MI A READ RIGHT? THE AREA WHEY DI BABY DEAD IN HAVE NUFF REPORTS OF SEXUAL ASSAULT?

Following the tragedy which has thrust the Sterling Castle Heights community in St. Andrew into the spotlight, the Police High Command says a number of hazards, especially for children have been spotted and are in need of urgent attention.

Chantae Skyers, a student of Red Hills Primary School in St. Andrew, was found murdered on Tuesday in an area known as Blue Hole.

In an interview with RJR News on Wednesday, Deputy Superintendent Dahlia Garrick, head of the Jamaica Constabulary Force Corporate Communications Unit, said the police are concerned about, among other things, part of the route that was taken by Chantae to get home.

“It is somewhere that you would not recommend for a group of children to be traversing, much less, a child. There are several reports of girls under the age of 16 being sexually assaulted. So there are some real concerns here that the police have been trying to treat with. CISOCA has gone into the areas…other agencies have gone,” she explained.

DSP Garrick said the police and other stakeholders will be meeting with the residents on Thursday to discuss the recent tragedies and the other problems identified.

She appealed to parents and communities to work with the police to ensure the protection of children.

In response to the murder of Chantae Skyers, the Violence Protection Alliance has said there is need for greater protection for children.

Dr. Elizabeth Ward, Chairman of the Violence Prevention Alliance, asserted that there needs to be safer means of travel for children to and from school, as well as safe after-school places, such as a church hall, where children can be remain until their parents come home.

6 thoughts on “MI A READ RIGHT? THE AREA WHEY DI BABY DEAD IN HAVE NUFF REPORTS OF SEXUAL ASSAULT?

1. This is so freaking tragic. Considering the present state of the nation who would condone their child walking through bushes to go anywhere. Go and pick up your child or organize with someone to get her. Ask your employer if your child can stay in the lunchroom until you are done your shift. Many employers are willing to assist but you first must ask. I cannot believe that child was walking a known route rapists used, what did they expect would happen?

2. I think the mother should be charged for neglect!!! Im not saying she should go to prison but she needs to be fined and an example set of her. The care free mentality that “ everything good” and “ nothing nah guh happen” is getting too much of our children killed !!!! Are you really protecting your child?? Are u????? U cannot say nothing will happen because accidents happen in a split second and u dont see it coming. And im telling u its the person who u least expect it to be who does stuff like this. She probably knew the person thats why he/she killed her.

1. Mi seh when mi read dis mi just couldn’t believe it. Lazy parenting cannot happen in these times, especially with children so young. If police seh di route not even suitable for a group of children much less a single child to walk you can only imagine how isolated, dark and creepy the damn place is. That child suffered so much brutality and it probably could have 100% been prevented.

3. So people in di area know rapes been happening in dat area and dont say or do nuttin till poor Shaunte meet such a death???? Three bredda a lib inna one house really suspect. Which one a diem rape n kill di lil girl? I hope they killed di rite one not just cause him a di mad one. Other young girls who were raped come takl up if is any a dem

4. Would the mother walking with her have made a difference? Probably would have raped and killed di mother too. I read elsewhere she and her mother recently moved into the area.. Father keep and strengthen this poor mother

1. Simple things can make a difference. Maybe had the mother been walking with her on the very first day she used that route she would have been so creeped out walking there she said nope don’t ever walk this place again. When I was growing up they had this saying, shortcut draw blood. Not sure if ppl still say that to discourage others from using shortcuts. I feel very bad for the mother of the child, but may this awful incident shake other parents up.