POLICE DEATH SQUADS BY MARK WIGNALL

Are police death squads dead or alive?

In the early afternoon hours on a day in April 2001, according to reports, William ‘Willie Haggart’ Moore, and two other men — Albert ‘Blacka Douche’ Bonner and Lowell ‘Big Bunny’ Hinds, were shot dead at a section of Lincoln Crescent on the outskirts of Arnett Gardens by men traveling in a car.

Moore was a noted hothead and ‘man of influence’ in the PNP controlled garrison of Arnett Gardens and head of the Black Roses Crew while Bonner was key to the new linkages being made to foster more peace between warring PNP factions there and hostile forces in Tivoli Gardens.

Two years later on a March night in 2003, another PNP man of influence in Arnett Gardens but with seniority of years to Bonner, George Phang was at a spot close to the border of Jones Town and Arnett Gardens playing dominoes with friends when gunmen drove up and hurriedly exited the car blazing bullets at him with assault rifles.

The businessman and political activist took 19 and miraculously lived to tell the tale. Immediately after Phang was shot I was contacted by telephone by Moore’s widow who told me that rumours were swirling that it was she who had arranged the hit on Phang because of older rumours that Phang had had a part in the shooting death of her man a few years before.

I met with her and told her that I could only write what she told me without any speculative opinion making. After getting her side of the story I met with other players including a man who had been shot in the finger during the murder of William ‘Willie Haggart’ Bonner and his two associates in 2001.

According to this man Willie Haggart had, earlier that morning traveled to the site of a well known PNP activist and contractor because a car was promised to him. After waiting for many hours and fruitlessly trying to make cell contact with the contractor, Willie left in a huff, very vexed and fit to be tied. He had been royally dissed.

As he sped off, the back wheels of his car blew back dust and dirt on two policemen who were also at the site waiting on the contractor. They were bike cops. Not knowing nor apparently caring who he was, the cops gave chase.

After a high-speed chase through many populated communities, Willie stopped the car in lower Arnett Gardens and strode out. The bike cops stopped too and approached him with guns drawn. Willie let loose a bag of Jamaican bad-words.

‘What di f**k wrong wid onnu! Unno know who mi is? Onnu waan mi tell di boss!’ In quick time the cops and Willie established that they were both friends of ‘the boss,’ the contractor and PNP activist.

As the cops left Willie drove to Black Roses crew headquarters where he told everyone in earshot what had just taken place. After a while, Blacka and Big Bunny came along and they were gathered outside the gate talking. The man was nearby.

A few hours later a car drove up and men in ordinary day-clothes came out with guns drawn. According to the man Blacka recognized them as policemen in plain clothes.

As they were ordered to put their hands in the air, Blacka in trying to signal them that he was a licensed firearm holder and his gun was stuck in his waist said, ‘Licensed holder, licensed holder!’

Notwithstanding that, they opened fire killing the three and as the informant ran for his life he was grazed on a finger by a bullet.

Today I raise the point because of what the man told me Blacka said. He recognized them as policemen.

After the killing, rumours swirled again that Willie Haggart, a man who cared little how many enemies he made was killed on the orders of the Colombians or, he was ordered killed by local politicians who saw him as an embarrassment to their greater cause.

Since that time there has been a belief among many people that the frustration among frontline policemen who must face up to the daily dangers of fearless and desperate gunmen has forced some to adopt ‘extra judicial’ measures to deal with rampaging gunmen.

Captured, arrested and waiting for the suspect to be tried may take a decade. And then when the case is eventually tried, witnesses cannot be found to come forward and the killers smile as they are set free.

Because of this, there is an unwritten rule among some policemen that gunmen will have to be dealt with ‘outside of the confines of the law.’

So I cannot rule out that sometimes when there are reports of gunmen killing each other, it could be ‘legal’ gunmen out of uniforms executing armed desperadoes out for mayhem.

http://markwignall.com/society/police-death-squads-dead-alive/

16 thoughts on “POLICE DEATH SQUADS BY MARK WIGNALL

1. Ha Ha ha the truth finally a register to nuff re: Haggart’s death. I think I have said it here and I have told persons that he was killed by policemen and not no damn Colombians. On the day he died all and I mean all (both soldiers and police) patrols in and around the area were called to causeway bridge for a muster. Many thought it was an high profile raid that was being organized but as soon as it was confirmed he was shot they were sent back to their duties. Only a few realized what happened and hold them mouth as you dont know who is who.

