NEW HOTEL SCAM

Someone posted the below to facebook

Kevin Vaccianna
Yesterday at 9:16am
FYI.
‘NEW HOTEL SCAM!!
This is one of the smartest scams I have heard about.
You arrive at your hotel and check in at the front desk. Typically when checking in, you give the front desk your credit card (for any charges to your room) and they don’t retain the card.
You go to your room and settle in. All is good.
The hotel receives a call and the caller asks for (as an example) room 620 – which happens to be your room.
The phone rings in your room. You answer and the person on the other end says the following:
‘This is the front desk. When checking in, we came across a problem with your charge card information.
Please re-read me your credit card numbers and verify the last 3 digits numbers at the reverse side of your charge card.’
Not thinking anything wrong, since the call seems to come from the front
desk you oblige. But actually, it is a scam by someone calling from outside the hotel. They have asked for a random room number, then ask you for your credit card and address information.
They sound so professional, that you think you are talking to the front desk.
If you ever encounter this scenario on your travels, tell the caller that you will be down to the front desk to clear up any problems.
Then, go to the front desk or call directly and ask if there was a problem. If there was none, inform the manager of the hotel that someone tried to scam you of your credit card information, acting like a front desk employee.
This was sent by someone who has been duped……..
and is still cleaning up the mess.
P.S.
Please, consider spreading the word by forwarding this msg.
Who knows, you might just help someone avoid a nasty experience.
All traveling often should be aware of this one!’ As it happens everyday all over.

3 thoughts on “NEW HOTEL SCAM

1. Damn look deh!!!…..A das why when dem dead an get lock up mi seh yes.. cause dem deserve it. Imaging yuh go fi have a good time and yuh not even safe a spend yuh money…. dem fi kill dem scamma yah .

2. When someone calls a hotel to speak to a guest They have to give the persons name they whose rooms they want to speak to. So the person doing the fraud would have to know the persons name and that they checking in that day

3. Couldn’t tell when last mi stay in a hotel, mi inner miser been using Airbnb and loving all the money it saves me. Three trips on the horizon and all a dem with Airbnb.