TOYA GOT A FAIRWELL LIKE LADY DIANA

TOYA-1-Optimized

ACD_4041-Optimized
AS the white hearse pulled up to the Hagley Park Seventh-day Adventist Church in Kingston yesterday, scores of mourners and fans gathered to get a final glimpse of entertainer Latoya ‘Toya’ Jackson.

She was a fashionista to the end. The singjay was clad in a short white dress with white stockings and stilettos.

Jackson died in the United States in May from diabetic complications. The 30-year-old had been ailing for nearly two years.

Josef Bogdanovich, her husband and CEO of Downsound Records, clutched their son Joseph, as he stared at Jackson’s body.

‘Joe Loves You’ and ‘Boss Lady Toya’ were some of the words on the numerous wreaths placed by her casket.

When officiating minister Bishop Dr GG Cooper began the service, it was a mixture of tears and laughter as those closest to Toya reflected on her life.

Her songwriting partner and close friend, Black Pearl, gave a tearful tribute.

“She was one of the best souls I have every met. She was fun-loving and she asked me to be her give-away father at her wedding. She was very straight-foward but very forgiving, and I know that her soul is safe as she got baptised before she passed away. She just slept away,” he said.

Members of the congregation were moved to tears as singer Carlene Davis offered words of comfort through the song Been Through Enough.

Throughout the service, Bogdanovich was a picture of grief. Toya’s mother, Crystal Gayle, sought comfort in prayer for her only daughter.

Kingsley Cooper, CEO of Pulse, delivered the eulogy. He described Toya as a “meaningful lady, who had a inner wisdom and insight”.

“She was a dancehall fashionista who always looked out for those she loved. She was very vigilant when it came on to her husband. Whenever Joe would visit Washington Gardens and other places she would call his chief of security to ensure he was OK. Joe didn’t know that, but she always did,” he said.

Cooper said that while Toya got a ‘fight’ from other women in the industry, she remained focused.

“Toya was dancehall. She recorded over 20 songs for Downsound Records and worked hard at promoting her fashion brand,” Cooper said.

Delano Graham, cousin of the deceased, concurred with Cooper, saying that ‘Toya was always the vibes of the party’ who was a ‘mother figure’ in his life.

Tributes also came from dancehall artiste Harry Toddler, who said “Toya’s death reunited the Downsound Records camp”. Among the mourners were Ninja Man, Fantan Mojah, British Link Up’s Owen ‘Roy Fowl’ Clarke, and Supreme Promotion’s Isaiah Laing.

Interment followed at Dovecot Memorial Park in St Catherine.

0 thoughts on “TOYA GOT A FAIRWELL LIKE LADY DIANA

1. Awesome! I know you’re pleased Met. Great testament to who she was as a person. Rest on pretty lady. Kudos to Joe for going all out for her final celebration.

1. I am but more pleased that her mom held up well. There is solace in knowing your loved one is gone to a good place. I will try to get a video later today, she had a chariot of flowers

2. Joe is a good man. Toya may your soul rest in peace. You had life people dream of. Is money a blessing or a curse?
    Gone too soon

3. Still caan believe seh Toya dead all this time mi a think seh a good life she was living why me nuh hear nothing
    May her soul rest in peace

4. The only thing in life that is inevitable is death, but it’s always sad when some people are taken so soon whether we know them or not. So farewell Toya!! Only God knows why he had to take you so early.

Met, good to know you got the chance to be there for a dear friend. Seeing these pictures really sink those thoughts that she’s really gone for good. R.I.P Toya.

5. Mettyyyyyyy
    Ur girl went home in fine style. The streets of St Johns Road leading up to Dovecot was lined with ppl staring and waving. She had one carriage full of flowers. And Brightlight took out their best Limos . Ppl stared in awwww Metty. Jamaica has never seen anything like that. Joe pulled out all stops. When she got to Dovecot the bands gave her an hour tribute. SIP Toya.

6. I’m glad she went away in style because she loves details and was all about style. She will be better off with God and she will feel no more pain. The man did love the young lady, and people must stop bash girls who date white men. This man is a good man.

7. Bless up Metty and Jmg FAM! Met I really how you get the video of the marching band sendoff at Dovecot. It sell off! Beautiful farewell to a beautiful queen

8. anyone see her son? staring at her body in the casket? look at the little fellow in thst pic.. omg he might think she is sleeping.. my heart is broken all over again

9. Hey Mety, checking in from across the 7 seas again as you know the wifi in these places are not so reliable. I am so glad to know that you as her close friend and family members had a great send off. Sharing my well wishes and blessings.

1. Thank you for passing through :peluk
      I am sure she would be happy with the send off it was spectacular

10. We can’t complain about her send off rip mi dear beloved cousin sleep baby sleep the one person I was most worried about held on the strongest mommy Chris
    met I’m still her were just reminiscing but met u good