SWIPING AND GUM DISEASE

S*x Warning From A Dentist – Expert Fears That Oral S*x Could Be Causing Problematic Gum Disease In Jamaica

Researchers at the Montego Bay, St James-based International Postgraduate Medical College (IPMC) are raising concern that the practice of oral s*x in Jamaica could be responsible for the outbreak of a gum disease which is proving challenging to treat.

This comes weeks after the World Health Organisation warned that oral s*x is producing dangerous gonorrhoea, and a decline in condom use is helping it to spread.

Dr Christopher Ogunsalu, senior lecturer in anatomy in the Department of Basic Medical Sciences at the University of the West Indies, who was part of a study carried out by the IPMC team, said the local concerns follow extended research.

“Two years ago, we commenced a study at IPMC relating to the health and diseases of the gum in Jamaica,” said Ogunsalu.

“The study revealed that more than 85 per cent of patients requesting dental cleaning have severe gum bleeding with no evidence of periodontal pathologic pockets (when the supporting tissue and bone around the teeth is destroyed),” added Ogunsalu.

He said the persons showing up with the problematic gum disease did not fit the profile of the persons who would normally be inflicted by periodontitis – inflammation around the tooth.

“It is of significance that the majority of these patients were under the age in which periodontal disease (infections of the structures around the teeth, which include the gums) is prevalent,” argued Ogunsalu, who made it clear that more research needs to be done.

“The majority of these patients visited dentists annually for dental cleaning. When compared with the period 1993 to 2013, when dental decay was more prevalent …, it is obvious that nothing has changed in the diet or habit of the patient other than their oral s*xual habits, particularly cunnilingus,” added Ogunsalu

He noted that those afflicted by the unusual gum disease have admitted, sometimes reluctantly, that they are involved in oral s*x, sometimes with multiple partners.

“The social impact and integration of this prolific … s*xual activity of the 21st century needs not be overemphasised … . despite all the pleasures associated with it, it will continue to change the oral floral (mouth bacteria) of those that perform this act,” said Ogunsalu.

“Gum disease occurring with bleeding on brushing and on clinical probing in a mouth with little or no plaque or calculus deposit is a testimony of the fact that something has changed in the oral environment.”

Major Implications

According to Ogunsalu, the spread of the out-of-character gum disease, which seems to be more troublesome in persons with multiple partners, could have major implications for Jamaica.

“This new trend of oral diseases will, in the long run, have serious economic impact … . the questions are: who will pay the cost of this protracted gum therapy? Can the dentists afford to do multiple gum treatment for the cost of a single-stage dental cleaning? Will the insurance entertain claims for multiple cleaning?

Can the patients without insurance afford to pay or will the insurance companies be prepared to increase the dental benefits to facilitate multiple gum manoeuvres,” questioned Ogunsalu.

He expressed fear that as the problem becomes more pronounced, persons might be reluctant to provide truthful answers about their s*xual habits, making it difficult to confirm the initial assumptions.

“Unfortunately, it is very difficult to confirm the speculation of this prospective study, as a relevant section of the questionnaires developed by the institute is unlikely to be filled by the patients in a prospective study,” said Ogunsalu.

“If filled in or answered, it is unlikely to be truthful. this permits the validation of the presumption that oral-s*x increase as a result of changes in s*xual habits has lead to the emergence of new gum disease propagation.

“The only other way to confirm is to embark on doing culture and sensitivity microbiological test for routine dental patients. This is not logical and the clinical ethics will be wrong, in addition to the added increased cost of routine dental treatment,” continued Ogunsalu, who expressed confidence that the research work being done at the IPMC could lead to a treatment regime.

“Fortunately, the International Postgraduate Medical College is working on a pharmacological solution, which will make participants in the habit gum disease free as long as all other factors causing gum disease are not present.

“We are now working on it, but we are not yet ready to give up any details,” said Ogunsalu.

He argued that the findings are not unique to the IPMC research.

Ogunsalu pointed to a recent British Medical Journal article, which stated that “oral s*x has been associated with oral sores in some populations, and can cause ulceration in the oral cavity. It may also spread infection from the oral cavity to the genital tract or vice versa …”.

10 thoughts on “SWIPING AND GUM DISEASE

1. This f**king man doan kno jack shit and only send us to research stuff online for our lectures. Nuh hav a raas a sense bout research him conduct….must pon him bagga battyman fren dem

1. Me a gobwid you on this. Because “He noted that those afflicted by the unusual gum disease have admitted, sometimes reluctantly, that they are involved in oral sex, sometimes with multiple partners.”

That’s not enough for him to conclude.

2. If one should request your medical credential, would you be able to provide ANYTHING of value in that department? Did you even complete the sixth grade of primary school? FYI, I wasn’t soliciting an answer to my questions, since the questions were rhetorical in nature.

Give some scientific proof that what was stated in the article is not scientifically based, as opposed to someone’s opinion.

1. Anon if you are the same anon up top..then omg wtf yo!!??PP was actually AGREEING WITH YOU! !NOTE THE “ME A GO WITH YOU ON THIS”opening statement! !!

Misunderstandings happen all the while still enuh so hey,no harm,no foul.

2. Anonymous 4:57 have me nlaughing hard a wok ! Dat Dentist don’t eat cat at all :ngakak :ngakak :hammer hope he’s not getting head cause the woman teeth fall out :alay

3. It would have helped tremendously if there was a breakdown of the data as to if this gum disease was more prevalent in males or females! !

Surely it could have help vindicate n justify why a longtime Rasta a tell unno pum pum nuh fi suck!!…assuming that is a bag a men n lesbians showing the symptoms ijs!

4. The taken away is that if you are going perform oral sex on your partner, at least make sure you know their STD status. An STD test is very inexpensive at one of the public health clinic (or free if you elect not to pay). The mouth is probably one of the most germ-filled part of the body.

A family member who is a Nurse Practitioner and works in a Public Health facility see cases of herpes, syphilis and other contagious STD at the back of the throat of many patients. She said it is one of the most disturbing and disgusting thing you would ever want to see. How can a man just meet a woman three days ago and perform cunilingus on her in the back of a car, without knowing her STD status? Doesn’t that raise red flags about the type of male your are allowing to do this to you?

5. What he just said was a load of rubbish. As he said, the data to support his theories simply aren’t there. Oral sex is not new to Jamaica. There is empirical evidence to prove that infections of the genital can also be spread orally but these infections can easily be identified with a lab test. Unless a particular infection can be identified as the cause to this increase in gum disease, he talking out his ass!