TEEF SEH IT WAS A HOUSE INVASION AND HIM NEVA TINK IT DID A GUH STATIO

Robber told cop it was an invasion after breaking into man’s house

There was non-stop laughter in the Kingston and St Andrew Parish Court last Friday when the court heard that a robber, after breaking into a businessman’s house and stealing $250,000 worth of goods, told the police when he was held that: “It was a house invasion and mi never think it a go station.”

Scrap metal worker Osbourne Parchment, 29, of Hannah Street in Kingston, was arrested and charged with simple larceny and burglary.

The complainant had locked his house and left on September 7, but returned the following morning at 5:30 to find his window open and his goods missing.

Following an investigation, Parchment was arrested.

Oshane Myers, otherwise called Dummy,who said he bought a fan for $1,000 from Parchment, was also arrested and charged with receiving stolen property.

When the men appeared in court both pleaded guilty to the charges before Senior Parish Judge Chester Crooks.

The judge then asked the men if they had any previous charges and Parchment, who was in a jovial mood, said he could not remember.

He was then asked if he had any ongoing cases before the court and he said: “I don’t really member if mi have any case.”

The judge then stated that he thought that Parchment should be remanded for psychiatric evaluation after Parchment’s answers to his questions were accompanied by his caution statement about the “house invasion”.

“For a man who come out of prison 2015 , I can’t understand why you smiling so much,” Judge Crooks said.

Parchment quickly interjected: “Nothing nuh wrong with mi. Mi no need no psychological evaluation,” while disclosing that he had served time before in prison and was released in 2015.

“It is either this man not in touch with reality or he is just acting crazy, “ Judge Crooks said.

“Any of you ever go doctor fi yu head?” the judge further probed.

“No,” they both answered.

“You smoke any weed this morning?” the judge continued.

Myles quickly said no, while Parchment said: “No really.”

“Whey you fi get weed?” the judge asked Parchment, while further questioning his sanity.

But Parchment declared: “Nothing nuh wrong wid mi … is that when mi come court and dem remand it really knock mi.”

Parchment then admitted that he had broken into the complainant’s house but claimed that he did it because the complainant had stolen his things. He said that he was deeply sorry and admitted that he should not have “taken so many things”.

He told the court that the complainant was not a saint.

“Him stole my things and me stole from him, but what wi tek it’s like it is too much and me as a youth run back some of his things, but him never get back all a it.

“To be honest, mi shouldn’t take anything from him, but we are deeply sorry and him get back some of the things,” Parchment said.

He then told the court that he was willing to work and pay for what was missing, but the complainant said that, out of his four barrels of goods, which could stock a mini store, he only got back a picture frame, his cellular phone, a fan and a DVD player.

Myers, for his part, said he was not involved in the theft.

“A sleep mi a sleep and this man come wake me up and say ‘Dummy, whey yu want?’ Gimme $1,000 for this’. And mi pay him fi the fan and three day later police come and lock me up,” he stated.

The complainant then told the court that Parchment was lying about him stealing his things and that he had broken into his house seven times.

“I never stole anything from this man. What he is saying is a lie,” the complainant said.

He also told the court that Parchment, when he was arrested, said he was going to plead guilty and serve a year or two in prison and then come out and enjoy the things that he had stolen.

“Is more than one time him break inna the man house. Him go in deh and thief two flat screen televisions but the matter was not reported,” Myers chimed in.

But Parchment said: “A neva mi.”

The judge then asked Myers if he had been to court before and he said that this was his second timet.

“What were you charged for?” the judge asked.

Parchment then interjected by saying: “Rape. Him charge fi rape mi neice.”

“No! Nothing like that,” Myers countered.

“It’s for a phone. What him a talk bout; that happen from me a nine,” he added.

“Mi no wa hear nothing bout that, me waa hear bout the other case that you had in court,” the judge told him.

Myers then explained that he was charged with stealing a cellular phone after he took up a handset that was left at a restaurant, but that the case ended about a year ago.

The judge then gave Myers a six-month sentence, suspended for three years.

“You see what bad company brings,” he said to Myers.

At that point Parchment said: “A nuh me him buy the fan from, a dat me a try get to.”

However, Judge Crooks told him that he was going to remand him for psychiatric evaluation out of an abundance of caution.

The matter was then set for mention on November 22.

4 thoughts on “TEEF SEH IT WAS A HOUSE INVASION AND HIM NEVA TINK IT DID A GUH STATIO

1. Sometimes yuh have to really tek bad things mek joke!
    The rape thing is no joke though,so cops need to investigate and if guilty punish him beyond the full extent of the law!Bump him off or get the inmates to Dweet!