THE NAMES OF GOD

GARDEN

The Names of God and Their Meaning
in the Old Testament

Jah/Yah
LORD or Kurios in Greek

Psalms 68:4 “Sing unto God, sing praises to his name: extol him that rideth upon the heavens by his name JAH, and rejoice before him.”

Isaiah 12:2 “Behold, God my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the LORD JEHOVAH my strength and song; he also is become my salvation.”

Isaiah 26:4 “Trust ye in the LORD for ever: for in the LORD JEHOVAH everlasting strength:”

Jehovah/Yahweh/Yahway or YHVH/YHWH
LORD, meaning: He will be, eternal, to be, to exist, and always is. Unchangeable. This name is unique to God alone. The covenant-keeping God. (El Shaddai shows God as coverant maker.)

Exodus 3:13-14 “And Moses said unto God, Behold, I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What his name? what shall I say unto them? {14} And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.”

Exodus 6:3 “And I appeared unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, by God Almighty, but by my name JEHOVAH was I not known to them.

Jehovah – Adon (singular); Jehovah – Adonai (plural)
LORD of lords. To judge or rule. Includes meaning of master of owner as well as lord. Emphasizes God as almighty ruler and covenant- keeper.

Nehemiah 10:29 “They clave to their brethren, their nobles, and entered into a curse, and into an oath, to walk in God’s law, which was given by Moses the servant of God, and to observe and do all the commandments of the LORD our Lord, and his judgments and his statutes”

Psalms 109:21 “But do thou for me, O GOD the Lord, for thy name’s sake: because thy mercy good, deliver thou me.”

YHVH
LORD. Used with Adonai Lord in Exodus 4:10

Exodus 4:10 “And Moses said unto the LORD, O my Lord, I not eloquent, neither heretofore, nor since thou hast spoken unto thy servant: but I slow of speech, and of a slow tongue.”

Jehovah – El
Singular form – LORD God.

Psalms 31:5 “Into thine hand I commit my spirit: thou hast redeemed me, O LORD God of truth.”

Jehovah – Elohim
Uni-Plural form (3-in-1) – LORD Gods; Strong or mighty and object of fear. The compound emphasizes God as: creator, governing and redeeming man. Also God’s direct connection with the nation of Israel.

Genesis 2:4 “These the generations of the heavens and of the earth when they were created, in the day that the LORD God made the earth and the heavens,”

Numbers 23:22 “God brought them out of Egypt; he hath as it were the strength of an unicorn.”

Jehovah – Elyon
The LORD most high.

Psalms 7:17 “I will praise the LORD according to his righteousness: and will sing praise to the name of the LORD most high.”

Jehovah – Jireh
The LORD will provide.

Genesis 22:13-14 “And Abraham lifted up his eyes, and looked, and behold behind a ram caught in a thicket by his horns: and Abraham went and took the ram, and offered him up for a burnt offering in the stead of his son. {14} And Abraham called the name of that place Jehovahjireh: as it is said this day, In the mount of the LORD it shall be seen.”

Principal of Jireh is fulfilled in the New Testament for any need

Matthew 21:22 “And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive.”

Philippians 4:19 “But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”

Jehovah – Makeh
The LORD smites, punishes sin.

Ezekiel 7:9 “And mine eye shall not spare, neither will I have pity: I will recompense thee according to thy ways and thine abominations are in the midst of thee; and ye shall know that I the LORD that smiteth.”

Jehovah – Mekaddishkem
The LORD our sanctifer.

Leviticus 20:7-8 “Sanctify yourselves therefore, and be ye holy: for I the LORD your God. {8} And ye shall keep my statutes, and do them: I the LORD which sanctify you.”

Exodus 31:13 “Speak thou also unto the children of Israel, saying, Verily my sabbaths ye shall keep: for it a sign between me and you throughout your generations; that may know that I the LORD that doth sanctify you.”

Jehovah – Nissi
The LORD my banner or ensign.

