MAN BLAMES HOSPITAL FOR GIRLFRIEND’S DEATH

Just weeks ago, Shevon Edwards, a teacher at the St Jago High School, was busy planning his wedding with his fiancee, Shanice Lewis. But today, he is faced with the pain of planning her funeral.

Lewis, who was a teacher at Eltham High School in St Catherine, passed away at the Spanish Town Hospital on April 10 after being admitted for stomach pains two days earlier.

THE WEEKEND STAR spoke with Edwards, who says he strongly believes that his fiancee died as a result of negligence on the part of the hospital.

“She was vomiting and complaining about belly pain. I thought it was gas initially, so I gave her something to eat, but she continued to vomit, and then I took her to the hospital Sunday morning,” he said.

Edwards said that after undergoing a series of tests, a recommendation was made for Lewis to do an ultrasound the following day.

“When I visited her the Monday, she was in extreme pain, and her hands were swollen. She told me they had forgotten to put on her drip, so they had to rush to give her three bags of drip back to back. She is asthmatic, so she was having breathing problems. They administered Voltaren to her, and from what I know, that medication should not be given to asthma patients,” he said.

Edwards said a few hours later, Lewis’ mouth became swollen, and her condition appeared worse.

“Later in the night, she called. She was crying, saying that her pain was getting worse and the doctors were not paying her any mind. I was on the phone when she called the nurse, and when she came, she (the nurse) told her that she had already called her 25 times, and she had documentation to do. She later had to pass faeces and had to do it on the floor, ” he said.

Edwards said his fiancee continued to have breathing problems, and he encouraged her to conserve her energy and focus on breathing.

“Her tongue was swollen, and she took a photo of it and sent it to me. I showed it to another doctor, and he told me that she may have had stomach bleeding. I told her I was coming the morning, but by the time I got there, she was already dead,” he said.

INVESTIGATION UNDER WAY

When THE WEEKEND STAR contacted Taneisha Lewis, public relations officer at the South East Regional Health Authority, she confirmed that Lewis indeed died at the Spanish Town Hospital. She stated that the hospital has met with the family and an investigation is currently underway.

Meanwhile, Edwards said that he and other family members continue to seek answers, but none are forthcoming from the hospital staff. He stated that an autopsy was done last Monday, but they are yet to obtain a copy.

“We were told that we would have to make a written request for it, and it would take five working days. We are having a very hard time because we don’t know what killed her. Her mom is an elderly woman, and while she was by her daughter’s death bed crying, they were giving her all type of documents to sign. She didn’t even know if she was signing away her rights at the time,” she said.

Edwards told THE WEEKEND STAR that Lewis was a vibrant individual who was loved by anyone who came in contact with her.

“Before she began working at Eltham as a mathematics teacher, she heard a lot of negative comments about the institution, but she was determined to leave a positive imprint on them. Everyone is devastated by her passing,” he said.

8 thoughts on “MAN BLAMES HOSPITAL FOR GIRLFRIEND’S DEATH

1. Devastating. They really need to overhaul the healthcare sector. Nobody to help her to even go have a bowel movement in a dignified manner. Is what really a gwan in dem places yah? Tufton need to get involved in this case somebody need to be accountable. Is one ting mi know over here in dis white man land is dat dem teck pain control very serious, dem naw ramp fi ensure you not in any discomfort. This young lady seem like she suffered grievously before she passed on. Unno betta believe seh too much pain can send the body into shock and kill you. I hope that her fiancée, family members and loved ones will be able ot find peace one day. Sad!

2. Spanish Town Slaughter house…..if you live in that area and get sick….just drive pass and go UC or Andrews…..else you’re not gonna make it out alive.

3. Rest in peace Beautiful, this is sad. Because of cruelty and neglect this young woman lost her life. I’m so sick of the overall Jamaican mindset ( NOT ALL JAMAICANS), the lack of value of human lives is apparent on every level. These nurse and Doctors are in a position to serve but they are annoyed when you ask for assistance. I pray that the family and her loveones get Justice for her death, unno a get from bad to worst. Father God please comfort and strengthen this family

4. I remember i had my first born baby there at a young age,only the grace of god let me survive,the baby was too big an these doctors an nurses didnt do a damn tings.They let me stay in labor for 4F**KING DAYS OF UNIMAGINE MIND BLOWING PAIN I THOUGH I WAS GONNA DIE,THEY MAKE ME PUSH OUT THE BIG BABY BECAUSE THEY DIDNT WANTED TO GIVE ME CSECTION,I RIP UP MY VG SO BAD O.M.G!!..LOOKING BACK NOW I KNOWS IT WASNT MY TIME TO DIE.OVER 25YS I STILL CRY(TEARS)I STILL HAVE NIGHTMARE(CRYINGTEARS UNCONTROLLABLE) NEVER HEAL..

5. Spanish Town Hospital need fi lock dung or they need to hire new staff. Before I even read the story mi mind tell mi seh a Spanish Town this happen. I know too many that have died at the hands of the medical staff at this dreaded place. If people could afford private hospital or better healthcare this wouldn’t happen but to be poor is to suffer. RIP to this young educator and condolences to the friends and family.