MONSIGNOR RICHARD ALBERT IS DEAD

richard-albert

Roman Catholic priest, Monsignor Richard Albert has died.

Albert, who was 69 years old, died in hospital Monday evening, hours after he complained about feeling ill.

Monsignor Albert joined the Catholic ministry in Jamaica 39 years ago after arriving here from New York.

He was instrumental in creating and facilitating the establishment of many social intervention projects like the St Monica’s Home for the Aged; The St Patrick’s Foundation and the Stella Maris Foundation.

In 2006, Albert drew spotlight on Christians in Jamaica, when he declared that “the church has lost its guts” by being reluctant to speak out against corruption and injustice in the country.

12 thoughts on “MONSIGNOR RICHARD ALBERT IS DEAD

1. Charity from your oppressors.The Catholic Church can eradicate poverty in the world if they wanted to.This guy is the real “God Father”from the movies.”None but ourselves can free our minds”

2. R.i.P boss priest n me nuh care what nobody want say ur ratings large! I give this man ratings cuz at the time when all over di world di scandals a buss n cover up bout di priests dem a molest di Lil boys,Jamaica name never call yet under Monsignor Albert leadership shift!!

3. 1980s BRIDGEPORT before portmore was a certified garrison…….RIP FATHER RICHARD. He served Jamaica from his heart ……..

4. I want to commend this man for what seems like really great work. However, being mindful of the modus operandi of Catholic priests, I am forced to be cynical.

He is a worldly priest and I can’t help but to think that other than drinking and smoking, he had other vices that he submitted to…