Exodus 17:10-12 “So Joshua did as Moses had said to him, and fought with Amalek: and Moses, Aaron, and Hur went up to the top of the hill. {11} And it came to pass, when Moses held up his hand, that Israel prevailed: and when he let down his hand, Amalek prevailed. {12} But Moses’ hands heavy; and they took a stone, and put under him, and he sat thereon; and Aaron and Hur stayed up his hands, the one on the one side, and the other on the other side; and his hands were steady until the going down of the sun.”

Exodus 17:14-15 “And the LORD said unto Moses, Write this a memorial in a book, and rehearse in the ears of Joshua: for I will utterly put out the remembrance of Amalek from under heaven. {15} And Moses built an altar, and called the name of it Jehovahnissi:”

Jehovah – Rapha
The LORD who heals.

Exodus 15:26 “And said, If thou wilt diligently hearken to the voice of the LORD thy God, and wilt do that which is right in his sight, and wilt give ear to his commandments, and keep all his statutes, I will put none of these diseases upon thee, which I have brought upon the Egyptians: for I the LORD that healeth thee.”

Psalms 103:3 “Who forgiveth all thine iniquities; who healeth all thy diseases;”

Psalms 107:20 “He sent his word, and healed them, and delivered from their destructions.”

Isaiah 53:4-5 “Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted. {5} But he wounded for our transgressions, bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.”

Jehovah – Roi
The LORD my shepherd.

Psalms 23:1 “A Psalm of David. The LORD my shepherd; I shall not want.”

Principal of Roi is fulfilled in the New Testament as shepherd:

Mark 6:34 “And Jesus, when he came out, saw much people, and was moved with compassion toward them, because they were as sheep not having a shepherd: and he began to teach them many things.”

Hebrews 13:20 “Now the God of peace, that brought again from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great shepherd of the sheep, through the blood of the everlasting covenant,”

Jehovah – Saboath
The LORD of hosts (angelic armies).

1 Samuel 1:3 “And this man went up out of his city yearly to worship and to sacrifice unto the LORD of hosts in Shiloh. And the two sons of Eli, Hophni and Phinehas, the priests of the LORD, there.”

James 5:4 “Behold, the hire of the labourers who have reaped down your fields, which is of you kept back by fraud, crieth: and the cries of them which have reaped are entered into the ears of the Lord of sabaoth.”

Jehovah – Shalom
The LORD our Peace.

Judges 6:24 “Then Gideon built an altar there unto the LORD, and called it Jehovahshalom: unto this day it yet in Ophrah of the Abiezrites.”

Principal of Shalom is fulfilled in the New Testament for peace:

John 14:27 “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” Jesus’s peace.

Jehovah – Shammah
The LORD is present.

Ezekiel 48:35 “ round about eighteen thousand : and the name of the city from day , The LORD there.”

Jehovah – Tsidkenu
The LORD our righteousness.

Jeremiah 23:6 “In his days Judah shall be saved, and Israel shall dwell safely: and this his name whereby he shall be called, THE LORD OUR RIGHTEOUSNESS.”

Jeremiah 33:16 “In those days shall Judah be saved, and Jerusalem shall dwell safely: and this wherewith she shall be called, The LORD our righteousness.”

Principal of Tsidkenu fulfilled in New Testament righteousness:

1 Corinthians 1:30 “But of him are ye in Christ Jesus, who of God is made unto us wisdom, and righteousness, and sanctification, and redemption:”

EL – Elyon
Most high God. To be elevated. It emphasizes God as the exalted, sovereign one.

Psalms 21:7 “For the king trusteth in the LORD, and through the mercy of the most High he shall not be moved.”

El – Gmulot
The God of recompense.

Jeremiah 51:56 “Because the spoiler is come upon her, upon Babylon, and her mighty men are taken, every one of their bows is broken: for the LORD God of recompenses shall surely requite.”

El – Olam
Everlasting God. (Olam means age, or hidden.)

Isaiah 40:28 “Hast thou not known? hast thou not heard, the everlasting God, the LORD, the Creator of the ends of the earth, fainteth not, neither is weary? no searching of his understanding.”

El – Roi
The God of sight – who keeps watch.

Genesis 16:13 “And she called the name of the LORD that spake unto her, Thou God seest me: for she said, Have I also here looked after him that seeth me?”

