strangers seh she have to ketch a farrin and look at her state now. Had she stayed and even plant a grung sell a market her child would be somebody today. Nobody should verbally abuse her cause she already on the ground and I don’t believe in kicking ppl when they are down. Just misery all over for the rest of their days. Sad.

2. Mek me eva run cross har a beg. When me done wid har she go step infront a one Leland truck.

Mother’s day a no fi dead dogs like she.

3. I don’t believe anybody abusing her because of what her son did, he didn’t commit those crimes in Jamaica and we have lots of murderers’ muma dung deh and nobody nah look pon dem, mi know woman weh dem pickney kill more than ten people a inna Di same community dem come from and nobody nah pree har. This woman doing her best to look like a victim for financial reasons but I’m not buying it, the real victims are the people who died and her son who was a minor who was brain washed by Muhammad. She fi Gweh bout she want write book. wah Di hell she ago write seh when she can’t even utter a coherent sentence? Wah Di raas mother’s day Have to do with her not eating from morning? Yuh know wah