MALVO’S LIFE SENTENCES OVERTURNED

A United States high court on Friday overturned some of the life sentences of Jamaica-born US sniper Lee Boyd Malvo, who was convicted for his role in a killing spree in Washington almost 15 years ago.

A federal judge explained that the decision is based on the fact that Malvo was a juvenile – 17 years old – when the sentences were imposed on him.

“The Supreme Court ruled in 2012 that mandatory life sentences without the

possibility of parole were unconstitutional for juveniles, and in 2016, the court decided that the ruling should be applied retroactively,” The Washington Post reported.

Malvo pleaded guilty in Spotsylvania County and agreed to serve two life sentences without parole. He was also convicted by a jury and sentenced to two life sentences in Fairfax County, it added.

US District Judge Raymond A. Jackson yesterday overturned those four sentences and ordered the courts that imposed them to consider new sentences. Malvo could still receive life sentences again based on new standards in those two counties.

The Associated Press reported that Fairfax County Commonwealth’s Attorney Ray Morrogh, who helped prosecute Malvo, said the Virginia attorney general can appeal Jackson’s ruling. If not, he said he would pursue another life sentence.

Meanwhile, six other life sentences were undisturbed.

Ten people were killed and three others were shot during a three-week period in October 2002.

Mastermind executed

John Allen Muhammad, the alleged mastermind who it’s believed influenced Malvo, was also convicted and later executed in 2009 for the killings.

Muhammad and Malvo used a rifle to shoot over a dozen people from a modified trunk of a Chevrolet Caprice in random attacks in Maryland, Virginia and the District of Columbia.

Malvo, now 32 years old, is currently being held at Red Onion State Prison, a super-maximum security prison in Virginia.

In a letter he wrote to his mother, Una James, two months ago, Malvo said that he was studying to become a pastor. “He just told me he is doing biblical courses to become a pastor,” James told THE STAR earlier this month. “I realised that once he got back to his senses, he recognised that there is a God.”

15 thoughts on “MALVO’S LIFE SENTENCES OVERTURNED

1. So he has another 6 life sentences in addition to the four? What a waste of time, that judge must have been bored out of his mind. Malvo aint going no where which is right. A 17 year old, unless they are severely mentally impaired understands that guns kill. Had he done this a few months later, he too would have received death. He is one of those people that only his mother and Jesus can love.

1. Him should have his sentence lessen to 25 yrs. Human trafficking coupled with being conditioned by that Mohammed demon got him where him is today.

The mother fi go rub de rest a him sentence dem. Nasty dutty black oman sell har pickney to man. Plantation mentality still prominent.

1. Pp, he was clearly manipulated by that man, I wish him the best. Everyone deserves a second chance in life. The crimes were terrible, but it is possible that there is more than we know. I agree with you about de Duttie mumma.

1. It’s really sad that this talented and intelligent young man didn’t find a positive mentor. His life would’ve been better and all those ppl would still be alive. Be careful of anyone you allow around your kids.

2. The boy whey kill de 9 people a pray was terrible.

Him get fi sop off a burger king on the way to jail.

Malvo fi get 25 yrs because dem don’t know fi a fact him did shoot no body along with how him came to be involve.

Death to him mumma in a de most disgraceful manner.

2. In the strictest sense,his sentences has NOT been overturned! !All that will happen is that he will be resentenced on each of the four murder counts separately. Almost always when you hear a verdict is overturned it points to a reversal. .

THERE WILL BE NO REVERSAL OR OVERTURNING..HIS GUILTY VERDICT STILL STANDS!!HE WILL NOW RECIEVE UP TO 25YRS FOR EACH COUNT..AS OPPOSED TO BEFORE WHEN HE WAS SENTENCED WITHOUT THE POSSIBILITY OF PAROLE FOR THE REST OF HIS NATURAL LIFE.THE COURT HAS RULED THIS INHUMANE FOR A MINOR..SO THAT IS THE REAL DECISION THAT IS BEING OVERTURNED…BUT HE WILL BE RESENTENCE ALL THE SAME FOR LIFE!!

3. Its always funny how criminals find Jesus the minute them INA problem……..study yah malvo I would a love Fi see you a preach to a congregation cause I know nuff fool fool people would a pack that church like you a the next Messiah..

4. Mi can 100% guarantee u say if he was a lil white boy manipulated by Muhammad, him wouldn’t spend a day in prison. Dem woulda say, “Oh this poor innocent boy was corrupted by this horrible big black man” From u born black, u born a criminal in white America’s eyes.

1. Me agree wid you bout the way the case would have been handled if for instance him Mumma a Russia did give him to bob the American and bob groom him fi be him bitch and killa side kick.

Likkle Serge would be placed in a treatment facility with schooling and hopes of having his crimes set a side. Then get send off into civil society.

5. I know the mother must be saying Better we did Batta batta is out a jamaica in our poverty. Not all that glitters is gold. Sometimes huh just have to satisfy with what you had. you gave your kid to this man that you don’t know from Adams fi guh tun murderer

1. Morning.

Look at the youth life at 32…Jamaica no so hard that him couldn’t have excelled through some avenue of support.

It was reported that he was a good student. Him could have batter like nuff a we and tek her trifflung ass out a hunga.

Some chop she fi get unda har clawt! Bout him come back to him sense!!! In a prison! Jezebel liveth!…me glad fi de family me have cause me would a damge she if she shared DNA wid me.

6. When I was a child in Ja, there was a church that had missionaries once a year. You would be amazed at how many kids and mother’s would beg them to take them. The kids I would give them a slight pass but their mother no none. They didn’t know those people and would beg and cried like a babe for them to take their kids to foreign. It was very disgusting and disturbing to watch.

7. I went to primary school in Jamaica with Lee, he was a really nice kid his dad was a good man, sad his mother took him.