PASTOR KILLED IN CHURCH WAS SHOT 7 TIMES

The Police High Command has assigned a special team of investigators to probe Thursday’s gunslaying of Minister James Johnson on the compound of the Church of God of Prophecy on Old Harbour Road in St. Catherine.

The 29 year-old minister was in an office at the church when he was attacked by a gunman shortly after 5 p.m.

He was shot seven times.

Deputy Commissioner Selvin Haye, in charge of crime, told RJR News that a team from the Major Investigation Division (MID) has been assigned to find the gunman.

He said investigators are exploring several theories.

DCP Haye is urging persons with information on the killing to contact the Spanish Town police, the MID or 119.

SECOND ARTICLE

Statements of condemnation have been issued following the killing of Minister James Johnson at the Church of God of Prophecy on Old Harbour Road in St. Catherine.

The 29 year-old minister was in an office at the church when he was shot by a man shortly after 5 o’clock Thursday afternoon. He was reportedly shot seven times.

Speaking in the Senate Friday morning, Senator Kamina Johnson Smith, expressed alarm at the incident, arguing that there was once a time when violence was not perpetrated against certain members of society – pregnant women, children, the elderly and members of the clergy – “but it seems that those rules don’t exist anymore.”

Senator Johnson Smith said if there are no barriers to violence, the State must impose extraordinary measures to return Jamaica to a place where people can feel safe, at least in certain locations such as the church.

Bishop Rohan Edwards, Chairman of the Spanish Town Area Committee and Spanish Town Revival, said the killing of Mr. Johnson is very troubling.

He urged the church to stand united to stop violence and murder in Jamaica.

“I think the church ought to rise up stronger than we were before. We ought to send a message loud and clear to all the gunmen, all those of you who have an intent to destroy this nation and the good law abiding citizens of this country; we want you to know that we are not putting up with it,” he declared.

13 thoughts on “PASTOR KILLED IN CHURCH WAS SHOT 7 TIMES

1. This seems like he was targeted,cuz it doesn’t seem like a break in why would they want to kill this young pastor? Sad.

2. It FISHY bad. Normally dem no target pastor unless pastor fk wid pickney. This is a crime of fish-passion.

Shoot up the youth like young parrot fish. A mus a fish-er-man kill him.

3. I am extremely God-fearing and I respect a man of God ….. so I will try to reserve my opinion until further information has been presented. However ….I have my theories ….. and based on those perfectly arched eyebrows …..I think I might be on the right track. Smh.

4. Mi hear seh him guh withdraw a big money the same day dem kill him.Suh it look like a the money dem kill him fah mi nuh know if a true but heard it from someone who know him.Dem a seh someone set him up.

5. This man a Top level fish. Was one a d quiet ones though, walk and talk like woman wid him belt positioned round him waist like a woman would situate it. Him never brawling but him used to step wid the brawling gays dem at UWI. Gays kill Gays in Jamaica and gangster get the blame. D dawg get a hit fi Nyam him food and him did just affi knock him inna d church before him get weh because him know it might be coming, but as mi seh him was one a di gentler meek gays so maybe him get the threat and was trying to approach it like dainty woman would hence the tweets lol. Crime solved