LUDE OFFENDER FROM THE U.S OFFERING FREE HUGS IN TRINIDAD

The man offering free hugs on the streets of San Fernando on Friday, is a convicted s*x offender who was deported from the United States.

Sean Dalipsingh, of Arima, said he was saddened by the spiraling rate of crime in Trinidad and Tobago and wanted to bring a smile on people’s faces by hugging them.

He held up a “Free Hugs” sign and offered passers-by hugs.

Dalipsingh said he was disappointed by the response, saying he was greeted with stares of disgust, and insults.

The unemployed man gave up at around midday and went home.

The Express later found out that Dalipsingh was deported from the United States in 2007, after spending three years in prison.

His name is listed as a s*x predator in Florida.

Dalipsingh, 30, confirmed the information in a telephone interview with the Express this afternoon.

He said, “I was living in the United States. There was an incident in 2004 where I was charged with an offence and spent three years in jail. After that I was deported.”

Asked to provide details of the offence, Dalipsingh said, “It was a s*xual offence involving a juvenile. I have a son from that incident. It is a long story which I don’t want to get into because of my son.”

Dalipsingh began his free hugs campaign two weeks ago in Port of Spain.

He said, “That is why I am doing this. I want people to know that people can change. I want to make a difference.”

Dalipsingh said he would continue spreading his love in Chaguanas, Arima and back in Port of Spain.

Asked about whether it was unlawful for someone to solicit a hug, criminal defence attorney Kevin Ratiram told the Express: “If you hug people, even with their consent but does it for the purpose of s*xual gratification, it could constitute as indecent assault. However having regard that it is a hug, it will be difficult to prove that is the reason for which one is doing it.”

He also said: “If there is unwanted touching of a s*xual nature it could constitute as indecent assault. If force was applied that could constitute battery. When touching is done with consent and it is non s*xual in nature no offence has been committed.”

5 thoughts on “LUDE OFFENDER FROM THE U.S OFFERING FREE HUGS IN TRINIDAD

1. He refer to the rape of a juvenile as a “incident”…which he doesn’t want to talk about..smfh

2. more time young gal lie bout dem age an truth come wen dem catch belly an lock up man weh 18+ fi statutory rape child endangerment weh man get lable sex offendar