El – Shaddai
God Almighty. Two roots for the word: 1) to be powerful; and 2) breast, nourisher, sustainer.

Genesis 17:1 “And when Abram was ninety years old and nine, the LORD appeared to Abram, and said unto him, I the Almighty God; walk before me, and be thou perfect.”

0 thoughts on “THE NAMES OF GOD

1. JEHOVAH and any names starting with J should be re-evaluated; at the time the Hebrew alpha did not have any reference for “J”. Jah should be Yah and wherever there is a JEHOVAH, work with: Yahweh/Yahway or YHVH/YHWH…

Transliteration [errors] led to Jehovah.

In those day, the function opinion that the Creator’s name was so sacred that only a few if any should be permitted to utter His name and when writing his name, if it were to be misspelt, it should never be erased–draw a line through it. As time progress and due His different manifestations, the different names came into place.

His true name is ineffable…

2. When people become more spiritually enlightened, they’ll realize that God has one name “I Am that I am”…it’s a reason why. Because God is to be found in all of us, in everything, all the time.
    What that means is God is a creator and with your mouth you are an equal creator. That is why the bible goes on to say, “in the beginning was the word, and the word was with God and the word became God’. Also, “life and death are in the power of the tongue”.

They are all pointing in the same direction. Whatever you say after “I Am” so shall you become. For when you speak, you give live to your words and to your reality. That is why the Bible states that ‘God blew breath into man and gave him life”. You blow breath when you speak and give life to your words and existence and likewise, curse yourself and those around you.

No other name that is uttered for God is important. As he told Moses, “I AM THAT I AM”

1. Big applause@foxxy…..God is energy not human never was and is fragmented in all of us, the All is absolute and finite, unknowable and intangible ….we humanize HIM because we have no perception of HIM only of ourselves wher HE dwells!

1. Exactly @Obara….man created God in their own image. Which is why we’ve given him all those humanistic traits saying he’s a God of vengeance, jealousy, wrath and all the characteristics we possess. God is energy, the all powerful creative force and we have the ability to tap into that energy at every moment, if we understand how.

1. But foxy those energies if u put it like that will always break down into smaller energies that can come together collectively

1. I believe everyone relates to God differently but there is only one God and I would never discredit the Christian God because as I said before, many Africans are embracing Christianity because they see a look more man influence in the deities . Those priests did what they wanted to do with the power they had and a lot of bad things happened. That is what I am told

2. The Africans has always worshipped God, the same god as there is only one, the deities are intermediaries, same Africans indoctrinated by the missionaries will condemn their tradition with conviction while worshipping tradition behind closed doors, believe me I am here I see it every day nuh listen to dem they are great receivers, mi nuh sey dem nuh have true ones but most are liars and sell outs

1. @yep :peluk
        The bible is very powerful but we read it literally and miss the codes to navigate this plain. Not if how white people have a whole different vocabulary than use? See how black people curse themselves everyday even jokingly? Ya ediot man, frigging fool, bitch, bad man, man a shotta…. Potent.
        That’s why I keep a small circle and guard my child from people’s mouth. You know I heard a woman tell her little daughter , “she a guh turn stripper, yuh si how shi love dance”, and when I heard it, I heard that child and sent the words back to hell!
        Watch your vocabulary, it becomes your reality, just as much as your thoughts. It’s why most poor people stay poor.

3. I am not sure where my other posts when, the different names were used a lot the new translations to create ambiguity between the Father and the Son and it if for this reason why a lot of Christians praise He who was sent in lieu of the Sender…

Though Yeshua Hamashiach [Jesus Christ] professed on many of occasions that he was subordinate to the Greater Power by Whom He was sent…

4. Christianity was forced on the Africans during slavery to brainwash them enslave them and justify their inferiority even though they had their own spiritual systems in place, It hurts me to the core to
    See a bible beating Christian the othe day I told some Africans that Jesus was a black man and de whole ah dem bawl out abomination….so very sad!!

