SIX WESTERN UNION OFFICE CLOSE TEMPORARILY BECAUSE A SCAMMING

GraceKennedy Money Services (GKMS) has temporarily closed six Western Union locations as a result of an unusually high number of suspected fraudulent transactions.

The locations involved in the temporary closure include three in Montego Bay (St. James), one in Falmouth (Trelawny), one in Brown’s Town (St. Ann) and one in Spanish Town (St. Catherine).

“In an effort to further enhance our network oversight and the protection of our customers, GKMS and Western Union will be suspending money transfer services at those locations, several of which are in Western Jamaica,” the company said.

GraceKennedy said it will reopen the locations if and when it is satisfied that adequate additional anti-fraud measures have been taken.

In the meantime, the company has asked customers to transact business at an alternate location nearest to them.

“Western Union and GKMS are aware that the closures will inconvenience many honest customers,” the company said.

Western Union and GraceKennedy commenced operations in Jamaica in 1990 and currently have an Agent network of more than 130 locations across every parish, helping to connect Jamaica to more than 200 countries and territories around the world.

8 thoughts on “SIX WESTERN UNION OFFICE CLOSE TEMPORARILY BECAUSE A SCAMMING

1. Is “scamming” the same as “fraudulent transactions”? I read the article and nowhere did it mention the nature of the fraud. It must be serious for Grace to closed these six Western Union locations.

The other question is why not determine if the fraud is employee-related or the nature of the transactions are what gives rise to the fraud. I’m confuse..

1. One and the same. Scamming…obtaining by fraudulent means. No need to outline what is well known.

Again, why repeat what is well known? The scammers use western union like a personal…good have fi suffer fi de bad.

2. Shut them all down permanently. Enough is enough. This sh*t outta control now. The good has to suffer with bad until people cut out the sheggry. All mi these bums called tryna use their peanut brains, after I sent someone money on so this has a ripple effect worldwide. Western union is not secured. Never again.

1. I know and that’s what makes it frustrating… Dem disgusting man…Jamaicans are getting such a bad rap and the majority of us don’t do this sh1t.

2. The dependents need to get bank accounts that can get a direct deposit like one particular branch. You can send person to person, to a debit or to an account. Playing with the bank directly is a hell of a risk.

3. My god a so the scammers bankrupt the people them chain of business. That’s very bad for economics cash in the country’s that used western union that’s why they all going to prison. Go start a business if you don’t want to work for anyone i don’t believe in scamming never in my life i would support that life style.

4. Any how our government sit n look, member dem a go close dung every one. Some jamaicans enjoy scamming money but look how the country a go pay, we love chat bout freedom of this n freedom of that, i hope them lock dung every damm one. I want rich people fi have money n it have no use to them, yeah man about time a next country step in n put we in check. I want usa, canafa, europe tun jamaica upside dung, we too damm disgusting as a nation, we nuh like follow rules n we too red eye n bad mind, we a use bad mind n the love of money too much. Mi say i want dem lock dung jamaica n hold a peice a rass curfew u see n mek dem coward pussy dey whey a scam n thief shit n piss up dem self. Usa please help jamaica with this lotto scamming, drugs n money laundering.