GARVEY WOULD HAVE BEEN 130

The 130th anniversary birthday celebrations of Jamaica’s first National Hero, Marcus Mosiah Garvey will commence this morning with a wreath laying ceremony at National Heroes Park, Kingston.

Tributes will be paid by the Governor General, Sir Patrick Allen; Prime Minister, Andrew Holness; Minister of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport, Olivia Grange; and Leader of the Opposition, Dr Peter Phillips.

A Civic Ceremony for the late national hero will be held at Lawrence Park, St Ann’s Bay, St Ann courtesy of the St Ann Municipal Corporation, at which the culture minister will be the guest speaker. The function starts at 4:00 pm.

Permanent secretary in the Ministry of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport, will represent the minister at the Marcus Garvey Lecture scheduled for Liberty Hall in downtown Kingston, which starts at 10:00 am.

6 thoughts on “GARVEY WOULD HAVE BEEN 130

1. Happy Earthstrong to founding father, the HONORABLE Marcus Mosiah Garvey !
    – Black Nationalist
    – Teacher of Repatriation

2. Happy birthday Mosiah,you’re one of the greatest black man who ever lived!!

I’m literally disgusted that no one has come forward to wish this legendary man hbd but some a unno love come pon ya n complain sey a pure mixup alone this site deal! !

I SWEAR ON MY LIFE IF I EVER SEE ANYONE COME PON YA BOUT WHO LOVE TOO MUCH MIXUP …I WILL GIVE UNNO THE WHOLE A MI MIND AND ONLY 2..MAYBE 3 CAN TELL MI FI DONE!!!WATCH N SEE!!NATIONAL HERO BDAY N NUH KNOWINGS KMFT!!

3. So it go & Yard Thug, it shows you HOW lost we re as a people and a Black community in general . Marcus Garvey was a hero not only to those of Jamaican descent, but to Black people in general and throughout the Craibbean and especially in America , where he instilled BLACK pride and pushed for Black entrepreneurship.
    Thousands of black Americans and Craibbeans living abroad, marched through Harlem in their uniforms and banners as part of Garvey’s movement ….

Marcus Mosiah Garvey pushed for and created The Black Star Liner, the movement of that ship that would take us all that were will No back to Africa .

Garvey was known as even the founding father of RASTAFARI as he first said …

” Look to the East, for the crowning of a Black King.”

Garvey also pushed for us to buy Black. Create our own businesses and unite as ONE PEOPLE.

@ Yard Thug, I feels your pain, but remember when Garvey was wrongfully sent back to Jamaica for fraud as a means to DESTROY the POWER of his movement in America and the UNITY of Black and Caribbean Americans, JAMAICA DID NOT WELCOME GARVEY BACK AS A HERO; Sadly, he was jeered at and mocked by many of his OWN people . even children threw stones at him.

It took a long long time for Jamaica to realize the greatness of their own father of the soil.

Today many remain BLINDED and DEAF and DUMB of their own culture, only tuned in to sou sou sou soup, slackness and nothingness …. thus we shall never RISE fully again as one people .

(((((( Blesseed Love )))

– Long live Marcus Garvey !!!!!
    ” ONE GOD . ONE AIM . ONE DESTINY ! ”

As Burnng Spear so beautifully and sadly sang years ago…
    “. NO ONE REMEMBERS OLD MARCUS GARVEY … ”

– Fire Empress –

1. Exquisitely stated…I’m in awe. .everyone knows how I enjoy high quality intellectual discourse on here…but you’ve given us a teaching moment n the significance of your history lesson will never be lost on me!

Many thanks for your kind words and understanding my hurt mood. .my spirit is lifted n I’m no longer upset, in fact you’ve made my month!! :2thumbup :thanks2 :toast :repost:

4. Thank you @ Yard Thug, blessed love and sorry for the few typos errors in d last post… ((( smile) d letter size on d Ipad really small and no spell check. … I didn’t re – read before I posted… sorry
    – I was glad I was able to share some knowledge.
    Marcus Garvey remains my hero.

Marcus Garvey’s philosophies remain significant today.
    Please read up on his quotes and also his principles and objectives behind his founding of THE UNIVERSAL NEGRO IMPROVEMENT ASSOCIATION and AFRICAN COMMUNITY LEAGUE

( UNIA – ACL ) founded on July 15, 1914

interesting fact:

Garvey was SO charismatic and powerful, that he was even able GET THE ATTENTION of the KKK and they were briefly willing to collaborate with him as a powerful, intellectual Black man with a serious agenda of Repatriation to Africa .

Prediction :

Garvey warned that he will never be completely erased from history, he said :

” .. LOOK FOR ME IN THE WHIRLWIND, OR A STORM, LOOK FOR ME AROUND YOU , FOR WITH GOD’S GRACE I SHALL COME BACK WITH COUNTLESS MILLIONS OF BLACK MEN AND WOMEN WHO HAVE DIED IN AMERICA, THE WEST INDIES, AND THOSE WHO HAVE DIED IN A F R I C A TO AID YOU IN FIGHT FOR LIBERTY FREEDOM AND LIFE. ”

” When my enemies are satisfied , in life I shall be the same, in death I SHALL BE A TERROR to foes of African liberty ! ”

– Marcus Mosiah Garvey –

Good morning, have a blessed day .

– Fire Empress –

5. America did not need Marcus Thats why he is not there hero first off. Secondly He shook hands and made deals with the KKK. Web Di bios and others deemed him a cancer to black people! He also stole a lot of that money which he claimed to use for his so called black project! Why he never stayed his ass in Jamaica and send them back to Africa Kmt! Always run up under foreign batty hole and them same one ah shame uno rass! He is no hero of mines and I’m glad the world does not recognize him!!!!!