DIED AFTER COSMETIC SURGERY

A married mother of two died after undergoing a popular cosmetic surgery in Miami.

A family member of Nikisha Lewis tells the NBC 6 Investigators the 32-year-old traveled from her home in Antigua to Spectrum Aesthetics on Monday to undergo a liposuction procedure.

Someone at Spectrum dialed 911 around 5:30pm Monday stating Lewis had stopped breathing and paramedics rushed her to the hospital. Medical Examiner reports show Lewis was pronounced dead approximately two hours later.

Lewis was an immigration officer for the airport on the island of Antigua, a wife, and a mother to two children. Family members did not want to speak on camera but told the NBC 6 Investigators they were devastated by the sudden loss and are anxious to hear her exact cause of death.

The Miami Dade Medical Examiner’s Office said the cause of death could not be determined immediately after the autopsy and it could take weeks to find out the exact reason Lewis died.

The procedure was performed by Dr. Rami Ghurani. His attorney, Julie Ingle, sent NBC 6 Investigators the following statement: “Our deepest condolences go out to the patient’s family. Dr. Ghurani is deeply saddened by the loss of his patient and offers his thoughts and prayers during this difficult time. We are unable to provide any details on the patient’s care and treatment due to privacy laws; however, Dr. Ghurani provided the highest level of care as he does with all patients.”

An attorney for Spectrum Aesthetics, Kubs Lalchandani, also said he could not comment on specifics about what happened due to privacy laws but he also released a statement: “Our prayers go out to the patient’s family and loved ones. Spectrum Aesthetics is a proud member of the South Florida community and is committed to upholding the highest standards of medical care and patient safety. Spectrum is conducting a comprehensive investigation into the matter and is cooperating with state officials to determine the cause of the incident.”

The NBC 6 Investigators found Lewis is one of 10 women who died after cosmetic surgery in our area in the past six years. Those are the deaths NBC 6 Investigators were able to track down through public records and information from family. Doctors and clinics are not required to disclose deaths to the public.

19 thoughts on “DIED AFTER COSMETIC SURGERY

1. I am so sad that such a beautiful woman still felt the need to pursue perfection, and now she’s gone….. rip

2. RIP sorry to hear . My gyn said we must do a lot research before comestic surgery and get a medical clearance from your primary care doctor. It’s not safe to just go anywhere go get plastic surgery without your medical history know to a plastic surgeon.

3. Some women just won’t satisfy with their looks, lose a life just for a bigger arse or bigger tits. .
    Quite vain, guess they are all running a competition who can look the best without calculating the risk…
    Sad to see many humans have lost their way to life…

1. And if yu si her pic in full all she had to do was work off a little of her mid section and none of her family knew what she was doing

4. Mi sorry fi di kids das all……from reading di story sounds like har life was ok… husband,job,kids… wah more yuh want? fi go have flat belly fi go show off…. A tuh much money some a hunnu a mek fi can squanda fi go unda knife…. one mistake gal loose har life… dead leff har kids fi foo linish mi naw look! everthing cant be perfect….mi cool wid ppl a fix dem teeth and dem tings but fi go try fix weh nuh bruk…..come again….insecurities is a madaf**ka.

5. All these women striving for perfection..not worth it.
    Believe me when I say that ghe gym is the best place to start.
    Going to the gym makes you look good and feel good.I could go on and on about what exercise does for the mind and body.
    Rip lady.

6. She was a good looking girl, pretty. If she did know, sad because she is gone now. Really sad to c that she left behind her children, Husband and love ones. Sometimes we fi satisfy, we want too much sometimes. (Women) when we age our faces and bodies will change, it’s a natural part of life that we must embrace. Rip Mama

7. Spectrum has had so many deaths. They are probably gonna change the clinic name again, smdh! And for those saying negative things about her, stfu!!!! If u have the money and want to do a little nip and tuck why not? I’m just saddened this doll didn’t do her research on spectrum. R.I.p. beautiful. Not everyone that has plastic surgery is doing it to be in dancehall or for other people. We do it to look in the mirror and feel good about ourselves. I had a TT and lipo, and it was the best decision I ever made. I can now put on my clothes and feel good about myself. And I live in the gym before I decided to go that route.

8. Even though I qualify for a govt paid survey I have not pursued it almost ten years now. Every surgery is a risk. Not every surgeon and anesthesiologist is good. She is not the first person died from lipo. Sad that she had to die, at least she felt no pain. They do have injections to dissipate the fat for those who don’t want surgery.

9. Listen I’ve had surgery and the only person im in competition is, is with myself. She knew the risks we all do going into surgery. I feal for the loved one’s left behind, but stop chritasising her. We don’t have any idea what her back story is and that’s her business. Surgery isn’t for every granted. But investing in me is money well spent. Rip beautiful lady.

10. So vanity took her to her death? I’m sorry but unless there is a medical requirement for these types of procedures, people should leave well alone. It’s not worth it. Mothers, please be proud of your distended belly and flat breasts as a result of having kids. Many women can’t have or leave it too late. I am sure her husband and kids wouldn’t love her any less for a bit of extra weight. Sad.

1. …. and the obsession continues. Why not send in the story as you normally do? Your entire life revolves around Nicole, Leanclean and their family. Don’t you have anything else to do with your time Hood Rat Simone?

No wonder you cannot breed. You should look into adopting so you have something to occupy your time and take your mind off other people’s business. Some psychological counselling might help also with your obsessive-compulsive mental disorder.

1. Anon she odsessed with Nicole and you obsessed with Simone……leave Simone alone mek she fling the people them business a road man cho…….tru my man no deh ya a ova ya mi come get mi kicks a day time and I’m sure if somebody no send it een sumady else a go dweet so low har mek she rinse cause this site keeps me sane mama and you wouldn’t want me to go chopping off peoples head now cause I ain’t have Jack shit to do…….

11. Not to negative, but let the dead look after the dead. But can you imaging as beautiful as this woman looks on the picture above, she who sees all types of rich man come on the island and plan to user her new curves to lure them away..she paid a high price for beauty..
    May her soul find peace. I hope they bury her on in a clear casket to show what she died for. Plastic surgery is very dangerous..I’m no hippocrit,I’ve done multiply surgeries myself and yes it’s very very very very scary.

MOST WOMEN WHO DO SURGERIES, WE SAY IS FOR US BUT IT’S A LIE..WE DO IT FOR ACCEPTANCE FROM OTHERS.

12. Millions of surgeries are performed daily all over the world only a small percentage dies
    Do your research and don’t go cheap..
    Go to reputable place even if you pay twice as much