U.S A GET INVOLVED INA JAMAICA- CHINA RELATIONS

In stinging criticism of the Holness administration’s warming relationship with Beijing, United States Ambassador Donald Tapia has urged the Government to be wary of China’s deepening footprint in Jamaica, citing the Asian country’s lavish investment pitch as predatory and dangerous.

Tapia, who arrived in Jamaica in August, has shelved the diplomatic subtlety of recent US ambassadors, even using his Twitter account as a launching pad for invective against Chinese neo-imperialism at least four times last week, much in the mould of his boss, President Donald Trump.

“China is a dragon with two heads. If China came to Jamaica presumably with no strings attached, then why did you negotiate 1,200 acres of the most prime real estate with them? Because they need a return on their investment,” the ambassador said during an exclusive interview with The Gleaner.

“There is no way that you will be able to fund that highway in 50 years. The negotiation was 1,200 of the most beautiful acres on the water that you gave to China, and they said they would develop it,” he added, referring to a land swap deal agreed under the predecessor Simpson Miller administration.

Tapia also cast Chinese financing at a rate of two per cent, through its Export-Import Bank, as contrived, arguing that no bank in capitalistic societies offered such uncompetitive rates. He also denounced as unfair the Jamaican Government’s concessions to China Harbour Engineering Company – and other construction firms aligned to Beijing that engage in major infrastructure projects – a missive that will hit the Holness administration and find favour with local engineers and developers who have lamented that they are often unable to bid for contracts because the Chinese have a leg up on the market.

The US ambassador scolded China for its appetite as part of a geopolitical game of chess, centred, he said, on extracting natural resources with ulterior motives, including in a hemisphere long viewed to be America’s backyard.

“When they (China) go into a country, they go after two things – the minerals and the ports. I could tell you horror stories of countries where they have taken over the ports because those countries could not pay for their investment; China usually has a great propaganda story as to why it has happened,” Tapia told The Gleaner.

“When America invests in the energy and education sectors, we are building a long-lasting effect and will contribute to stability and help to stem the brain drain. Those who talk about free speech, free enterprise and human rights are forgetting that those three things go together with Jamaicans, who are freedom-loving people, and one day, the chickens will come home to roost. So, take all you can from them, but remember that the West is standing there with you.”

Prime Minister Andrew Holness, who returned on the weekend from a eight-day tour of China in which he engaged in investment talks with President Xi Jinping and was regaled with musical performances and city tours, is expected to give details today, in the House of Representatives, on his travels, including plans for increased logistical and trade ties.

Meanwhile, Curtis Ward, former Jamaican ambassador and deputy permanent representative to the United Nations, told The Gleaner yesterday that America had telegraphed its displeasure with Sino-Jamaican pacts since the visit by then Secretary of State Rex Tillerson in February 2018.

“We shouldn’t be surprised. It has been going on for two years. Since that time, clearly, Jamaica has not paid attention to what the US has said, but has foraged ahead with its developments,” he said.

But Ward, who is an adjunct professor at the University of the District of Columbia, said that Washington should state whether it would fill the vacuum if Jamaica were to pull back from China.

Jamaica has benefited from billions of dollars in Chinese investment over the last decade, ranging from the divestment of the sugar industry, forays into bauxite mining, to major infrastructural projects such as the Edward Seaga Highway, and road expansion in urban and rural centres.

Chinese loans represent about 3.9 per cent, or $78 billion, of Jamaica’s $2-trillion debt.

On Sunday, Jamaica House announced that the Government would not take out any new loans with the Chinese, preferring instead to pursue private-public partnerships and facilitate direct firm-to-firm pacts.

“What is quite instructive is that the message is reaching the prime minister. The statement clarifying that we are not going to have China coming in with loans, changing the dynamics,” said Ward in reference to Holness’ decision to put a pause on loans.

Ward said, however, that Jamaica should not kowtow to foreign powers.

“This is in our national interest why we’re doing this. We’re smart enough to know what’s good for us. I don’t think we have the guts to say these things. Either you’re a sycophant or you stand on your feet. I’m not saying Jamaica should pick a fight with the US, but Jamaica should speak power to the US,” said Ward.

9 thoughts on “U.S A GET INVOLVED INA JAMAICA- CHINA RELATIONS

1. “But Ward, who is an adjunct professor at the University of the District of Columbia, said that Washington should state whether it would fill the vacuum if Jamaica were to pull back from China.”