1. The sad thing about most Christians is that they don’t participate in critical thinking. If they were to, they would realize that they have been mostly taught contrived rubbish…

If an aspiring theologian were to embrace true Christianity, such as person would be permitted to preach under the auspice of the Catholic, Baptist, Nazarene, Methodist, Episcopal, et al, banner…

Churches are nowadays have more to do with following with a particular philosophy that is often times the antithesis of empirical Christianity…

As they have forsaken the World and embraced the law of the land…

2. @Obara, if you were a man I would marry you for that comment. Nothing angers me more! The Jehovah Witness mek mistake and knocked on my door, normally it gives me pleasure to tear them to shreds but few days ago, they turned up with an African woman proselytizing. Obara, the rage that engulfed me, you wouldn’t believe!
      I said, you damn moron! Aren’t these the very people who stole your land, your jewels, your riches, left you in poverty, starving, diseased stricken and handed you a damn bible in exchange? I said, they promised to heaven so they could steal Africa from you don’t you dare come to MY door with your brainwashed slavery mindset!

Her white counterparts were so embarrassed! Even after she left I was still fuming.
      The Anglican Church brought Christianity to Africa like they brought diseases and everything else and to see these people with superior DNA forget who they are is so painful to watch!

1. And when they go save all dem money to go to Mecca, if guy go round the stone just to be know as al haji the men or al haja the wome wid the damn silver teeth placed on their teeth top and bottom, the Saudi dem treat dem like shit, is fool we people dem fool so, in the name of these new religions….so god damn San, I have no respect for them

1. People don’t even know what’s going on in this world. You notice the media does not report on missing black children? Do you have any idea how many hundreds of thousands of black kids go missing in the US? Their organs and their melanin.
          And then these people bleach? Like seriously?
          Not knowing melanin protects you from diseases and is originated in the pineal gland. Why the government spray melanin in the atmosphere? You know Melanin is called God’s dust because it’s abundant in the universe,in plants and every living thing except the white mam?
          Why?????
          Genesis, that’s why. A lab, where genes were modified and people were created with mixed DNA. Gene-sis/Genes.
          That shit is very deep.

2. Foxxy ah maw in time dung yah dem wake up people from four wid dem blow horn a walk and ah preach and dem the mosque begin de call to prayer from five, over loud speaker, no good sleep….it hurt mi fi dem, they came to the front ah we compound de odds day wid de blow horn, de students just run dem

1. @Obara, I never really read any books on melanin but Assata Shakur has/had a blog with many reputable doctors and the like that offered insight and I disbelieved the information (did I say I have trust issues lol) but researched all the patents the US government has on melanin…I couldn’t believe it. One where they spray melanin in the atmosphere…
          I have to question where is this melanin being created, where is it coming from and just how do you produce synthetic melanin and is it really synthetic.

2. The book is in Harlem on the streets, the melanin code I forget the author but as with many of our book you will not find them in stores try the hue-man book store Harlem in this book this brother explains the real reason theW people hate and fear us, melanin

5. Goodnight, so sad indeed! I’ve come to realize that a lot of people no matter how educated they seem really think that the black race is inferior an try to distance themselves from their own selves, so sad to witness.

6. Lo @ lalibela you can know them by their names in their alphabet they have the letters c and z we Yorubas do not use c or z the star from 12years a slave is Igbo

1. @Naomi Campbell has never dated a black man. She’s more confused than anything else. When I lived in England, she did an add for a makeup company and she had to paint her face white..that was a long time ago and from then, I knew that girl had lost a few screws.

7. Goodnight met 🙂

God is not a secret that one should seek him out as if he is hidden in the minds of a chosen few. He has already created you unique in your very own image which mirrors His, likewise He will reveal the truth of himself in His own unique way to you. If you only ask and be patient for His answer. The truth will be known to you once you receive it because the spirit of God that lies in you will accept it, even if you cant explain it ! It will be a compelling force that you cannot deny.

8. I AM AMAZED BY THIS POST AND IS TRULY ENLIGHTENED BY MY SISTERS THAT ARE AWAKE …Am at awwwwwww to know that some of the ppl who visit this site are truly in tuned with self and as the old saying goes…to each one teach one….WAKE UP MY PPL WAKE UP