I was told the reason for his death wasnt just about him having many enemies or just because he left a bitter taste in the politicos mouth. It was one incident that signaled his death bell. Apparently, Mr. Haggart took it upon himself to disrespect “Blinds” at a football match infront the whole grounds. “Blinds” apparently said to “Finsac” that him nuh av no bwoy inna fi him place who fa draws big so. “Finsac”, is said to have assured him it would be dealt with. Anybody in the know, knows that Blinds and Finsac have a very good friendship.

2. I heard that a British link up top ranking stepped on Haggart’s white shoes n in retaliation he beat n dissed him.This version sounds more credible though,great journalistic effort Wignal!!

1. Wignal fi phuck off. What’s the point of the “story”? Haggart did ago dead any way you take it.

So, lolol the man who live to tell the tale stood there long enough fi blacka tell him say a police dem, put him hands pon top a him head and a identify himself as a license holder? 😀 :D. What a slowwwww hit.

Btw, was the female present? Ahhh next puzzle. If she wasn’t then it really wasn’t the Columbians then 😀

Phang cool dung if the hint of hurry come up likkle miss trying him still breathing.

1. They were acceptably called ERADICATION squad :D. But the real crime fighters has retired willingly,by political force or a look fi vacate this never ending bullshit and ungratefulness.

3. Only innocent party there was Big Bunny, a visitor from NY who was just at the wrong place at the wrong time. RIP BIG BUNNY, a sweet and gentle giant

4. I always wonder how Money Mike fit in the underworld, anyone knows?

Heard he links with Roy Fowl and Dan I

5. I have said on this site that the hit was ordered by that known PNP activist and contractor and I don’t think it had nothing to do with any car issue. Back then, Haggart was said to be responsible for over 30% of the cocaine that entered into Jamaica. The known PNP activist and contractor was also prominent in the trade also. Notice how he refer to the known PNP activist as the di boss (something he did on video).

Typical mafia hit, sanction by di boss. By the way, the yute that got shot was supposedly one of Willie body guard. Willie had a whole host of Police on his payroll, including high ranking “PNP” Police. How wasn’t he not aware that a hit from within the police force was eminent?

1. Stop bout high ranking. Haggart wasn’t that respected or that strong. Kmt. Some hungry belly nuffy nuffy corporal you a chat bout. Stop trying to taint people!

None of you dare call the “boss” name *wink wink*. Boss is teflon all when him eye close and no day or time him ago bow to the likes of a hurry come up rapist, errand boy who got lucky because of a child.

Likkle miss monkey f**k keeping she alive.

1. You don’t know what you are talking about…just leave it at that. Jamaican police are the most corrupt/licky-licky and more so the more you go up the food chain. PP, I know you love Policemen, so you can say anything.

The “boss” is on the US payroll and that is why he weras a Teflon suit. It is over 4-years that you have been talking about the monkey and Little Miss. Bwoy, yuh love the monkeys, don’t?

6. Him neva get the call because it wasnt sent thru the command. One call and the hit mek. A longtime “the boss” waah brush him and “Finsac” cover him like a him son. It was just the right time as he had multiple issues with multiple ppl so it would be hard to prove who did it. Ask a question as to who were the first on the scene and it tells a tale.

Roses did a move serious weight yes but nuh 30%. Them bracket deh reserve fi d man dem inna d west. I’d go out on a limb and say 50% or more fi dem. Even those in Kgn n Mandeville got supplied thru them sometimes. I was in Bay them time deh as yute and live inna the community, go school and play ball wid them kids. Sugar Mill Rd the link did deh. Willie get fi him thru “the boss” but he always wanted to mek him own links and did. That is how the Colombian talk come in bcuz Willie get a direct link and that was partly wah anger “the boss” more. Nuh ask how mi know but a nuh hear say. Can all tell u bout the GBX boot dem weh dem use to pack the sh!t inna the bottom and send weh. Naah lie dem did skill.

1. What about the other pnp ‘contractor’ from Mandeville? He wasn’t part of the Colombian link ?