1. I rather the Chinese over America. The United States has hit the glass ceiling and their global political power, under this clown, as fallen under mistrust.

America forget dem ruin WE economically over 4 decades ago?

Portia and craven patterson fuck we when dem hide and deal with China. But I rather the new super power. We need China work ethics and law enforcement. Make and export under the right negotiators could be beneficial.

Tapia suspect too…

2. Any one that think china’s interest in jamaica is genuine a moron.sorry. the Chinese maine goal in jamaica is to have close proximity to the US. Those liky liky jamaican who are impressed with the roads being built by the Chinese should be ashamed that you are so easily fooled. The Jamaican government has paid them for the work, nothing is free.they got land and they are also collecting from the tolls which extends to the next fifty years.
    For all those who are brained wash by the Chinese, don’t you see that China is a communist dictatorship? They practice human rights violation without any apology.
    Do you really believe that the governments of the west would be concerned about the Chinese and Russians without cause? These two nations will be together as allies should there be a war. And the west would be on the other side who support democracy and human rights.
    There is no way Jamaica can be careless enough to put herself in a position where it seems as if she is supporting a communist regime. This would be deadly, economically and life threatening for its citizens.
    Whether or not most of you agree, Jamaica is a English speaking country, with close historical ties to the UK and recently, to the US. These ties are Jamaica’s warm blanket in terms of genuine protectors.

If Jamaican Government wants to start believing the hype and think that they can do whatever they please, which might be seen as if she is putting the security of the west in jeopardy, she has another thing coming.
    To those of you who also think that the jamaica government in a position to do as they please and support it , makes you bigger fools.
    Jamaica is a little island with little resources, the only real importance of jamaica that is truly recognises away from the strategic position it is situated in is, the music, rastafarism and the quality of Marajuana.
    Why do you think it has such a big tourism industry? Who are the main employer? Is it not the Hotels and guest houses?
    What kind of bargaining power does jamaica has that cannot be got elsewhere?
    People are confusing Jamaica’s popularity and foolishly thinking that it has any real bargaining power to do as it pleases. No, international politics and treaties do not work like that. Most are thinking on a local island government level. You have to expand your minds internationally. Because that is the reality. And the reality is, as jamaica depends on outside assistance for it to continue to prosper, there are certain rules that the government will have to adear to or suffer the consequences. They truly cannot afford not to.
    Jamaica is so small that it would take nothing for her to be wiped off the map totally, should she go against the UK or USA should there be a world conflic.
    There would be the possibility, that Jamaicans who are living abroad in those countries and also the countries that are allies, would be expelled back to jamaica, after all they would be classed as enemies, who want enemies in there homes?
    So people don’t believe the Chinese hype. Jamaica is just a pawn in the Chinese hands to be used as a toy, via the corrupted jamaican government and opposition who are being bought for pennies, that the average citizen will not see any improvements in their lives and hence the countries economic starvation.
    It is through this epidemic corruption why when the Chinese seems to be doing something that past and present government neglected to do, for instance building roads, why the citizens are so grateful and as a result thinks the Chinese are the best thing since slice bread.People unno wake up and smell the coffee.

Please I want to make it clear that I do recognised the important work that jamaican doctors, educators, nurses and university student studying and others contributes to our country, and was not included in my statement about what resources jamaica had to offer.

1. And the roads are not even great. Marcus Garvey is full of pools of water when it rains. One can easily hydroplane. The French did a much better job with the Portmore Toll Road. I have also heard of several incidents of people hydroplaning on the toll road from Kingston to the North.

2. I am sure when slave revolts were being whispered and planned the rebels were called morons…lol

The same reason YOU point out, the water ways (I addressed that elsehwere) is the only reason america gives a flying fuck about the southern regions. Cargo have to come through de…and war ships can ease right through it and head north.

Jamauca MuST look out for its damn self and function like Sweden…

3. @10.26
    Which sensible country would allow another nation to come into their country to provide security? The Defence department is the most important thing in any country. Allowing outsiders to do so, is setting up itself for a coupe.
    Go and start demonstrating against your government about the high rate of crime and their seemingly inaction. Leave party politics out of it and let them know that if they don’t start making changes they will lose your votes.
    Politicians are voted in, and they can be voted out. That is if your government don’t become a dictatorship, where you won’t be able to vote at all.