U.S PROBING THE DEATH OF JAMAICAN SERVICE MEMBER IN KUWAIT

A few details are now emerging concerning the death of a Jamaican serving in the American military in Kuwait last Tuesday.

The New York Daily News is reporting that Sergeant Hughton Brown, 43, was on his second deployment when he died on Nov. 14 at Camp Buehring, a base along the Iraq border.

The newspaper said the Defense Department did not disclose the circumstances of Brown’s death, only saying the incident was under investigation.

But his family in Jamaica had previously disclosed that the military told them he collapsed and died during a two-mile jog with colleagues.

Brown arrived in Kuwait in August as a maintenance supervisor in support of Operation Freedom’s Sentinel in Afghanistan.

“We express our deepest sympathies to the family and friends of Sergeant 1st Class Hughton Oneil Brown,” Army Reserve Command said in a statement.

“Our thoughts and prayers are with them as they mourn the loss of a loved one. We’ve lost a valuable member of our team and he will be sorely missed,” the statement added.

Sergeant Brown was assigned to the Army Reserve’s 306th Engineer Company, 411th Engineer Brigade based out of in Farmingdale, L.I.

He joined the Army in August 1997 and was deployed to Iraq in November 2002 on an eight-month tour.

He attended Wolmer’s Boys’ School in Jamaica before migrating to the United States.

“A role model and a mentor for many soldiers, even for those not in his beloved maintenance team, he was sought out for his wisdom and knowledge,” said Capt. John Hasselius, the commander of the 306th Engineer Company.

5 thoughts on “U.S PROBING THE DEATH OF JAMAICAN SERVICE MEMBER IN KUWAIT

1. Yuh know sumting wrong when family already hear cause a death but investigation still a gwan. Dont trust di military nuh more.

2. Well, good thing he lived a honorable life, his family should always be proud of him. Kuwait a hot place, and many ppl have unknown heart conditions, jogging is not a simple exercise, especially if you jogging on concrete, you can rock your heart out a place. There was also some middle eastern flu bug that was killing off ppl a few years back, not sure if it still active. RIP.

3. I am all of the above and more. Bug off then come back and apologise when we find out what caused his death, okay?