FLORIDA JUS A RUN WID OMAR NEWS

Almost a decade ago, Omar Best Collymore’s girlfriend was shot dead in a Fort Lauderdale street. Her killer was never charged, but police always considered Collymore someone of interest.

Now his wife is dead. He was charged with murder after she was gunned down outside her apartment complex in Jamaica, and Fort Lauderdale detectives are working with Jamaican authorities in hopes of solving their own long-cold case.

The two slayings have several similarities, Fort Lauderdale Detective Tracy Figone said in a statement.

In addition to being romantically linked to Collymore, both women had life insurance policies that listed Collymore as a beneficiary, according to Broward court records and relatives.

In a digital age, silence is in short supply. And artists and brands are responding with a return to solitude. See why Adobe Stock thinks it’s this year’s first visual trend.

See More
For years, Collymore, 35, has been a person of interest in the slaying of Angela Aguiar on June 30, 2008. But Fort Lauderdale investigators didn’t have enough evidence to make an arrest.

Family hopes renewed interest in 2008 Fort Lauderdale murder sparks fresh leads
Aguiar, 38, was killed about 3:30 a.m. when the couple were on their way to a downtown bar to meet friends. As they got out of their truck on Northwest Second Avenue, just west of the county’s bus terminal, an assailant approached the pair and shot Aguiar in the head and chest.

Collymore, who told police he saw the gun and darted away to take cover, was not hurt. Aguiar, a real estate agent, had bought a $1 million life insurance policy about a month before she was killed, court records show.

Elijah Aguiar, Aguiar’s son, has been waiting close to a decade for justice for his mother’s killing and says he’s long lost confidence in police’s efforts to put Aguiar’s killer behind bars.

“Ten years later, I feel numb. I feel no matter what happens, it won’t bring her back,” he said. “I feel she never met her grandkids — I have two kids — and I feel hurt. I feel like a part of me died as well.”

On Angela Aguiar’s birthday, he brings his children to her gravesite to blow out candles and have cupcakes. The kids run around the cemetery’s open field. They don’t know how grandma died, and Elijah doesn’t plan to share the painful truth until they’re much older.

Elijah Aguiar, now 26, was a 17-year-old boy when police knocked at his home to tell him his mother was dead.

In Jamaica, Simone Campbell Collymore’s children were younger still. She left behind a 7-year-old daughter and a 5-year-old son, her sister, Keshtina Bonner, said. They still wonder where their mother is. Grieving relatives remain vigilant for signs of depression in the children, she said.

Simone Campbell Collymore
Simone Campbell Collymore was gunned down Jan. 2 in Kingston, Jamaica. Her husband, Omar Collymore, is charged in her murder and is a person of interest in a 2008 Fort Lauderdale murder. (Courtesy of Keshtina Bonner)
“It’s extremely hard,” Bonner said. “It’s hard to say whether they really understand or not.”

According to the Jamaica Constabulary Force, at about 4 p.m. Jan. 2, unknown assailants on motorcycles opened fire, striking Campbell Collymore, 32, and her cab driver, Winston Walters, 36. Both died at the hospital.

Later, on Feb. 6, a warrant was issued for Collymore’s arrest, and he was captured two days later.

The Jamaican police agency is not offering details about how investigators linked Collymore to the double slaying. At least two other people have been taken into custody in connection with the murders and more suspects are being sought, a spokeswoman said.

Bonner said that with her sister’s death and Collymore’s arrest, “we have literally lost two members of this family.” Campbell Collymore was a Jamaican entrepreneur with electronics and construction businesses and a jewelry store in a Kingston shopping district, her sister said. Collymore was her business partner.

The couple regularly traveled to South Florida and bought a home in Coral Springs about six years ago, property appraiser records show.

“Simone is the sweetest person you’ll ever meet, and I’m not saying that because she’s my sister,” Bonner said. “She was a young mogul building an empire on her own. She was really making major moves.

“She kept saying, ‘2018 is going to be an amazing year,’” she said. “That was just cut short for her. She was robbed of those opportunities.”

The couple had life insurance policies listing one another as beneficiaries, Bonner said. The policies were valued at more than $600,000.

Court records in a civil case disputing how Aguiar’s life insurance proceeds would be disbursed show her insurer made inquiries with police about her homicide.

In email exchanges between a Fort Lauderdale detective and insurance claims analyst in June and September 2010, the detective said Collymore was still implicated in the case.

“No progress,” the detective wrote. “Yes, Omar Best [Collymore] is still a suspect.”

Ultimately, the civil case was resolved and Collymore was awarded $400,000. Aguiar’s son received the rest of the life insurance money.

Elijah Aguiar said he learned about Collymore’s link to his wife’s murder through Bonner, who reached out to him on Facebook. He said that now that Jamaican authorities have charged Collymore with his wife’s murder, he’s more convinced that Collymore was responsible, too, for his mother’s death.

“He probably felt like a God like he could get away with everything,” Aguiar said. “Nothing will bring my mother back.”

[email protected], 954-356-4543 or Twitter @epesantes

Nikolas Cruz: ‘We had this monster living under our roof and we didn’t know.’

Nikolas Cruz was investigated after cutting himself on Snapchat, state report shows

9 thoughts on “FLORIDA JUS A RUN WID OMAR NEWS

1. Bonner said that with her sister’s death and Collymore’s arrest, “we have literally lost two members of this family.”

:nerd

Tell me now.

2. simome u sure a so she mean???? for mi no know who would own dat at this time…a full time the florida authorities step in, cant trust dem Jamaican set how him fi get cauht trying to get away twice????? pon plane an in hotel?? lesson to all of us…but it seems if u no got nutten u safer….dis dog target real estate ladies and mek dem insure him.. look like simone see a load a shittt and walk right in deh

3. sometimes we cuss out our Jamaican men how dem wild an good fi nutten… men are men no matter wa nation… mi naw date nobody else if it was compulsory that mi lookin documents but still no feel good, I don’t date outside my race,,Africans love show off dem Jamaican gal at those functions.. dem cut eye offa we dwlllmm mi no want none a demmmmmm give me mi jcan men all the time though some a dem want a dash a someting

4. Out of everything I can’t believe he got 400 000 of the woman life insurance money smfh then man can so wicked??? My baby father use to threaten to kill me and make me disappear and I never believed him but now I do ! Smh heartless MOFOS

5. Tf she mean by them lost 2 family members??? Unnu quit trying to look or play nice now man. You think a mfker could a murder my sister and me talking that crap. She must nuh hear say a she and simone the man did plan to take out one time.