LASCO FIRE DI EMPLOYEE WHEY MEK DI FISH TWEET

Lasco Fires Employee Who Made Controversial Tweet About Omar McLeod

lasco2

Manufacturer, Lasco Distributors Limited, says it has fired an employee who made an inappropriate tweet from the company’s Twitter account following the historic win by 110-metre hurdler Omar McLeod last night.

Lasco faced backlash from Twitter users with even opposition leader, Portia Simpson Miller, speaking on the matter via her Twitter account.

She encouraged her followers to celebrate all Jamaica’s athletes and unite to reject hate and bigotry.

The company later deleted the tweet and subsequently issued a statement saying its account was compromised.

In a further statement it said it had terminated the employee who made the tweet as it was a violation of the company’s code of conduct.

The company says it has the utmost respect for McLeod and apologised to him for any embarrassment caused by the social media post.

48 thoughts on “LASCO FIRE DI EMPLOYEE WHEY MEK DI FISH TWEET

1. Lol. I did think he looked gay too but he was quite eloquent in his interview. Jamaica is full of gays surprise, surprise. Even at the Olympics, who cares????

1. You know is who dem fire? Cause the only female we KNOW of is the one that asked the question and then SOMEONE from LASCO alleged hacked account responded. Tell we who the bitch of a culprit is nuh #fass

2. What happen to freedom of speech? So the company has a policy that basically said you cannot call anybody “Fish” Ridiculous.

1. You can call anybody anything u want…not when ur logged into the companies account that represents them to the world. Dawww!

2. a wah do dis f**g idiot tho GOD OBVIOUSLY there is freedom of speech but not on a platform like that in a manner where it is used and meant to be derogatory f***g dunce. im guessing you dont have a job either

3. Go tell your boss to f** himself and tell him you have freedom of speech, see if they don’t fire your aas

3. It’s not a matter of freedom of speech, the employee was tweeting from lasco’s twitter page, not their personal account.

4. The person could win in court. There was a hack and the term fish does not mean he is a that. They could have meant something different.

1. The fact the account was hacked the a reasonable doubt is there. I really don’t know who Sammy the lawyer is but I am sure a lawyer would take up the case.

1. It wasn’t a hack. The employee had authorised access & in Jamaica you’d have a hard time convincing a judge or jury that the use of the term fish to describe him doesn’t hold the same connotation as we generally associate with it now. It’s not like he’s even a swimmer.

5. The thing about freedom of speech is that stupid people use it to say whatever comes to their mind. I do believe that everyone have it but they should know when to use it.
    Maybe the tweet wouldn’t have been homophobic if Omar McLeod was a swimmer?
    But as you can see it had homophobic intent.

1. It’s offensive because Lasco is not in the business of outing people’s sexuality. It’s offensive because this person just said so via a corporate Twitter account at the height of this young man’s success. I’m sure Omar could indicate why it’s offensive to him on a personal level whether he’s gay or not, but I know you, as a gay man, think it’s quite alright for people to out people like that, after all scandalizing people is what gay men has become know for.

6. Using the Lasco account to say that especially adding a derogatory term,would have indeed been a breach of their ethical code.That person could have said whatever they wanted to on their personal account.And whether fish or not he is a gold medal winner!And if he is a fish, being the first medallist from Ja for his race,could make him a very rich man.Meanwhile the person who posted has no job.

7. “A GAY MAN ” MADE A VALID POINT…WHAT IF THE PERSON HAD TWEETED “GALLIS”. WOULD OR COULD THAT BE TAKEN OFFENSIVE TO SOME PEOPLE….?

1. I think we all know being called out as a ‘gallis’ is a completely different thing than being called out as a ‘fish’ in Jamaica.

8. Here is the low down on the issue, I am being told that the employee forgot to sign out of the Company’s twitter account and having not remembered answered Terri’s question and this is the out come!!!!!!!!!!

9. Who fi kno Omar “status” knew. Terri Karelle playing devil’s advocate when she made the tweet, she lef di ting open fi people come style di youth, so shi fi tek most a di blame too and gwey

1. Oh gosh don’t blame Terri! It was an innocent question meant to celebrate Omar and see who could come up with the best headline. Not her fault!

