IAN BOYNE IS DEAD

Veteran journalist and deputy chief executive officer of the Jamaica Information Service (JIS) Ian Boyne is dead.

Boyne who was recuperating for some time after he was rushed to the University Hospital of the West Indies on Saturday, December 2, died this morning.

The highly respected and internationally acclaimed journalist whose career in all facets of media spans 30 years, was most known for his personality television series Profile — the longest running seasonal show on local television. It features successful and remarkable personalities, many of whom overcame significant hardships.

Profile celebrated 30 years this March, earning Boyne many accolades, including congratulations from Prime Minister Andrew Holness who said it was admirable that the programme, which represents “the power of good journalism”, was still on air when internationally, successful programmes rarely surpass 25 years.

Boyne, arguably a self-made success, published a book on the series in 2013 titled Profile of Excellence: Strategies for Extraordinary Achievement from 25Years of Interviewing Remarkable People’, co-written with author and motivational speaker Glenford Smith. At the time it was published, Boyne had already done 1,300 interviews on Profile.

The launch ceremony at King’s House on April 10, 2013 was peppered with high profile Jamaicans including then Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller, and former prime ministers Edward Seaga and Bruce Golding.

Boyne is also popularly known for a weekly unorthodox television show Religious Hardtalk, newspaper columns, and other writings. He has also published IdeasMatter, a compilation of some of his print media work.

Prime Minister Andrew Holness took to his official Twitter page to express condolences at the passing of Boyne saying, “It is with deep sadness that I acknowledge the death of veteran journalist and a true friend Ian Boyne. This is a shock to me. I will make a statement soon.”

17 thoughts on “IAN BOYNE IS DEAD

1. Man I feel so … i dont even know how to describe how I feel right now. I read an article where he released a statement last week I think telling the public thanks for their prayers and for the support. Now him gone ? I’m truly saddened.

2. He was dancehall culture/music fiercest critic.. That WAS the only issue I had with Him… but HE was truly an upstanding citizen and served our country very well.Rest in power legendary Ian Boyne.

1. Yardielovethug, was his criticism not valid in some if not all respects? We’ve got to be our own worst critic and I contend that those who are critical are the ones who love and care the most.

1. Then bredda Lalibela you have given credence to my very point.Ian was RIGHT in some respects but he presented a generalized/wholesale blame game on dancehall culture when it WAS merely a subset n microcosm of the ills of the wider Jamaican society.

Did you ever hear him hitting out against rap music and the Hollywood glorification of sex drugs n violence n ITs impact on the Yardies??What about all those karate shows… that’s violence too right!!? He was a true patriot n meant us well thus earning my respect.Whether in death or live though Ian isn’t above criticism because he was a champion n vanguard of freedom of expression!!Ian would want us to talk our minds n true feelings on any matter cuz he sure did. I KNOW this fact because I Met him n he said as much to US.

3. Have some class and lets leave it at RIP. This site has a tenancy to go digging up true and false dirt on the deceased.

RIP good sir.

4. Yardie, mi wan push u over the wall. You couldn’t just say he was an upstanding citizen who served our country well!!!!!!

1. No I couldn’t because then I wouldn’t be ME n YOU KNOW we don’t do the fake shyt ever pon this wall.Let me try a different angle n hopefully u will grasp my rationale ok Anon 2:21pm.

A loved one dies n you see someone crying.You go over n cheer dem up n tell them to smile because knowing the dearly departed..that is what they would have wanted..the person acknowledges that is true n u both smile..thus honoring the memory of y’all loved ones.Now Ian did religious hard talk,came under fire for the ppl he hosted on there.the traditional churches were in him skin… that’s what he n I spoke about when I met him n his response strengthened my belief in freedom of speech.He wanted n welcome ppl speaking their minds n handled criticism very well unlike me who usually tell any mr.man or ms woman Go SYM.We can learn a lot from Ian’s openness to allow contending views. I KNOW HE WOULD HAVE WANTED ME to keep it real..phuck being politically correct… I WILL ALWAYS say how I really feel on any issues, no filter…u have my Word!

5. RIP son of the soil! When I reach foreign soil, you were one of the persons via Profile who motivated me to return to school and start a new career