SO SAD R.I.P

Described by his peers as a budding soul, a tough nut, and kind-hearted, Oshnel Bryan had big dreams that he would be one of the most impactful leaders helping marginalised youth in a harsh Jamaican society.

In fact, young Bryan was well on the journey to fulfilling his dreams, having got himself involved in youth programmes and ventures, which gave him the opportunity to interface with those whom he aspired to help most.

However, his journey was cut short on Wednesday when cancer stopped him in his tracks.

Pepe, as he was fondly called, was diagnosed at the age of 17 with adult T-cell lymphoma, a rare and often aggressive form of cancer that can be found in the blood (leukaemia), lymph nodes, skin, or other multiple areas of the body

The first sign of what would be the beginning of his struggles appeared when Bryan noticed that he had begun drinking unusually large volumes of water.

He eventually developed a searing pain at the right side of his stomach, and his lymph nodes would become swollen for periods. His health condition was considered to have improved through chemotherapy treatment, but almost a year later, he was forced to accept the dreaded news that the cancer had returned.

Clinical Trial

He had two options: more chemotherapy or travel to the United States of America to participate in a clinical trial with new medicine developed to treat his rare disease. Bryan and his family, after much consideration, made the difficult decision to travel to the USA to participate in the trial.

It did not work out for Bryan, and like so many before him, he lost the battle.

Back home in Jamaica, he was known for his debating skills and his youth leadership enthusiasm. He was a former student of Kingston College and Wolmers’ Boys School. According to his peers, who spoke with The Gleaner yesterday, Bryan’s struggles appeared secondary to him as “his drive was to do as much as he could while he could”.

“It is as if he knew he didn’t have long,” Kriston Ashman said yesterday.

On Facebook, the tributes poured in as the reality that Pepe had lost his battle sank in.

“I just heard that my Friend Oshnel Bryan has passed away. He gave up the fight, but he knew God and was always positive. You will be missed. An outspoken, well-disciplined defender of the weak. A true optimist,” Nicholas Sanchez said.

9 thoughts on “SO SAD R.I.P

1. RIP young man, this world needs more people like you. They say the good die young, RIP Handsome. Father God please comfort and strengthen this family

2. Oh god!! My eyes are filled with tears…. sigh rest in peace young man. You are indeed an angel.

3. R.I.P. yute. A great loss to your famiy, peers and the nation. That T cell lymph a get prevalent. Just this morning me a look through some research on HTLV-1. Ppl unnu start get tested for it as it can be transmitted sexually, mother to child(the most common) its very serious and aggressive. A man drove himself to the hospital when I was there and by the following evening he was being rushed to the ICU and checks showed it was it. They actually call it HIV cousin so mek that sink in.

4. Well for the record Oshnel’s cancer started germinating when he was a child,he was hospitalized for several months as a baby. He was then released to his mom, the doctor told her he was not good but they don’t know what was wrong with him, but assured her he would be fine as he gets older. He has never been hospitalized or was he really sick until two years ago when he got sick and was first diagnosed with hodgkin lymphoma by the local doctors and later diagnosed with Adult T-Cell lymphoma.

Such a loss and he fought with all his might, but God loved him more and he knew God also and that is our consolation as a family that we will see him again and soon.