THE TAXI DRIVE WIFE SEH SHE HURT AND ANGRY

Winston ‘Corey’ Walters, the taxi operator who was shot and killed along with businesswoman Simone Campbell-Collymore in Red Hills, St Andrew, last month.

Jewel Walters, widow of Winston ‘Corey’ Walters, the taxi operator who was shot and killed along with businesswoman Simone Campbell-Collymore in Red Hills, St Andrew, last month, is a broken woman.

Weeks after the gun attack that ended her husband’s life, Jewel still spends her evenings scrolling through photos of him on her phone as their three boys cling to her shoulders, remembering the fun road trips they took with their father.

Walters, 36, and Campbell-Collymore were peppered with bullets by thugs who pounced on his blue Toyota Axio motor car, firing relentlessly as they made sure their targets were dead.

Campbell-Collymore’s husband, Omar, and two other men have been charged with the murders.

Last Friday, as Jewel spoke to The Sunday Gleaner, Collymore and one of the accused appeared in court and were remanded. They are scheduled to return to court on February 26.

But the arrest of the men believed to have killed her husband has done nothing to diminish the anger and hurt felt by Jewel.

SENSELESS KILLING

“I am very angry; angry at the fact that he had to lose his life like that. He lost his life without even an idea as to why he was being killed,” sobbed Jewel as she spoke with our news team at their rural St Andrew house last week.

“If somebody had said that he was in a car accident, or he was sick, it would really hurt, but to know that you are out there and your life is taken away and you don’t even know why … it makes me angry,” added Jewel, as she declared that life has not been the same since her husband was killed.

Walters was buried two Saturdays ago, and Jewel lost consciousness at the funeral.

Now their 11-year-old son, who is to sit the Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT) this year, has fallen significantly behind at school, while their six- and five-year-old boys shake with anxiety whenever their mother leaves them.

“It is not easy to watch the person who you spend all of your life with go down into the ground,” said Jewel, a teacher.

She told our news team that her husband moved hesitantly around the house before leaving out on the morning of his death.

FAMILY-ORIENTED MAN

Pushed by his relentless desire to ensure his family’s well-being, she said, Walters reluctantly left the house, but only after asking her to call his mother-in-law and urge her to be safe in the volatile east Kingston community that she lived.

“He didn’t know that he was walking into his own death that day,” Jewel murmured with tears forming a puddle in her eyes as her youngest son snuggled under her arm.

“Corey was very determined, family-oriented, a hard-working person. Anything he put his mind to, he must get it done. He was very supportive and there for us,” she said.

According to Jewel, her husband, who loved travelling across Jamaica and the United States on vacations with his family, was her strength when she became pessimistic.

“I cannot understand how another human being can take another person’s life; and when I hear how many persons are behind this and how heartless it was … it really makes me angry.

“Yes, you have the shooters who actually went and pulled the trigger, but the masterminds who actually planned all of this is even worse,” said Jewel.

“It takes a wicked and evil person to live with someone so long and just take their life like that, leaving behind children,” added Jewel.

Since Walter’s death, some of his passengers have taken to social media speaking about his reliable and cheerful character.

22 thoughts on “THE TAXI DRIVE WIFE SEH SHE HURT AND ANGRY

1. I am angry too, and it’s not my husband, and all you can hear is every one talking about the Collymores’ hardly any thing is heard about this truly innocent man, and his fatherless children. My advice to Jewel, is to Sue the Collymore estate, if the billion dollars is being paid out, you need half of it for you and your children, for the life of your innocent husband who was only there to do his job. Sue regardless , period point blank, sue Collymore for all he has.

1. You know me second your views to the core. Simone family shouldn’t mek this reach courthouse. Dem need fi get an attorney to mediate and give this lady a cheque to compensate for up to 25 yrs of list income.

2. I really do hope the Campbells do right by the Walters and ensure that the family is ok. atleast pay for the tuition of the children until all three graduate. They have the means and they should do it since they are such “good” people. Not shading them just being honest. The fact that he was nervous that day before going, means that he knows either the volatile relationship of Simone and Omar or him spirit telling him not to go. The breadwinner and father of that family has been taken away and the Campbells need to do right by them.

2. My Take- Simone knew Omar had ill feelings towards her. That is why she took the taxi, as to say if the man was with her Omar would not harm her. Litter did she know he would not be the one to do it next time. Simone knows that Omar killed Angela. He wanted her sister to take her, why didn’t the sister go? They knew.

3. Lady i feel ur pain trust mi.. That’s y mi seh we want back wi Jamaica from the 80s n 90s.. It look like wen wi did poor poor wi live betta.. Mi live to see fren a kill fren that’s grow up together went to the same school live there life like brothers.. over money them turn on each other . Is weh wi developed this dirty nasty envious ways.. I’m very sorry but if abman kill my family mi a kill back fi dem..ofter mi bury mine a time fi bury fi yu.. A that me seh

4. I FEEL SO SORRY FOR THIS LADY, TO KNOW THE MAN A TAKE CARE OF HIS FAMILY AN TO MEET HIS DEATH LIKE THAT, ITS GOT TO BE HARD……I AGREE WITH THE COMMENT UP TOP….SUE, EVEN IF U NOT GETTING ANYTHING SUE SAME WAY……RIP MR WALTERS…

5. SAD, this was a GOOD HARDING WORKING FAMILY MAN, heart wrenching. To know that these boys lost their father their provider,tears. This woman will have to do it on her own, we have enough single parent Black homes. This woman lost her HUSBAND, he didn’t walk out, he was Murdered. Mama I feel your pain, The Lord will help you through, Father God please guide, protect and strength this Family. RIP

6. Collymore money tainted, but as soon as he’s found guilty file a civil suit against him for every penny.JCF don’t mess this up; this lady and her 3 sons are depending on you. Hold strong Mrs. Walters.

1. what money @stay good? Him nuh have none. The likkle weh him did have gone inna pumpum and batty investment and maintenance. Omar is a bum. There has not been one person run in and defend and say he is a hard worker, he helped build their companies. It has always been Simone. There is no money.

1. Ther is money. Remember that in marriage what is yours is also mines :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak

When its about cheating you women live to cry out about the rifhts that the wife have to a man’s bank account. :ngakak :ngakak

7. Mrs. Walters, so sorry for your loss. Please retain a lawyer and file a wrongful death lawsuit as soon as possible!

8. ALL SOME A WE DO IS KIILL INNOCENT PPL, DISS PUSSY FI GET RAT POISON EENA PRISON,, HIM SLIPPERY EVERY MINUTE HIM GET KETCH TRYING TO LEF JA, A SOMEWHERE ELSE HIM WANT GO SPEND HIM MONEY.. F**KIN TEEF, DEM FI COME FI HIM, MURDEREER

9. I was waiting for this message but I wasn’t prepared that pulled my heart string and the floodgates opened!! I am so sorry Mrs Walters, your husband didn’t deserve that and your 3 boys don’t deserve to be fatherless. Please we need Justice for Mr Walters Met!! Can any family member of Simone speak on this topic? Instead of focusing on Tough Barky body Lee-Ann?? Did anybody contact Jewel and the boys? Why Simone didn’t call her Father to go with her or her strong brother who in the Airforce?? You see why violence can’t stop? And poverty is a cycle that has no end? The breadwinner taken away from his 3 boys at a crucial time in their lives.☹️