JAMAICA CLAIM CHINA GI DEM 36M FI MEK CHILDREN HOSPITAL BUT WHAT IT IS IN EXCHANGE FOR?

China gives Jamaica US$36m to build children’s hospital in MoBay

The Government has received approximately US$36.16 million (250 million RMB Yuan) from the Government of the People’s Republic of China to construct the Western Children’s Hospital in St James and undertake other projects to be agreed on by both countries.

The 220-bed facility, which will be the first such in Jamaica and the Caribbean, will be built on the compound of the Cornwall Regional Hospital (CRH) in Montego Bay, St James, with work expected to commence by the end of the current fiscal year, in March 2019.

Funding is being provided under an Economic and Technical Cooperation Agreement, which was signed on Thursday (October 18) at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, New Kingston, by Portfolio Minister, Kamina Johnson Smith, on behalf of the Government; and China’s Ambassador to Jamaica, Tian Qi.

The signing was witnessed by Health Minister, Dr Christopher Tufton.

Johnson Smith said the agreement and, by extension, construction of the hospital represents “another positive development and demonstration of the effective and strong cooperation between our countries”.

She noted that the new facility will better enable Jamaica to reach its Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), “which we are seeking to attain in every aspect, including health”.

“We are [also] pleased that the hospital will not only create jobs in the construction phase, but in its development and implementation… will have need for more nurses, doctors, anaesthetists, caretakers, and more service providers generally. So, we see this hospital as not only [pivotal in] attaining our health SDG, but certainly moving Jamaica towards prosperity,” the minister said.

In his remarks, Dr Tufton said the new hospital will add significant capacity to Jamaica’s health sector, by providing specialist medical care for youngsters up to age 18.

Dr Tufton said the Chinese government’s support for the hospital is indicative of its recognition that the hospital is an “important building block” in strengthening the local health sector as well as the countries’ relations.

“Today represents a further very positive development, and we certainly look forward to building on this,” the minister said.

For his part, Ambassador Qi said the hospital is a “precious gift” from the government and people of China, especially for the children, and represents “a new symbol of the friendship between our countries.”

“I believe that with the completion of the hospital, medical service for the children, not only in the western region but the entire island will be substantially improved. Additionally, a lot of job opportunities will be provided… and the social and economic development in and around the region will be promoted,” he added.

14 thoughts on “JAMAICA CLAIM CHINA GI DEM 36M FI MEK CHILDREN HOSPITAL BUT WHAT IT IS IN EXCHANGE FOR?

1. Foreign investors are developing the north coast and in short order, will take over that end of the island. Watch the ride, while we party and hype!

2. I just don’t like it. We have a few Jamaican billionaires and many more millionaires and tons of Jamaicans doing well, you mean we can’t do our shit ourselves to get ahead. How did those Asian countries transform themselves from poor dusty places to now world leading nations in 30yrs? We need to start finding ways to get projects done on our own and being 100% self-reliant. Jamaica has sold everything, even Jamaicans are for sale under the guise of work programs abroad. When will a leader come forward who is interested in us building on our own and being self-reliant so we can protect what little we have left. We have been looking and taking handouts for over 50yrs and the country is in a worse state in many ways. This model has not helped the nation to be a world contender, taking handouts is not helping us and we need to get rid of this mentality of heading to some other nation to beg. We could have come up with this money on our own, when will we have some pride and dignity and look to ourselves to solve our own issues. Black men go to these tables of these nations as beggars and feel no way about it. It should sick unno stomach and tear into unno souls to constantly be begging for help of others, especially when nobody seeking unno out for nothing. How can you think you are an equal and operate as one when you are the always the beggar. Lousy 36 million dollars unno haffi look to China fan, wah unno teck Jamaican ppl for. What the f**k is simple 36 million to come up wid. Unno fi go to hell fi do we a once proud ppl suh.

All di begging unno a do unno caan beg fi better equipment and technology and upgrade the Ole duty bruck dung police stations so the officers are fully equipped to wipe out the hardened criminals.

No children’s hospital fi go a Regional, di place already full up and overdone up deh, put the hospital some weh else, if even where the old hospital used to be.

1. Because as a people, most Jamaicans are selfish!…Everyone looking out for their own pockets. We do not stand together, because everyone wants to show that they are in a better position than the other.

3. Ok, I like their objective, i.e. anticipating that this hospital will help them achieve the health sustainable development goal.

But sorry to sound cynical, this will only happen if those who are most at risk (low income groups) have access to the hospital without any user fees etc.

Let’s wait and see.

And yes, I’m also waiting to see what China want in return. I can just imagine…..

4. Someone asked where is a leader that will “When will a leader come forward who is interested in us building on our own and being self-reliant so we can protect what little we have left.”
    REMEMBER MICHAEL MANLEY?
    Unoo run him

5. With the amount of debt Jamaica has, they do not have a choice but to let another country like China come in a build our infrastructure. I beg the leaders of this beautiful country to not sell us out so easily. If we have to sell make sure it’s in the best interest of the poor people. Jamaica is surrounded my water and every hotel on the coast is private beach. I say, the government need to let these hotelier know that yes, come in and build but access to our water must be made available to ALL Jamaican citizens. If they want t build us a building, bring in jobs to go with that building.
    I don’t trust china not one bit.

6. Andrew just come fi sell out every rass to the Chinese them when China done them own half a Jamaica. Anybody can please tell me what we still own

7. Awww boi yuh see dat, a dem tings deh dem duh. Need fi boot dem right up outta di country, get dem out now mek dem gwan dem can support from a far.

8. Nuff a uno full a shit an noh kn fart , uno ting whoring and scamming can pay taxes , jamaica is a small country like many others wah need help from else where fi develop, all nuff a uno dou is sidung pon sideline an complain , glad china a Help the hospital is needed

1. Shut your ass up! Singapore and Qatar smaller than Jamaica and dem miles ahead in development and self-sufficiency. Size has nothing to do with the success and self-reliance of a nation. We need to get out of this we need to be rescued by outsiders and start figuring out how to rescue our own damn selves. We don’t need no Trojan horse in form of gifts. We need leaders and citizens who are willing to do the dirty work to ensure 50yrs from now Jamaica is the Jamaica our ancestors whose blood was used to water the earth can be proud of.

Unno really at peace fi teck help from a nation who grind up dead babies and put in capsules a sell as drugs fi heal sickness? Are these really the ppl who going to put value pon unno nation and citizens?

9. Jamaica’government needs to amend the constitution to reflect the way that land can be distributed . Any agreements being made to foreigners should be on lease hold, not longer than 100 years, and then it reverts back to the country. Jamaican people also need to demand from the politician transparency in what ever decision they are making in regards to jamaicas well being. Politicians are voted in to act on your behalf, that means they should inform you on whatevery decision they are making. If they are nothe doing this, Stop voting for them and vote for someone else who will truly represent you. Your vote counts, use it wisely.

10. Qatar is sitting on one of the the world largest oil deposits. It’s not about size it is about money. Jamaica relies mostly on tourism. Toursism alone cannot fund ANY country.