CUBA IS AHEAD OF THE GAME WITH NEW LUNG CANCER DRUG

cimavax

CimaVax a vaccine treatment to treat small cell lung cancer that has been in development in Cuba over twenty-five years. The drug has been available in Cuba since 2011.
The vaccine is said to target a protein called epidermal growth factor (EGF). The protein which occurs in the body naturally cases cells to grow and divide by attaching to a receptor protein on the cell surface. Cancers causes the cells to grow and divide uncontrollably. EGF stimulates immune response and encourages the body to make antibodies that recognize and bind to EGF shutting off the signal that tells the cancer to grow and divide. In essence, CimaVax slows the growth of the cancer.
Amid talks with the U.S government New York’s governor, Andrew Cuomo visited the island in April and has promised to introduce the drug to the U.S market. CimaVax has said to have been used to treat over 5,000 patients worldwide and is said to cost $1 to make. The latest trial of the drug that involves a study of 405 patients has not yet been published but earlier studies have found no significant side effects.

0 thoughts on “CUBA IS AHEAD OF THE GAME WITH NEW LUNG CANCER DRUG

1. All of a sudden we are learning that:
    1. Cuba has a lung cancer vaccine
    2. Cuba has become the first country in the world to eliminate mother to infant hiv/syphillis infection.

why haven’t we heard anything positive about Cuba before?
    This is why you never let the government tell you who your enemies are. smdh

1. Dem waa medicine yah now man but I hope the Castros have their thing set up right because the U.S will want to control Cuba again

2. This is not the first I am hearing of Cuba making great strides in medicine. It maybe that the media did not share it, but they have always been way ahead.

1. It’s not the first time you or I have heard it, however, it’s the first time it’s being spoken of in the mainstream media. The point is, no that we are looking to normalize relations with Cuba, they are releasing such advancements by Cuba while before all they did was demonize them.
        Cuba offers many academic and medical programs for free to citizens all over the world while the US doesn’t even offer free community college.
        Implicit in my initial statement is the idea that, we must always conduct independent research and not depend on mainstream media or government propaganda to dictate the narrative about other countries or peoples.

2. All these advancements in the medical field in Cuba has played a major role in the US government decision to stabilize relationship with Cuba. I am however happy that Cuba is getting the recognition it is so deserving for a very poor country in the Caribbean.

1. Big up Castro str88888…U.S waa run in now because cancer nah play roun here..I hope they dont try to take advantage

3. True met…Big up Castro str888..long time we know that bout Cuba. Best doctors in the world. They know better..u see how long Cuba hold out on dem. More Caribbean countries need to be like Cuba.

1. But look how Cuba survive pan little and nothing and they were able to focus on these things..What has Jamaica been doing with the IMF money? They had a good drug one time fi glaucoma and the man whey mek it died and that was the end of it..Jamaica wutliss bad..

4. Not only that…they doctors and teachers are all over the English speaking Caribbean helping out. They are still able to offer tons of student from the Caribbean scholarships to study engineering etc. I never paid any attention to the propaganda being spewed about Cuba. I believe the crooked politicians are the ones who are benefiting from the IMF money. My husband believe the only hope for Jamaica right now is socialism.

1. The U.S nah go allow that because Jamaica already owe them too much. Cuba has given literacy help also to many Spanish speaking countries. Which other Caribbean country send doctors go help in the ebola crisis ? Jamaica whey should be in a better place did not. Trinidad did not..Only Cuba..Mi nuh believe U.S propaganda at all, Cuomo couldn’t wait fi run go find out bout the vaccine ..embassies a open now all of a sudden :ngakak .. These ”world police” really not easy . If I dont respect Castro for anything I respect him for standing up against them and keeping his beliefs, not falling victim to the U.S. /UN.

5. Castro send the mafia and corrupt politicians packing after the revolution and that caused all the propaganda against him.The respect I have for President Fidel Castro is way above everyone else.This man made a lot of sacrifice for the black race.

6. Lung cancer has a very high mortality rate and Cuba can make an effective drug fi $1. Imagine if a US drug company had created this, only the rich would be able to afford it.

Castro, history will absolve you sir. You keep a whole country of 12 million ppl alive and healthy with nutten. Had Jamaica continued a strong alliance wid Cuba it would be a far different country than it is today. Likkle Cuba a spearhead medicine and science, so proud a dem. Is fi unno time fi shine, shine and blind dem bloodclaat Cuba. I pray Haiti can grow and come to something great as well. Haiti need a strong and Godly leader.

1. I say it all the time..They practically starved Cuba and now them haffi bow…What if Jamaica had used the money given to them for the good of the people ,how far would we reach? Respect ALWAYSSSSSSSSSS TO FIDELLLLLLLLLL