TRINIDAD SWEAR DEM A FARRIN

The Ja­maican man who was de­nied en­try at the Pi­ar­co In­ter­na­tion­al Air­port on Fri­day says he did not es­cape cus­tody and claimed he paid US$500 to an Im­mi­gra­tion of­fi­cer to se­cure his free­dom.

The 29-year-old man con­tact­ed with Guardian Me­dia on Sun­day and pro­vid­ed a pho­to of his Caribbean Air­lines board­ing pass from the flight BW415 from Kingston, Ja­maica to Trinidad as proof of his iden­ti­ty, his or­der of de­nial and a pho­to of the room he was be­ing kept in to cor­rob­o­rate his ac­count. The Air­ports Au­thor­i­ty stat­ed the sus­pect es­caped from im­mi­gra­tion and air­line se­cu­ri­ty of­fi­cers and left the air­port.

The man said he was stopped by Im­mi­gra­tion of­fi­cers from en­ter­ing the coun­try on Fri­day night but said there was no ba­sis for their re­fusal. He ad­mit­ted that he had been pre­vent­ed from en­ter­ing T&T on three pre­vi­ous oc­ca­sions and de­port­ed to Ja­maica as of­fi­cers claimed he had pend­ing crim­i­nal charges in Ja­maica.

“I do not have any pend­ing, pre­vi­ous or on­go­ing court mat­ters in Ja­maica. I am sim­ply try­ing to come here to be with my chil­dren and my girl­friend who is preg­nant.

“In Ja­maica, when you get re­fused en­try by an­oth­er coun­try, you have to go back through an Im­mi­gra­tion in­ter­view and a po­lice in­ter­view, if I had got caught try­ing to leave the coun­try with pend­ing mat­ters, I would have been ar­rest­ed al­ready in Ja­maica,” he said. While be­ing held in a room await­ing a flight back to Ja­maica, the man says he was vis­it­ed by an Im­mi­gra­tion of­fi­cer.

“He came up to me and asked me how much mon­ey I have on me. You have to de­clare your mon­ey when you come in, so he would have al­ready had an idea of how much mon­ey I had. When I told him, he said he did not un­der­stand why they are re­fus­ing me en­try to the coun­try and if I give him US$500, he would leave the door un­locked for me to leave.”

Asked whether he was not con­cerned about brib­ing an Im­mi­gra­tion of­fi­cer, he re­spond­ed: “I didn’t know it was a bribe. The thing is if it was a bribe, then I would of­fer him the mon­ey to let me out. He asked me for the mon­ey and told me he was feel­ing sor­ry for me and would leave the door open,” he said.

The man was sched­uled to be placed on a flight to Ja­maica on Sat­ur­day but when im­mi­gra­tion of­fi­cers went to check for him around 3.30 am, he could not be found.

Sources told the Sun­day Guardian that the men re­moved a ceil­ing tile and crawled through the air ducts to es­cape.

The man said a state­ment by the Air­ports Au­thor­i­ty that he es­caped from the room was com­plete­ly un­true.

“The door to that room needs a swipe pass and a PIN num­ber for the door to open. They have so many cam­eras in there, all they need to do is check the footage and they will see him in­side there talk­ing to me.

Ob­vi­ous­ly, they are set­ting me up, they took my mon­ey and told the po­lice I es­caped.” To make mat­ters worse, the man said he is phys­i­cal­ly un­able to run out of any­where as he has sev­er­al steel pins in his leg as a re­sult of an ac­ci­dent in Feb­ru­ary 2018 in Ja­maica.

“I can­not run or walk fast or climb over any­thing. I walk with a limp. He was told when the door would be un­locked and what time to leave. I didn’t know it was il­le­gal, I thought he was just help­ing me,” the man claimed.

The man said his rel­a­tives liv­ing in Trinidad be­came alarmed af­ter learn­ing that po­lice were search­ing for him and were un­will­ing to let him vis­it their homes.

He said the Im­mi­gra­tion of­fi­cer told him if he could come up with an­oth­er US$300 to­day, he would or­gan­ise for him to get back his pass­port, which was be­ing held by im­mi­gra­tion of­fi­cials.

The man said his next step is to meet with po­lice of­fi­cers of the St Joseph Po­lice Sta­tion.

“I spoke to a po­lice of­fi­cer and I arranged to meet him on Mon­day with a lawyer so I could tell them what re­al­ly hap­pened.”

Asked if he ex­pect­ed to be ar­rest­ed and de­port­ed af­ter his meet­ing with po­lice, he said, “I hope they don’t do that. I have been try­ing to come back to Trinidad on three dif­fer­ent oc­ca­sions and I re­al­ly want to be able to see my chil­dren and be with them.”

In a state­ment on Sat­ur­day, the Air­ports Au­thor­i­ty said the man “elud­ed” Im­mi­gra­tion and air­line se­cu­ri­ty of­fi­cials and ex­it­ed the air­port.

“The Au­thor­i­ty here­by con­firms that a Ja­maican na­tion­al, who was re­fused en­try in­to Trinidad and To­ba­go and await­ing a re­turn flight to Ja­maica, elud­ed Im­mi­gra­tion and air­line se­cu­ri­ty of­fi­cials and ex­it­ed the air­port.”

But the au­thor­i­ty said peo­ple who are re­fused en­try by Im­mi­gra­tion of­fi­cials be­come the re­spon­si­bil­i­ty of the air­line that brought them in­to the coun­try.

2 thoughts on “TRINIDAD SWEAR DEM A FARRIN

1. Travellers need to realize a country can deny them entry for any or no reason. In Dubai women have been denied entry for traveling solo, others for having wildly colored hair. In Sri Lanka ppl have been denied for having tattoos on Buddha on them which is considered highly disrespectful. In some parts of the ME you will not get entry if you have an Israel entry stamp in your passport.

I still believe Caricom does not serve Jamaica in any positive way. It simply opens up our market to other nations for money making opportunities that suit their bottom line. It is high time we start looking at an exit strategy. Going our own way will take some getting used to, but once it smooth out it will be better for us in the long run.

2. He needs to report it to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade. The current administration is very anti-Caricom and will make a “stink” about it. That is a good thing.