LOTTERY SCAMMER SENTENCED

The US Department of Justice on Wednesday announced that a woman was sentenced in Miami, Florida for her role in a Jamaica-based fraudulent lottery scheme.

Cassandra Althea Palmer, 33, of Broward County, Florida, was sentenced to serve 24 months in prison and three years of supervised release.

The court scheduled a hearing on May 3 to determine the amount of restitution that Palmer will pay to the victim.

As part of her guilty plea, she acknowledged that from February to April 2014, she was a member of a conspiracy that defrauded a Maryland resident.

The victim was contacted by an individual in Jamaica and told that she had won a multi-million lottery prize, and that in order to collect her lottery prize, she first had to pay taxes and fees.

The money was paid and Palmer and a friend kept some and wire transferred the rest to her Jamaican co-conspirator.

5 thoughts on “LOTTERY SCAMMER SENTENCED

1. This must be the stupidest sentencing in histrie!!!How can 2yrs be any deterrence to scamming? ?You get to live a high roller life n stash away $millions of $millions! !What a sweet deal! !

I’m telling you right now if it wasn’t for setting example fi mi pickney n my own personal belief/integrity. ..I would try my luck scamming too.Are u kidding me…n mi nuh must get ketch n if I do mi ongle get a 2yrs vacation without pay at a small confined abode??

2. Yardie I don’t believe you, you would really defraud people of them things? Nope! not the Yardie I know and love. I agree that the punishment does not fit the time yes but..