11 YEAR OLD SCOLDED IN FACEBOOK VIDEO FOR HAVING GROWN CONVERSATIONS

Mother shames daughter in viral video – School offers counselling to both parties
by
SHANICE WATSON
ry School is offering counselling to a mother and child who appeared in a now viral video, which shows the mother admonishing her daughter for lying about her age and engaging grown conversations online.

“We realise that both of them need help. We have started to do that from our side. We will talk to them and give some good guidance,” principal of the school, Owen Speid, told THE WEEKEND STAR.

“She is a good child generally from all reports. At school, the child is not anything near all what is suggested in the video. We don’t write off children and parents. We think that they can be helped.”

Talk bout s*x

The five-minute video, which was posted on the child’s page on Monday, was filmed by the mother, whose voice can be heard in the background, while the child is seen on the screen.

“At 11 years old you a talk bout s*x and all dem something deh. How that concern you? Mi might mash up you face a talk bout you deh pon Facebook. Damn out of order. A yuh book me want to see you tek up. Me not even know wah fi say the way how you disgust me,” the mother is heard saying.

The enraged mother then slaps the child in her face, before continuing with the verbal onslaught.

“You not even know how fi wipe you a.. properly, and a talk about love at 11 years old. The only person you supposed to love is your mother, your book and God. You nuh supposed to love nobody else,” she said.

The parent then went on to express her concern that her daughter’s actions might expose her to paedophiles online. She also added that the video served to set the record straight regarding her daughter’s age, as she had been making claims that she was a teenager.

Since then, the video has been shared on numerous pages, and has racked up more than 121,000 views, and nearly 700 comments on one profile.

Upon learning of the video, Children’s advocate Diahann Gordon Harrison said she supports any parent who takes steps to discipline their child, however, she expressed concern about the mother’s method.

“Sometimes when you have a good objective, and you mix it in with something that tends to dilute the effectiveness of the objective, it can basically have the child being resentful towards you, and possibly push the child to rebel and seek other ways to continue the behaviour,” she said.

“We are encouraging parents to be vigilant, discipline, and guide, but be very careful that in doing so, you don’t end up pushing your child away.”

7 thoughts on “11 YEAR OLD SCOLDED IN FACEBOOK VIDEO FOR HAVING GROWN CONVERSATIONS

1. Bravo to the counseling. While i agree that the child’s actions are alarming I don’t think public scorn is the way to go. One time somebody told me something about scolding children,”tell them you dislike their actions but no them.” when the mother tell the daughter YOU disgust me,the child internalize that,so when a predator tells her,”you’re beautiful,you’re sweet,you’re amazing.” She will become susceptible to flattery. Tell her you love her no matter what,but tell her that her actions are unacceptable and dangerous. Parents limit your kids on social media and that may mean no smart phone. Just a phone that can send and receive calls and no computers unless it’s for school work. Good luck to mom and daughter.

2. Forget bout video! Why does an 11 year old have a Facebook account? Children should not be on social media and I am dead serious. Are the authorities looking into who these “men” are that she an ELEVEN year old was conversing with? Dem need fi lowe di madda…My 10 year old would get a would get a serious buss ass for this, although I wouldnt make a video of it and post it. Mi not even would badda talk about what would happen to the pervert.

1. You can’t blame the men if they child posing as an adult. fB states that you have to be 18 to register, the mother is to be blamed for not knowing what her “11” years old child is doing. She gonna say love, her , books and God what about her father?…..again the mother is to be blamed

1. Even if this child looks older than 11, I doubt that she looks older than 18. The men know. As I said, an 11 year old should not be on social media. So yes, you are right, mom needs to shape up. She could have prevented this.

3. Yeah, but who really knows you’re 18. FB doesn’t ask for valid ID like a drivers license, state ID, and passport. I don’t blame the mother. These kids are hard headed. Some kids do need real consequences to see that things are serious. These younger generations are looking older now because they are exposed to far more grown issues.

4. Sometimes it’s the older siblings that create the accounts for the younger ones. Didn’t realize my son had a page until someone told me. Tried to get it closed and could not althugh I’m the parent. The account open still. They make it so easy to create but so difficulty to close.