JAMAICA’S GOVERNMENT REPAIRING ROADS FOR OBAMA’S VISIT?

PORTIA

Almost two weeks before United States President Barack Obama is scheduled to visit the island, the Government has rolled out a major road repaving programme across sections of the Corporate Area.

The project covers much of the route Obama is expected to travel during his short visit, but the National Works Agency (NWA) insisted yesterday that the timing of the ‘special works programme’ could just be “a coincidence”.

“I don’t know anything about Mr Obama’s schedule … . It could just be a coincidence,” said NWA Communications Manager Stephen Shaw.

No Word On Funding

In addition, Shaw could not say how much money had been provided to repave the selected roadways or which government agency would provide financing.

“I can’t say what the funding arrangement is. Usually these projects are funded through the Road Maintenance Fund or through a special allocation from GOJ [Government of Jamaica],” he sought to explain.

The NWA communications manager revealed that he was informed about the project last Tuesday, but cautioned that “it might have been in the works for weeks”.

“We had concerns about the bumpy surfaces in many of those areas that we are targeting. So we had them on our things-to-do list,” Shaw insisted.

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller announced in Parliament earlier this month that Obama is scheduled to arrive in Kingston on April 9 for an official state visit, during which he will hold bilateral discussions on a range of issues of mutual interest. The US president is also expected to address a group of students at the University of the West Indies (UWI).

Yesterday, the NWA announced that under the special works programme its contractors will be repaving several roadways. Among them is the corridor between the Harbour View roundabout and Sir Florizel Glasspole Highway in east Kingston.

In a statement yesterday, the NWA said other roadways to be repaved include Marescaux Road, Heroes Circle, Caledonia Avenue and Mona Road, between the post office and the main gate to the UWI, as well as the intersection of Oxford Road and Old Hope Road. The Oxford Road/Knutsford Boulevard intersection will also be done, as well as the section of Mona Road, between the post office and main gate to the UWI.

0 thoughts on “JAMAICA’S GOVERNMENT REPAIRING ROADS FOR OBAMA’S VISIT?

1. Lawks dat pic wid Sis P a grab di wine glass like is a beer bottle, she nuh see how di odda lady hold it daintily by di stem

2. One think mi know. When Obama ready fi have a conversation with Portia he’s gonna look at her like wtf this is leading a country… Kmrt

3. The jamican primister hold de glass like a rum bar she’s at . Face hard like Tracy champion’ miss Simpson & Her muppet hair style from way back :hammer :alay :thumbup

4. Four comments about our Prime Minister and all of them critical of her. She might not be perfect, but irrespective of which side of the political divide we find ourselves, we need to show respect to the office of the Prime Minister. Lets face it, the previous morons criticizing the PM do not have the knowledge or years of experience to even sit in her presence. Try to uplift yourself like she did, by taking advantage of the hands she was dealt. I wonder which one of you guys will ever rise to the position of Prime Minister?

1. i dont think they mean it in a bad way but hey its the office she ran for and the country is at a state. Been in a state for 35 years now. For the record she and her crew help kill the country also. all pretenders.

5. So Portia a mek de road dem wey Obama a go travel pon only get fix, and some road wid de pothole dem big like mini swimming pools, wey mi see in de Corporate area in January, nah go get fix? Ha! De people dem wey she have under her regime, and dat damn hairstyle wey she have from de devil was a bwoy a wey she really need fe fix!

6. Anonymous u can see u is a ghetto rat defending that un intelligent gun toting morons primister . Please my girl she is a disgrace & joker . A bet u have to be shipping barrel back home cause since Portia won none of your family no better off ‘ like Portia said don’t draw me toung that’s ms Simpson for u ….u right she is critical .

7. It’s ah pity Obama nah include KPH ah Bustamante Children’s Hospital inna im itinery. Di money dem wud haffi spend fi fix elevator n fix up di wards him wudda visit, might mek more sense inna dem time yah.
    But dem kind foolishness gwan all ova di worl, dem seh di Queen mus tink di worl smell ah fresh paint cah everywhere she go dem fix up before har visit. Betta Di Chiney President di ah visit, dem same chiney weh ah buil di highway coulda fix di rass road fram outta Harbour View dem self.

8. Mi nuh inna di Sis P or Breddah Nancy, but ah from mi a pickney dis is wah di Ja.govament a do..kmt. Di government is just like some people wah only clean dem house wen dem know seh people a kum ovah, and is only di place wah di guests going into dem clean, but if u open di closet, look undah di sofa, and innah di drawers and anything else wah lack up u, u run fi u life and nevah return..suh it guh..just piss mi off..kmdt again!!