JAMAICA CUSTOMS WAA CHARGE 23K FI CLEAR A MEMORY CARD

Peter Moo Young
September 20 ·

This is amazing!
We live in a country where we are governed by thieves and people who play by the rules get screwed.
Observe the memory card in the picture.
I bought this card in the States for somewhere around $50 and mistakenly left it behind. So I asked my people to send it down to me via a DHL account I have.
The SD Card arrived, and DHL notified me that the charges (taxes, fees) for the card were a whopping $23,422.77!
A breakdown shows clearance fees of 3,438.75 , GCT of 5,705.24 and customs fees of 12,711.39!
Now, I could have easily hidden this card inside a letter, a shoe or a pack of anything. Instead, I chose to play by the rules and declare the contents.
Well this is what happens when you play by the rules in Jamaica; YOU GET SCREWED!
Now I know.

9 thoughts on “JAMAICA CUSTOMS WAA CHARGE 23K FI CLEAR A MEMORY CARD

1. Wow ! I think they have some rule saying if the any item is under 50 us you get no charge, but over 50 us you get charge. Some years back I’ve ordered some items from light in the box pure likkle phone accessories and other cheap fandagles. The bill came to 50 us some cents (didn’t know about the 50 us less/ over rule back then). The company shipped via DHL, when I went to declared the box it was so small. The cashier whap me wid a 20k bill to, me seh fi wah lol. I’m not paying that. They sent me to the customs supervisor and she opened the box and checked and I explained to her what happened. Then she wrote it off. Forgot to mention the hecklers outside before I even reached inside the office wanted me to pay them to clear my package for me. Luckily I wasn’t one to mess with I just ignored them. Pure corruption!!!

I use shipme, keep my items under 50 us and I have no problems. Been 3 years now with shipme.

Oh yes and my friend sent a football jersey years back too before online shopping was so popular in Jamaica and DHL x Customs gave him a bill like that too. He had a DHL account.

2. DHL is the likely thief here and not customs the plethora of couriers here are also at fault. MD Couriers did a similar thing to me and a printer slap me with a $25,000 bill for a printer I paid $40 claiming that customs say XYZ I told them to produce my customs declaration so I could see exactly what customs charged which they refused and by law they have to produce because they are acting on your behalf you authorized them to act on your behalf so that declaration is yours something called a C87 anyway long story short customs did not charge them shit the couriers are the ones opening ppl things and determining rates then putting customs on invoices. Most of them strike deals with customs agents so they get their entire shipment for a flat fee like $300,000 paid to a customs officer they then turn around and assign their own “duty” and make $1,000,000 customs should have a special tape so it would show it is them who examined your package similar if you bring things through the post office customs tape is on it and customs has a paper stuck on every parcel breaking down the customs duties u must pay at the post office. Why unuh think as a man start a courier they get rich??? Furthermore handling, informal clearance and GCT have nothing to do with customs. That DHL bill says nothing customs did not produce that bill until that person shares the customs declaration i.e. the ASYCUDA print out i.e. the C87 we cannot call customs a thief in this case cuz we know dem thief like wow

1. Exactly, there should be a yellow custom bill to show the custom charges…A same suh mi order one perfume innu and use one of those small shipping companies, the cost of the item was like $52 and after discount with shipping its about $45. The yute message me and tell me that it will be dutiable and if he should still clear it…Bare in mind innu, him nuh go clear it yet. So I asked him why and its under $50 in total, him sey custom a go apply the charges they see before discount. So mi tell him no sah that nuh right at all, the. He said he will see what he can do, then him clear it and deliver without duty charge on it. Nuff a dem a tief and a tell lie pon customs. If you ship something through the post off and its $51 there is no custom charge, they use discretion.

3. Actually I remembered back then when I use to ship with mailpac. That’s exactly how they use to break down the bill in the photo up top. Use to rip me off a lot with them tiefing self.

4. I shipped a $99USD backhoe part and customs charge was $22000JMD to clear it. Just ridiculous. You ever hear the saying “if me did know”. SMH. never again.

5. Mailpac is the biggest culprit here. You would be shocked at what they charge, 37% on every damn thing. I also asked them for my customs declaration and they never produced it.

The people who own Mailpac do this type of stuff all over the place and never get caught. Same people use to own a nightclub at New Kingston shopping plaza and dem have a car rental. Bwoy Met I glad you bring this thing to light.DEM TEEF. The government needs to step in.