JFLAG GAY PRIDE MARCH GETS OK BY MINISTER

lmaooo

As Jamaica Forum of Lesbians, All-Sexuals and Gays (J-FLAG) gets ready for its week of activities to mark growing tolerance for members of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community starting Emancipation Day, speculations abound on social media about a possible gay pride parade in Jamaica.

If this is the case, Minister of Justice Mark Golding told OBSERVER ONLINE that certain steps have to be followed.

“Any kind of public march would require the approval of the police.”

He said anyone can march for any cause in Jamaica.

“As long as they don’t breach the peace, commit any offences and they get commission from the police to have the march, they are able to march,” Golding said.

“Jamaica is a free country and we have freedom of expression,” he added.

When quizzed about the legality of a same-sex marriage in Jamaica, the minister said: “No, they can’t have that.”

“A same-sex marriage is not recognised under our constitution,” he said.

Golding explained that the Jamaican Constitution is clear and explicitly states that marriage is between one man and one woman.

“So under our law, same-sex marriage is not recognised,” the minister reiterated.

Moya Hinds

0 thoughts on “JFLAG GAY PRIDE MARCH GETS OK BY MINISTER

1. “No they can’t have that” :ngakak wait we will see….a Pride parade is a start to something bigger so whatever Sr. I knew Alexandra Love is lesbian….

2. I saw it on the news that on Sunday, in Istanbul, Turkey, the Police used water cannons to break up a Gay Pride parade there. I thought damn, they were lucky it was just water. A hope that Diana King and her #$%&%#@ crew of gay pride planners remember say dat in Jamaica a bullets work better! With a whopping 89% of Jamaicans not supporting homosexuality, it definitely won’t be water getting used to break up their gay parade there!

3. But last night mi read pon Jamaica Gleaner fb page seh nuh march nah gwaan….Di man weh run JFLAG aka JFAG seh Jamaica nuh ready fi that yet so mi nuh know weh Diana King get fi har information from she need fi move har dutty bbc weh ya try do b*tch

4. I know fe a fact say many prayer warriors in Jamaica a fast and pray fe dis NOT to happen out there. People are sick of this gay pride every #$%@&$ day, and now they want a day to celebrate gayness, in Jamaica? Fire fe dat!! Why the hell do they need a parade? Is it because they feel they are lesser to the rest of the world? Or, do they just need to have some sort of recognition in public to feel accepted? How come straight people don’t have a heterosexual parade? I find no pride in absolutely nothing to be proud of in sick people wallowing in a pervert celebration, and I hope that no damn parade for gays happen there! @Anonymous, thanks for the info, because fe real, Jamaica nah go ready nuh time soon fe dis BS!

5. we live on one earth. we have to share the earth with the good, bad and the evil. They can have their day, others can stay away. The others can totally boycott this day. no commerce, no watching it pon TV, No attendance, no nothing. Let them enjoy themselves. By giving them the opportunity to express themselves, we therefore demanding the same rights to demonstrate our opposition toward their lifestyles. The constitution and the laws are in favor of the opposition. By giving the opportunity to have an event, we are not discriminating against them; however, we are not legalizing their lifestyles. we are tolerating them. we are exercising tolerant.

6. @ mifedupadealmshouse you’re welcome hun….Jamaica will never ever be ready. Everyday Diana King wake up she deh pon social media wid har batty agenda she nuh see seh it nah work smh this lady bash Jamaica every chance she get di ppl dem nuh want di batty business inna di country yuh deaf kmt brimstone and fire fi you & yuh batty followers dem

7. ha ha that day will be a duppy day…. please lord forgive on that i no am going open fire in that crowd..