10. Good replies. They enforce my point that the issue is with the jamaican psyche. Lasco shouldn’t be so harsh on the person because the jamaican society is homophobic. I don’t think being gay should come with any form of protection from being “outed” just like being straight isn’t.

I’m not gay still. Was jus playin devils advocate

11. Beyond rude. While both sides can argue in court about the offense on a cooperate acct, the fact still remains she/whomever did it is beyond offensive and rude. The man won a gold medal. His sexuality shouldn’t be judged/ discussed during his celebration. That’s so wrong. Shameful!!!. Freedom of speech has limitations.

12. if the employee waan use fi har account an call di yute battyman a fi har business but not when ur posting from the company’s acct. she deserve fi get terminated.. caption this.. what do you call the person who was irresponsible enuff to post from Lasco account about Mcleod? #unemployed

13. Jamerica dem a back battam man doe das why dem light up di place wid di batty colored lights… A weh di pastor deh a shark a run di country … I guess if dem nuh dweet dem ago get backlash and no fish naw go buy lasco ice cream.

14. I didn’t even cheer after the race because of his reaction..to the win…a fish is a fish in water or out.

15. Gay or not, Omar McLeod has done our country proud, and as such his success should be celebrated as much as any other Jamaican athlete. There is a saying: cow nuh know the use of its tail until it is gone. (Many other countries would love to have that “goldfish”#letusvalueourathleted

16. Is cheering for him winning that gold, the same as accepting gays because they, say for example, provided job opportunities?

17. Freedom of speech YES, free from the consequences that follow what you say? NO. If I went up to someone and said derogatory things, there is the risk of them giving me a fat TUMP in mi yeye.

The problem is that the person tweeted from a company account and not their personal. What they said goes against Lasco’s policies.So I see nothing wrong in them being fired.

Some of the anons up top are being foolish and it seems like they don’t know how the real world works.

( I saw people calling him a battyman still, from their personal twitter. )

The harsh treatment of gay folks stems from our skewed views of the bible.
    Even though homosexuality is a sin and this is a Christian country, it is not Christ like to be calling gay people
    “fish”, ” fag”, “sadamite” etc, is it? Unless I am wrong..

18. It is quite strange that this hypocrite gay situation is being played out like this. Whether or not he is gay, using a corporate account warrants termination. On the other hand, i really cannot see why Jamaica is so homophobic when there are so many homosexuals in the country and interject as you may but look at how many are within the houses of parliament. For too long we have been grappling with this discriminatory behaviour. I must applaud the many who have supported Omar but what about discrimination against other youth who have lost their lives due to simple things like being called girly? Tolerance is the way to go and one should not be ostracised based on his/her sexuality. the closed hypocrisy is harming Jamaica and their are many who are willing to out another to protect themselves. Anyway if it is in our desire to make Jamaica the place to live, work, do business and raises families, we need to have a better approach towards tolerance and the onus is on us as a nation to fight discrimination of all kind. Whether you believe it or not we all know a gay person whether out or closeted. Come on people its 2016. Remember the line from our national anthem “Teach us true respect for all”

19. It is quite strange that this hypocrite gay situation is being played out like this. Whether or not he is gay, using a corporate account warrants termination. On the other hand, i really cannot see why Jamaica is so homophobic when there are so many homosexuals in the country and interject as you may but look at how many are within the houses of parliament. For too long we have been grappling with this discriminatory behaviour. I must applaud the many who have supported Omar but what about discrimination against other youth who have lost their lives due to simple things like being called girly? Tolerance is the way to go and one should not be ostracised based on his/her sexuality. the closed hypocrisy is harming Jamaica and their are many who are willing to out another to protect themselves. Anyway if it is in our desire to make Jamaica the place to live, work, do business and raises families, we need to have a better approach towards tolerance and the onus is on us as a nation to fight discrimination of all kind. Whether you believe it or not we all know a gay person whether out or closeted. Come on people its 2016. Remember the line from our national anthem “Teach us true respect for all”